Go On – Throw Yourself Out Of That Plane!

in #life7 years ago

One of the things that had been on my bucket list for years was to do a parachute jump. My chance finally came a few years ago when a local charity organised a sponsored 10000 foot (about 3048 meters) tandem parachute jump. 

The day was bright and clear and after meeting our instructors  (my instructor insisted on wearing a silly hat) and receiving an initial bit of training we were off.   

There is something exhilarating about sitting on the edge of the plane’s doorway and preparing to launch yourself off into the open sky.

 You have no sense of falling apart from the rush of wind buffeting your body.

 The time then comes for the chute to open (here’s hoping!!).

  Coming in to land wasn’t too bad although I do look somewhat nervous!

It was an experience never to be forgotten. Having complete faith in my instructor I was able to enjoy the whole experience from the slow plane climb up to the much faster descent.  

If ever you have the chance to do a parachute jump I would say go for it and enjoy every minute. 

To read more of my blogs please follow the links below:-

How too much news may not be good for us

How dogs can help us

Another how dogs can help us

A personal experience of Aspergers syndrome

A trip to the historic island of Lindisfarne (Holy Island)

My introduction post 

Thanks for reading and take care till next time.

Sort:  

Oh my God! As someone who is terrified of heights, I admire every person who does something like this!
Upvoted :)

Thank you for your comment and the upvote @nikolina

The first time I "jumped" I got pushed out of a C-123 by a Master Sgt. at Ft. Benning GA. After I saw that you can actually survive it was kinda fun. Those new chutes are a piece of cake...the old ones you hit going about 35-40 MPH.

Hi @richq11 - thanks for the comment. I would probably jump again but it would always be in the back of my mind that given the law of averages each jump shortens the odds on something going wrong.

I'm what they call a "5 jump chump. I got my wings. Mostly I repelled out of helicopters in Vietnam. I had to do the jumps as part of Special Forces training. If you want a really cool experience, find a place that does glider rides. I paid $25 for 1/2 hour, but that was years ago. It is awesome soaring on the air currents with no noise. I can't even begin to describe how great it was.

You're a braver man than I am @richq11. Repelling out of a helicopter sounds far too risky for a wimp like myself. As for the gliding - I would love to but I have a feeling I would be incredibly air sick. Told you I was a wimp :-)

It's not the repelling that's so bad, it's the guys with AK-47's shooting at you on the way down. It has a pucker factor of 10!

I bet - glad you made it through.

Dude, I would be so scared, respect!

Thanks for the comment @soldraken. If i can do it anyone can. Give it a go sometime and suprise yourself. Followed you by the way. Till next time be good to yourself.

this is so cooool. I am going to be doing this next month. Looks scary though!

You are completely in the hands of the instructor so just take the fatalistic view that if something does go wrong there is nothing you can do about it!! Just enjoy the day. One tip - if you have the opportunity to have it video'd then do it. I did and although it cost a little more - someone else has to jump with you obviously - it was well worth it. You will have that memory for ever. You'll have to do a post on it as well and let all us other Steemians know how it went. Look forward to that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52