Stop Writing Your Own Definitions for Words

in #life6 years ago

55427881.jpg

This is something that drives me absolutely mental. People who like to write their own meaning for certain terms. What this does is break down language to the point where you have to constantly explain things (“this is what evolution means to me”, or “this is what equality means to me” etc.). If you are doing this, you deserve to get bitch slapped.

These terms each have a specific meaning. That is what they mean and your feelings don't matter, your thoughts don't matter. They are what they are, end of discussion. The purpose of defining words is to communicate and understand each other. Without that, communication breaks down and there can't be intellectual and reasonable conversations about anything.

So if you’re one of those individuals who choose to write their own definitions for words, I will gladly beat you mercilessly with a dictionary.

Sort:  

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 5X upvote!
I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar!
I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70018.15
ETH 3794.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75