World Organ Donation Day and An Eccentric Billionaire Buries Bentley?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Say What Now?

Have you ever heard of Brazilian billionaire Chiquinho Scarpa? He made headlines in 2013 when he posted on Facebook saying he was going to bury his £310,000 Bentley.

His reason? He said he wanted to drive around the afterlife in style. He sited how in ancient Egypt pharaohs were often buried with all of their riches so they could enjoy them in the afterlife.

As you can imagine the post garnered much attention, mostly negative and when the media caught wind of it they went berzerk. Just how out of touch was this billionaire?

Pure Genius

So, the day came. The day of the Bentley burial. Scarpa had everything arranged including a hole dug for the car to be lowered into, and a full blown media circus.

Before the vehicle was to be lowered, Scarpa said his eulogy...

“People condemn me because I wanted to bury a million dollar Bentley, in fact most people bury something a lot more valuable than my car"

“They bury hearts, livers, lungs, eyes, kidneys. This is absurd. So many people waiting for a transplant and you bury your healthy organs that could save so many lives!”

My Story (the quickie version)

Chiquinho Scarpa did not end up sending his Bentley to the sweet hereafter, but he did create several car loads of awareness.

This is me circa 1995, about 2 years after my kidney transplant.

steemittrans.jpg

Full of life, shiny, and most importantly, healthy. I shudder to think where I would be without that donated kidney. It got me through some of the most formative years of my life. Unfortunately, that transplant has since failed and I am almost worked up for another one.

Today is World Organ Donation day and like Chiquinho Scarpa I am trying my darndest to create awareness about organ donation. I don't have a half a million dollar Bentley to almost bury, but I do have the power of my story.

I implore you to check out the links below if you're already not a registered organ donor.

United States
https://organdonor.gov/index.html

Canada
https://www.beadonor.ca/

United Kingdom
https://www.organdonation.nhs.uk/

Thank you for reading and sharing.

L.

Sort:  

You got a 100.00% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 90% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

You were lucky! Your post was selected for an upvote!
Read about that initiative
logo

I came here to read about bentley burial, got more than i wanted, such a smart billionare.

You look so beautiful.😍😍

I read this yesterday. I’m still thinking about it. I have the ‘donor’ symbol identified on my drivers license, I’m hip with that. Should I leave this joint, the very first line says “donate to science.” We share an opinion.

But that’s it.

What’s it like? Emotionally, spiritually, physically, is it weird? Do you ‘feel’ different having borrowed body parts? What can you tell us? What do you mean worked up for another one? What was wrong with you original kidney?? Do you know anything about the person who’s kidney you have now? Is a kidney something easy for you to get? Do ‘they’ know you’re about due for one or how does that work?

Your turn =}

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56