My Journey of Contributing to Society| Helping is simple

in #life7 years ago (edited)

How it started

Two months ago, I woke up to an email from twitter which linked me to a WHO post about World Health Day. For no apparent reason, I clicked that button and I began reading the post. it was about the commemoration of world healthy day with " Depression, Let's talk" as a theme. That time, I wasn't really sure what moved me but I began jolting down ideas inside my mind. My heart was beating so loud and I feel very pumped to share my ideas to my friend.

image credit

It was two in the morning, I couldn't wait to simply share my ideas so I quickly texted her at five hoping she would already wake up. My idea was to create a support group where everyone can sit down and listen to each other. I was honestly inspired by an alcoholic anonymous which in my country, there wasn't any of similar project. I was aiming for individual who are dealing with depression to share their journey. The whole reason I came up with that idea is because I see that depression is still seen as low threat problem while it clearly devastating and able to take someone's life away. Also, It was a right moment during the commemoration of world health day and was currently a hot topic after a few recent live streaming suicides due to depression which was linked to bullies.

Fast forward, I told her that I want to create a project and raise an awareness that people has to see depression as a real problem. I began my research about depression and it surprised me how people are actually joking and creating meme about depression and suicide. The more I researched about it, the more I understand that media plays a really important role in introducing so many new terms regarding mental health issue while also shaping people's perspective in seeing the depression itself.

What clearly bothers me while doing the research is that the shocking amount of posts made with hashtags depression and also numerous account promoting suicide and self harm. Even the word depression itself are often said in mockery tone as if it were nothing or mere a joke. look at the number of posts made in instagram with the hashtags.

20170504_143445.png

I began gathering the resources I needed and convinced my faculty to give me place for pitching my idea. I also got help from a professor who was taking an interest in my idea. and Voila! we held a discussion forum concerning the topic through the perspective of popular culture.

Fast forward, I presented my ideas in the forum and I got positive feed backs from the audience. I also had the chance listening people sharing their experience coping up with mental problems. Some were crying inside the room and the atmosphere turned to be gloomy.Then, I tried to crack some not-really -amusing joke but it helped cheering up people.

It turned out great

After I presented my idea, I began promoting my project in my faculty. It amazed me of how so many people were eager to join the community. So right at the day I turned 20, my project was launched and now it's still going on with more people are coming into the meeting every wednesday, sharing stories and their experiences while also empowering and supporting each other.

We couldn't come up with a better name, so we simply named it as " let's talk". It has been growing and currently helping its member coping up with their daily life, well not only that I gained friends, but also I get to see so many different perspective in life. I simply wish that this project can grow more. So many people has suggested me to make it online so they could also share their problems anonymously but I still haven't got time and resources to build a simple forum.

When someone reaches you out, sometimes they needed to be listen. It's not just a simple bad day which will pass, it can be a continuous rainy day. It'll come and go, also truly devastating .I believe that depression can be treated and talking is the first step.

So, that's how I tried contributing for society. I couldn't do much other than trying to help a few people passing through a rough journey. I wish in the future, I could contribute in a bigger scale.

Sort:  

wow you are an amazing soul. thank you so much for helping people. you are an inspiration :)

Thank you :) , so far that's the least thing I could do for the society. I am hoping I could do more in the future.

ay heck yeah no problem :) and I have no doubt you will do great things and help many, sometimes it just takes time. But that's another reason why I love Steemit because it is bringing people together that want to help and make some positive change in this world

This is such a great content! and its very true. 🙂

Thank you @haleyaerith I hope more people are aware about this and won't take it as a joke.

I read your poetry about the soldier! it's really underrated and more people should read that. Anyway, I am following you to read more about your poetry! Keep writing epic poetry!

cheers buddy

thanks...

Great post! Thanks for sharing.

ay you definitely deserve this for this article :)

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Oh again? Sure thing, I'd like more people to be aware of this particular topic and probably I could inspire them to start the same thing!

Heck yeah ayyy if you make awesome content especially that helps people that seems like the perfect nomination in my mind.

Thanks again good luck :) It will be in two days nominations :)

great post. thank you for sharing @macchiata

You're more than welcome! also Thank you :)

the commuinity is where is at

Faith in humanity restored!

Heh ! Glad I contribute in your restored faith on humanity :D

Hi, such as you are a girl in gold, beautiful, sweet, and even helping people! good luck to you )

Thank you for the good wishes :) also good luck to you ))

Thanks you :)

Depression is VERY real!!!! one of my three brothers has suffered with it for many years and is only now, weaning himself off his meds and starting to look and act like the "brother I remember" - it is a vividly disturbing thing to deal with and people simply don't understand it!!!! - hats off to you for this! - you are a very special soul!

Wonderful to see - upvoted!

Would love your feedback on one of my latest if you have a spare second xxx

https://steemit.com/life/@jaynie/who-are-you-to-judge-me-rockyourworld-25

Take care and well done again!!!

xxx

I am glad your brother has slowly recovered. I know it takes more than medication and patience but don't give up just yet. They might be hard to deal with but they're also human :) worth compassion and our time. Thank you for kind words. I'mma check out your posts and give some feedback :)

Take care!!

xoxo @jaynie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49