A Good Death in the Family

in #life7 years ago

Early this morning, my grand uncle passed away. He had fought a good fight against lung and liver cancer for years, but as most will tell you, cancer is a battle that is hard to win. Even if you won, difficult as it was, it may just be the bell ringing in Round 1. Relapses are where they come back stronger, meaner and tougher, and whack you off you feet, down on the ground, and for most of the time, you don’t stand up no more.

Ding! Ding! Ding! Round 2 is over, and so was the match.

I know, because my mom fought till round two, too. But the bell didn’t ring for that round, at least she didn’t get to hear it. We all hear a different kind of ring. The kind that signifies defeat, lost and if you let it, suffering.

Suffering.

That’s one world that my mom drilled into my over the years, especially during the last few of her life. Oh no, she is not one who inflicts suffering on me. If you’d known her, you’ll know she’s gentle and kind, a staunch Buddhist til the end.

What she drilled into me was the concept of suffering, to make sure that I understood it, so when came the day when she has to go, there would be minimal of it. Zero would be idealistic, but mom was more realistic. She often looked at her ageing body, accelerated by the tumours that crept from the darkest abyss, and reminded my siblings and I, that life indeed is suffering.

And the fastest you come to terms with it, the faster you’ll start living life.

She was the one who taught me the concept of a good death: one where there’s minimal pain, and in the deepest places within the heart of loved ones, where true honestly lies, we would all admit that she was better off passing on than staying in a dreadful state.

No, I’m not dramatising words. The last few weeks of my mom’s life was where she couldn’t eat nor drink, and it was so bad that I would wonder if we had been selfish wanting her to be around still.

I mean, what quality of life can one have, when she can’t even drink water?

So on Friday, January 13th 2012 (yeah, my mom sure knows how to pick the date), she went off in peace. There wasn’t much fight, for she has accepted the inevitable. Of course she was missed - still do - but whatever good deed I do moving forward, it was done in her memory.

I quote her life lessons more, her immortals words, her wise sayings, and while she wasn’t a successful entrepreneur, nor an epic adventurer, nor a noble scientist that discovered the cure for life threatening diseases, she was, and always is, a teacher.

Not just by profession, but in life too. A truly teacher, one that would make her ultimate mentor proud, the Buddha, for to many, He too, was a teacher. Some would say one of the best there is, and that was my mom’s aspiration.

I was glad to know that my grand uncle passed on in peace too. There wasn’t struggle, he got to meet all his loved ones, family members and friends. He got to say proper good byes, to get matters sorted out, to reminiscence on a good life.

Ironically, his wake was held in the very same place as my mom's, so naturally, when I was there earlier this evening, it felt like a deep sense of familiarity. Of course my mom has gone, probably living well in another life (she had always wanted to be reborn a man, and to be able to pursue the path of the Dharma, which I like to think she got her wish), but I just can’t help feeling that perhaps she was there after all, making sure that everything was in order for my granduncle to passed on to his next life.

It was only on the drive back that I realised that she was present, in my memory, a strong reminder to live a good life, so that you can earn a good death.


Wait, why's Mav posting on Steemit nowadays?

Well, unlike other blogging and social media platform, Steemit is the only platform that allows me to earn cryptocurrency when I engage with it. Yup, one Steem is about USD1, and you, too, can earn Steem Dollars every time you:

  • Create content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
  • Upvote (like) other people contents
  • Comment on other people's posts
  • Have discussions, share opinions etc!

Yup, basically it's the very same thing you're doing on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc all along!

The only difference? For once you can earn a nice income on the side!

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. And guess what, you will earn Steem too for doing that! #awesome

follow_maverickfoo.gif

Sort:  

Condolences to you and your family! I too lost my uncle (my mom's BIL) a month ago - he was battling stage4 lung cancer, he lived on for 2years, he was indeed a fighter! We were told he had not much time left, he got to meet all his love ones and got to say his good byes in time and he died a peaceful death after that. I belief that you late momsy, your grand uncle and my uncle is at peace now with no more sufferings.

Thanks for sharing. Cancer is a killer, and it impacts those around the patients too. Bitter truth remains, life goes on for the living.

My condolensce to your family. Life is full of challenges and especially more when you or your love one is facing terminal illness. Yes, your late mum's words about acceptance and moving on is a gem of wisdom.

Thanks for the kind words.

Frankly one of the toughest moments is when you have to watch others suffer, willing for a chance to switch places. Alas, that's not how the world works. Some people have to take on personal pain, while others have to feel the pain of hopelessness, wanting to take on the pain of others. Ironic, this life is.

Sorry for your loss man. When you say grand uncle, you mean your grand father's brother?
A wise friend once told me that,

All problems have a solution, sometimes death is the solution to the problems.
When I see the way some persons are suffering today due to illness, I feel really sad. I then agree with you and my friend, that a good death will be the solution.

Yup. My grand dad's brother. Or rather I identified him better as my mom's uncle.

You're right, death, as long as it's not intentional or self-inflicting, can be solution to problems. It is not an escape, but closure. Illness takes the toll on the living, death takes the tolls on those who survived.

The least we could ask for is when it's time to go out on our bed. Many, sadly, do not get to get that privilege. I hope your grand uncle would finally find peace at last. My sincere condolence. Peace.

Thanks. I'm sure he did. I've seen worse deaths where they would struggle like mad to fight on.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Condolences to the family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63