Why I moved to Puerto Rico

in #life5 years ago

Today I am feeling all the emotions. Not sure if it’s because I had some tequila with friends last night or because I almost wrecked my scooter this morning and I sorta saw my life flash before my eyes. ANWAY. Mondays are funny for me. I think a lot about all the people I love, care about, and miss deeply in California even more on Mondays. On average I find myself going 3-4 months between visits and I’m not scheduled to return until Thanksgiving.

Today was another typical Monday. In my head I always wish my friends and family well for a great week ahead. Today I actually sent the text and expressed my gratitude for a few friends. I then found a personalized birthday card I bought for a friend years ago that I never gave her. I wrote a note and sent it on it’s way to California.

I’m not sure if I reflect on life more than the average person or if I just have the time now because my life is not consumed by running all over California selling funnel cakes and Dippin’ Dots cream. I think a lot about where I am, why I’m here, what my happiness level is, what my happiness level has been, where it’s going, how I can add more happiness and joy into my life, the relationships I have, how I can build on those and add richness, my finances and investments, how I am serving the people in my life, and how being 3500 miles away from my massive family and group of friends is not always easy. That’s what I want to talk about today- being 3500 miles away.

When I visit California the two questions I get asked most often:

I thought you live in Puerto Rico?
How long will you live in Puerto Rico?

You know, I wouldn’t be all that mad if I never got asked those questions again. I don’t have much patience to repeat myself. So today those questions are being answered.

Yes, I live in Puerto Rico and it’s possible for me to visit California. Puerto Rico is where I claim residency. I have a closer connection to Puerto Rico in terms of banking, vehicle, personal items, clubs, groups, home, etc.

I’ll get to the second questions a little later.

So I’ve written a bit and I am asking myself…whats the main objective here? Lets make that clear. I think it’s important for people to understand my WHY. Why I moved to Puerto Rico, and why I have made the decision I have made to be so far from the family and friends I have grown up around for 25 years of my life.

Personal Growth:
I was feeling confined at times in the little town of Hilmar. Sometimes I was not feeling challenged enough. I take responsibility for this. Could I have made changes in my life to find that challenge? Absolutely. Everyday started to feel like hitting a wall. Of course I could have experienced further personal growth, but my soul was craving to find personal growth in a new way. New place, new people, new experiences.

If you’re not growing, you’re dying. Honestly, I felt like I was dying a little inside. I was also making a huge change in my life with moving on from my concession business. Suddenly I had all the freedom. Bitcoin was making all times highs which only gave me further freedom.

I landed in Puerto Rico, but I was going to make a move anyway. LA was also on my mind. We’ll get to Puerto Rico being the final choice a bit later.

Building Wealth:
I’ve always been fascinated with the challenge of making money. Finding creative ways to earn money has taught me a lot. I mean who would have guessed you could make a living wining cars and cash with online sweepstakes? Sometimes I still can’t believe I managed to win 5 cars. I’ve been hustling since a very young age. My parents made it clear early on that if I wanted something, they were definitely not going to buy it. From the name brand clothes I wanted in middle school, to the Kobe basketball shoes I wanted in high school. I had to earn the money to get what I wanted. College? Car? Travel? That was my responsibility.

In my early 20s working hard was this badge of honor that I was proud to wear. My definition of working hard was putting myself in life threatening situations, sleeping minimally, and not taking care of myself. Looking back, I was constantly sick. I would get sick 4-5 times a year because I wanted to prove to myself and others that I had a serious work ethic. I made that choice everyday for years and I’m glad I stopped making that choice when I did.

When I started investing and making substantial gains, I saw the light. My money was working for me. I felt like I was working smarter and not harder. I actually took the time to start using my brain, when for the last 4 years I was using my body. Having a food truck is a lot more physical labor than I could have imagined.

During this current season of life, the majority of my income is sourced from capital gains. In an effort to create opportunity in Puerto Rico, Act 20 and 22 were created. Act 20 is a 4% corporate tax for exporting services outside of Puerto Rico. Act 22 is 0% capital gains for individuals. Bingo! For my situation, there was no faster way to build wealth. 0% capital gains changed everything for me. Giving away half of my money by being a resident of California was going to delay building my stack. From that perspective, I could not justify living in California. I want to spend more time living than working and this was the key to get me there.

Happiness:
I believe setting happiness as a top priority in my life is well…the key to being happy. I think about my happiness with every decision I make. I view happiness as an equation. We each have our own happiness equation that equals 100% happiness. It’s evolving over time as we grow and experience more in life. It’s not always easy and I spend a lot of time auditing my happiness levels.

Part of my happiness equation includes freedom. I feel so incredibly free in Puerto Rico. From grounding myself into nature, to the lack of enforcement of traffic violations (yes I will run a red light on my scooter when there’s no cars in sight 10 times a day) I just feel like nobody gives a damn what I am doing and it’s a wonderful feeling.

I feel freedom out on the open ocean when sailing with friends, and when I don’t have to send a check for taxes that accounts for half of the money I have earned. Your biggest expense in life is likely taxes. We are told death and taxes are the only guarantees in life. BULLSHIT.

Conclusion:
So…when I will I move back to California? Never. I will never be a resident of California again. I say that loudly and proudly. I will always be a visitor to California. So, that doesn’t really answer the question. How long will you live in Puerto Rico? It took me a long time to find an appropriate answer. I will live in Puerto Rico until it’s not fun anymore. That’s how I feel about everything in life. It’s over when it’s not fun anymore. It’s over when there is no longer joy. It’s over when I don’t feel my healthy, happiest self. I’ve made deep friendships on this island. Friendships that mean everything to me. Part of my heart will always be in Puerto Rico, just like part of my heart will always be in California.

Thank you:
Sometimes I feel guilty about not spending enough time in California. When I visit after a few months and pick up my cousin’s baby who has doubled in size, it hurts a little. I feel like I have missed out on several occasions. This is a choice I have made, and it’s for the big picture goal in my life. Gosh I hate the word goal but there I go.

Thank you to everyone who loves me even though my time in California has greatly decreased over the last 18 months.

Thank you for always welcoming me with a warm hug and a big smile.

Thank you for not making me feel guilty for the choice I have made to live 3500 miles away.

Thank you for supporting me, being there through all the ups and downs, and catching me when I fall.

Thank you for making me a priority when I am in town to make those unforgettable memories.

Thank you for the face-times, calls and messages. There is no such thing as too much or too many.

Thank you for being open to the idea that it is possible to grow together even though we are physically apart.

Thank you for gifting me with friendship that fills my soul.

Thank you for cheering me on even though you don’t always understand what I am doing.

Thank you for allowing me to change and grow during my life journeys.

Thank you for forgiving me when I have missed milestones and big life events in your life.IMG_3154-1.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! Congratulations. Have fun!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Some day u will come back here to cali, sure of that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61949.37
ETH 2415.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65