Wisdom comes with age

in #life6 years ago

44175517_10157896605853266_2449883924420100096_o.jpg

On our last flight, my son and I happened to have seats on middle and isle, which means no window seat. Usually I try to select our seats when I purchase the ticket, or shortly after. Sometimes I even do it when I log in for the web check-in. This time I was not able to do it and later on, it totally slipped my mind.

If you ever travelled with children, you are probably aware that this can turn into a tragedy for a child. That seat window is what gets them entertained while being inside the aircraft. It keeps them busy and makes it easier for them during a long flight.

The guy next to us, the one seated at the window, was a man in his late twenties, or maybe early thirties. He had his headsets on and pretended was not hearing or seeing my son crying his lungs out that wanted to see the take off from the window.

I am aware he had the right to be there since the ticket was issued to him. Though that does not prevent me from thinking that he was a jerk. Honestly, who lets a 4 year-old boy cry for fifteen minutes just so that he can enjoy the view from the window seat during the take off? As soon as the plane was in the air it was dark outside anyway! Compassion, empathy or care for others were probably unknown concepts to him.

My motto is have no expectations, thus I did not expect him to switch places with my son. Though I thought he would not be bothered if my son would lean against his seat, trying to see outside. Apparently he was annoyed by that and he decided to turn around and cover the whole window, which got my kid even more upset.

Any other person would have voluntarily offered to change seats with us or at least would have allowed the child to seat on his place during the take-off. Well, not this a-hole! Seeing how upset my son was, the flight attendants tried to find us another window seat. Luckily for him, an older Columbian woman, was moved by his cries and decided to change seats with us.

Since the pilot had already started the procedure for take-off, we had to wait to be high up in the air and then change seats. At least my son was able to see the landing a few hours later. This incident helped me explain to my child that being selfish can hurt others.

When I thanked the old Columbian woman, she said that the smile on my son's face was priceless, therefore there was no need to thank her. During the flight, once my son was asleep, I realized that this incident was the perfect example of the saying Wisdom comes with age!

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself. If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Wisdom and grace come to some with age but not all. I see old ignorant a holes all the time.

I wonder if it ever even occurred to the jackhole to trade seats? Or if he was just so totally self absorbed that it never even pinged him?

At least you got something out of it...

I doubt it since he acted as a 2 yo, covering the blocking the whole window. We did got something out of it, a visit to the cockpit and a nice chat with the captain and the co-pilot. ;0)

Greetings....

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for stopping by!

Congratulations @lymepoet! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Too bad for that guy that he acted like a total jerk. Maybe he does not like kids, but could be gente and kind with your child.

I am sure he didn't have kids or that he was not keen on having one next to him during the flight.

Wisdom comes in All sizes but with some people it just is a lost cause. But some day karma Will come around the corner and When he has kids he will experience some similar sort if situation and regret that he did this. And a lady Made your Son smile again Thats what we do 😉

Karma came sooner than expected - while I was leaving the airport I saw him at the Lost luggage counter filing up a claim for his suitcases. I must admit that image made me smile. The Columbian old lady was a sweetheart. I spoke with her during the flight and really enjoyed our conversation.

I can't fully agree nor disagree.

Wisdom comes with experience, and not necessarily age. I've seen a lot of dumb and arrogant old people around me, who use their age as an excuse to get other people to do literally the smallest of tasks for them.

But at the same time, it's also true that experiences can only occur with increasing age. I guess it depends on each individual and the different kinds of experiences they have had in their lives.

Curious to know your thoughts on this.

I agree that experience is what opens our eyes. They sort of go hand in hand, age and experience.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 284 (10/17/18)

I think selflishness isn't a factor of age, just a factor of personality. I've given up seats for a long time to those who needed it (or wanted it) and I am 31 but it's a shame that this guy acted the way he did and then covered the window up... what a tool.

Although I've sat next to crying children before as a solo traveller and just wanted to zone out with my headphones so can see where he's coming from. But then, I had an aisle seat so I wasn't blocking any view :)

All's well that ends well and glad the lady stepped in to offer her seat.

I guess it all starts with the education one receives at home. Maybe no one had ever mentioned to him that would be nice to think of others.

Yea I agree with that, if you have never seen kindness or compassion to others when you were growing up then you are not likely to show it as an adult.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60796.19
ETH 2601.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57