You Only Need One Trick to Teach Your Children How To Listen: Try this simple trick to teach your children how to listen

in #life7 years ago

HELLO Steemians.

Today I'm going to talk to you about a very interesting topic.

The art of listening is difficult to master for adults. So for children, it's not easy!

How to teach listening to children?

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-25 at 14.18.22.jpeg

There are several answers to this question. Here is one ...

Often, children feel rushed because everything is decided for them.
" Stand up! Lunch! Go to school and work well! Play sports and play this way, and of course, go to bed because I said it! "

And if we switched roles? A mother has tried and here is her testimony:

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-25 at 14.18.10.jpeg

  • I almost laughed at the idea. Yes. Today my son was going to tell me what to do and I was going to listen.
    We have set the timer for 45 minutes. My son and I played. He had to be the boss and tell Mom what to do and help her listen.*

For a moment we colored. He told me that I could only color with the green pencils and that I had to draw a circle, then a house and a horse. Then I was wrong apparently because he said, Mom, nooooo! Mom, horse. He barred my horse and directed me to color another one.
Then he told me it was time to go to his room and play the blocks but first we had to install the tents. Together we played in this tiny cabin. I could not believe that my body was entering the tent, but I did it! We built a castle and my son told me to make a big truck for the king to drive.

I listened carefully and followed with all his instructions. After 45 minutes, the timer went out.

I asked him: Did mom listen to all your instructions?

Yes. Mom, you listened.

WHY IT WORKS

  • Allowing children to be in charge helps them feel a sense of control over a period of life in which they have little control.

    1. This allows you to be a good listening model for them.
    1. It helps children to see that life is full of mutual concessions. That we are all here to help each other. Children are more likely to listen when they feel a sense of belonging and family involvement, feel that what they have to say matters
    1. Role reversal and parent-child play create a connection, and better listening results. When children feel more connected to their parents, they are more likely to obey and listen well.

REMEMBER: being the boss does not mean ....

Being the boss does not mean "Give me 100 EUROS and eat ice cream for breakfast".

You must frame the opportunity for your child to be the boss and help you listen. For example, tell him he will be the boss while you play together in your room. You can let him decide what time you will eat and what kind of sandwich mom will eat.
It could be anything. Then your children take the lead. If you have several children who are old enough for this activity, let them be the boss each in turn.

REMEMBER THIS

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-25 at 14.18.30.jpeg

You can learn more than you think by allowing your child to be the boss. You can reflect on your reactions and your own listening or lack of listening ...

In many ways, this activity reveals how your child perceives you as a parent. It's an opportunity for all of us as parents to see how we talk to our children when we want them to listen.

This is revealing, fun, and above all, it's a good lesson humility when you see yourself from the outside.

Wish you all a great day .cordially @mageofor

Sort:  

Congratulations @mageofor! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mageofor! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70