#Photography and Steemit: My Wife's Gateway to Cryptocurrency

in #life8 years ago

luke_and_corinne58668.jpg

I've been really into bitcoin since early 2013. My wife? Not so much.

She's tolerated me, even when I started a local Nashville Bitcoin meet-up and got voted onto the board of the now defunct Tennessee Bitcoin Alliance. It's always just been "Luke's thing."

That was before Steemit.

My wife's journey on Steemit has been really fun to watch. At first she was confused why I was staying up till 1am and 2am every night and then getting up around 6:30am to check my computer first thing. She was slightly hesitant when I decided to invest half a bitcoin into it. When I told her I wanted to put in more, she trusted me. She's seen the rise of bitcoin since early 2013 and how we paid down some of our mortgage with it.

It took a little more effort to get her to sign up. She's into photography and has been doing family photography as a side gig while raising and homeschooling our three children. I kept showing her cool stuff from #photography and encouraged her to post her own. She finally did. Then there was a photo contest which she had to enter. Before long, she was hooked! One night I remember her waking up out of bed to come back to the living room around 1am or 2am to join me with an "I can't sleep anyway" excuse as she worked on another post. I was so happy. :)

She spotted outright identity theft and facilitated a great discussion about fair use. She even got a nice 100 SBD reward from @anyx "For being an awesome member of the community." I love that the blockchain will have this moment recorded forever. The next thing that happened, I've been wanting to see for over three years.

My wife exchanged her first cryptocurrency.

Mostly on her own, she created a Bittrex account, sold some SBD for bitcoin, created a Coinbase account, and eventually bought a $250 Amazon gift card via Gyft. It was real.

Steemit really is the trojan horse for mass adoption of cryptocurrency. Once we build out the various niches for this social media platform, the communities will come. It might be #photography or maybe #anarchy (well, okay, maybe not that one, most of those guys are broke), but each category has the opportunity to draw in new members.

If Steemit can get my wife on board, it can get anyone on board.

If you want to see more of your friends on Steemit, start highlighting and building out the categories you're most interested in.

If you build it, they will come.

3oEjHN0v8hyaDfEPAIe583a.gif

Is your significant other on Steemit yet? How did you get them on board?

Sort:  

@lukestokes
I enjoyed reading this, Upvote Done

Is your significant other on Steemit yet? How did you get them on board?

My significant other is a potato, so getting her on board was simply a matter of putting her into position and taking pictures. She's happy, I'm happy, we're all happy (the other potatoes are happy too!).

I'm late to this whole potato phenomenon. I'm honored that you would join us here with your presence. I must confess, however, that I love me some In-N-Out french fries. Seriously. It might be murder in potato-land, but I straight up love that stuff.

You are in Nashville? I am in Murfreesboro!

I used to want to run local meetups but instead started the BeyondBitcoin hangouts that you see on the #beyondbitcoin tag. :)

Is there a way to contact you?

Nice! Yeah, I followed you because I saw a mention of you being in the TN area on a different post. Hit me up on gmail luke.stokes and let's connect.

Wonderful! I've been educating my sisters about cryptocurrency and been trying hard to convince my sis to join Steem.

That's the key though... we can't force them to be as excited as we are. They have to see the value for themselves. For my wife, that was photography. What is your sister excited about?

She enjoys writing. That's why I try convince her to join Steem.

I'm still working on my wife. She's not there yet. I haven't given up.

What is she interested in?

Human Resouces

Hmm. HR would certainly be a difficult category to get trending... but if she could write some great content on it and share it with trade magazines and such, she might be the one to define (and own) that content niche. It's worth a shot. Good luck!

Hey @izzy. I see you commenting on many posts (including dantheman's recent post), linking out to your own posts and... well... it seems like spam to me. I'm all about linking to relevant content to continue the discussion and add value. What you're doing seems more desperate. Over time, it may not improve your reputation here. That's just my opinion, take it for what it's worth.

A voting pool, Hummmm

"If you want to see more of your friends on Steemit, start highlighting and building out the categories you're most interested in."
Agree! I just wrote a short intro to Steemit in my main language for my friends who are interested to read! :)

Ah, I love that! Just commented and upvoted.

Thanks man! :) Your blogposts are great too!

Thats's awesome bro..

I'm still at the early stages of trying to get my wife involved :D

What are her hobbies? What is she interested in? That, to me, is the key. If she can find her own community here, she can find herself here.

Awesome man! that's great to hear, your wife commented on my photo and said you live in nashville, it's great to hear about more people in nashville in the cryptocurrency scene. I talked to a software dev about ethereum in green hills mall and he looked at me like I was crazy. I think one day they will be the crazy ones for not jumping on board sooner! Cool seeing this post though man, hope to chat soon.

Very cool! Thanks for saying hello. We'll probably get a little community going eventually, though I did that with bitcoin for almost a year and kind of got burned out trying to keep it going. We'll see though. Steemit has definitely got me excited about cryptocurrencies again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99