TURN OFF THE TV AND LIVE HEALTHIER!

in #life7 years ago

Twelve years ago I decided to stop watching TV. One day I simply got fed up with all the nonsense promoted by the media and I turned off. It was a total waste of time. The news were presenting only stories filled with pain, suffering, death and negativity, while the sitcoms were showing a distorted version of reality, conveying the message that it was fun to laugh, mock or look down at others. Most of the shows promoted stupidity, ridiculed the misfortune of others, disability or awkwardness, some even reinforced racial stereotypes.

Don't imagine that I became totally disconnected from reality once I turned it off. I still read the headlines online once in a way.

I was never able to understand how others needed to turn it on as soon as they came home, as if they were programmed to do so. Even if they were not watching anything, they felt the need to hear it as a background noise. As for sleeping with the TV on, that was way beyond my comprehension. Having sleep disturbances, I knew that it was hindering the quality of my sleep. Thus, I banned it from my bedroom.

When I gave up watching television, I had two or maybe three TVs within the house. They have been staying there for a few months, collecting dust until I gave them away. It was pointless to keep them since I was not using them. I never missed watching TV. On the contrary, I saw it as a blessing. I realized that not hearing all those negatives headlines on a daily basis was exactly what I needed: a break from negativity, from the make-believe world.

Most of the people would say that watching TV is not a detrimental habit if it is done in moderation. Some wold argue that one hour per day is more than enough, while others would try to convince you that there's nothing wrong in relaxing after work and watching a show or two.

Watching two episodes/ shows means around 80 minutes of sitting down and zoning out into the TV. If you count the commercials in between, it adds up to around 100 minutes. Let's round it up and say two hours. Two hours per day of screen time. When you do the Math and see that you spend a minimum of 30 hours per month doing nothing, you understand that time could have been used for something else, more valuable.

People asked me how do I managed to live without it. I had no issues letting go. I only saw the benefits of my action: more spare time, higher consciousness, increased productivity and creativity.
Instead of wasting my time being a couch potato, getting brainwashed, I become more active, I read more. I went out and socialized more.

In addition, my sleeping problems improved considerably. Within less than two weeks, I was sleeping again like a baby. I went to bed to the same hour, but I was able to complete a lot of things before sleep. I had more time for house chores, for reading, for myself.

According to psychologist Steve Sussman, the TV addiction is one of the first addiction people, children included, develop throughout their life. I can't say that I am surprised to see or hear that children who have spent hours watching cartoons or shows developed attention deficits problems.

How much time do you spend watching TV?

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Feel free to resteemit or upvote it!
Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics


TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

I also gave up watching TV, although it was mostly because there were barely any good shows on anymore, and I saw it as a waste of money. If there were a few decent shows on, I could always stream it every now and then if I could spare the time (although those moments are few and far between).

I find that I can get most of my entertainment watching YouTube and movies on the big screen. I tend to watch reviews of movies, strategy videos about games I like to play, and other practical things, in addition to a few comedic commentary channels (like H3H3 Productions).

I think it is rather important to consume some sort of creative media for inspiration when it comes to writing, whether that be TV, movies, games, or books. I consume my media through books, movies, and occasionally games, and emulate some of my favorite creators on YouTube when writing characters or comedic scenes.

I suppose I'm of the camp that TV is not necessary at all, but I think it's harmless in moderation, like caffeine or the occasional puff of vape. I don't partake in most of those, but to those that do, I don't feel the need to tell them to stop.

I think that nowadays more and more people switched from TV to streaming online, which makes me wonder where does that leave the cable TV?

Why do you think big traditional media outlets love bashing YouTubers? You will almost never see big YouTubers getting positive articles, and it's not just because negativity brings more attention. Call me a conspiracy nut, but I'm pretty sure cable and news networks are getting a bit jealous.

I am aware of it. When I saw Lee Camp's introduction post on Steemit, I had no doubt about it.

I'm with you on the don't-want-tv-passive-consumption thing entirely. I'd like to pick up the point about TV as a stream of negativity and negative energy:

The news were presenting only stories filled with pain, suffering, death and negativity, while the sitcoms were showing a distorted version of reality, conveying the message that it was fun to laugh, mock or look down at others. Most of the shows promoted stupidity, ridiculed the misfortune of others, disability or awkwardness, some even reinforced racial stereotypes.

I work with the elderly in a carehome = BIG FAT DOMINANT television set in lounge. I notice, especially when I work in the Dementia unit, what the effect of this is. When the television is on, blaring and blasting the outrage, the hate, the blame, the anger; the effect is to unsettle the residents, triggering them in subtle and not so subtle ways. I feel it myself (not being exposed to it on a regular basis). However, when music is playing in the background - ClassicFM on radio, or a CD with music that is familiar; the opposite takes place! People remark when they enter the unit on how peaceful the atmosphere is.

People asked me how do I managed to live without it.

A little anecode for you @lymepoet, about not having a TV :D
A decade of so ago, an acquaintence had gone for a job interview with a company manufacturing SUVs. After being accepted for the job, she had an environmental change-of-heart and wished to turn it down. They called, trying to very hard to persuade her to accept...until she told them that she didn't have a TV at home! The call ended after that.
🚣

I wish more people would realize its detrimental effects like you did.

I stopped watching TV six years ago, as my monthly subscription was increasing a few weeks ahead of the London Olympics. It just didn't seem worth the price, as I was run off my feet running a small business at the time, and rarely had time to watch TV.
I thought I could keep up with my favourite programmes on the catch-up service - but it was incredible how quickly I lost interest in those programmes. I watched some family shows at my parents' house, but after a while those shows just seemed glib and uninteresting.
All this to my mind shows that TV is indeed an addiction - the more you watch, the more you want/need to watch. I used to feel as if I was missing out on something if I missed my favourite TV programmes. But after I went cold turkey, the TV held no interest for me. If I'm in a room now and the TV is on, it's usually just a matter of minutes before my eyes glaze over and I go and do something else. And I sleep pretty well!

I am glad to see that it was not difficult to let it go. Some people would find it challenging. Thank you for the read and comment.

I gave up television for years. It is an outdated medium of receiving information. I also didn't like dropping in midway through a show and having no idea what was going on. I am still an internet geek, a serial one at best. I find it more effective to get what I want on the internet than on TV.

Great post btw :P

Thank you for your comment. I rely on the Internet as well for reading the news.

I pretend to watch TV every night. The TV is on and I am seated in the room. I just pay more attention to the story I am writing or the post or the AD I'm designing. If I had to put my computer away, I would not be able to sit for very long. For my husband and me, We have worked out a good compromise.
38.gif
@Lahvista

Thank you for the comment. I personally won't be able to work/write with the TV on. I would get distracted and won't be efficient at all.

Nice article. I don't watch TV anymore either. I guess because there are not many shows that interest me, but I do sometimes watch things on Youtube or other websites related to my interests (design/art etc). Which I guess is always better than random junk on TV. haha Keep up the good work :)

Thank you for reading and commenting on this post. I use Youtube and other websites to watch tutorials in different fields and do my research.

I am completely mesmerized by your ability to disconnect, totally understandable and commendable. For my son's birthday, I disconnected his cell phone and he actually seemed relieved. It frees up so much time to play athletics and connect with real human beings as well as develop other interests.

When it comes to kids and screen time, I am very strict because I have seen how damaging it can be, how detrimental is for their development.

Really? You just totally stopped watching TV? That's very impressive... I get tired of all the terrible news too, but I do enjoy tv shows so I selected my favorites and kept on with those.
Good one, ma'am :)

Thank you for stopping by. The sensationalism in the news coverage was a major downturn for me. 12 years down the hill, I can only tell it got worse.

Congratulations! This exceptional post has been featured in Episode 12 of The STEEM Engine Express Podcast. Click the link to hear what I had to say, and keep up the good work!

I gave up TV for a long period of time myself when I lived further up country. I stay away nowadays and I limit my time.

You are totally right, it makes you healthier! Brilliant post.

Thanks! Limiting the amount of time spent in front of it is a great idea. Moderation is key in everything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58180.92
ETH 2477.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42