Random thoughts on people and flowers

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Walking through my winter garden, I could not help but see the likeness of human characteristics in flowers - like the mix of guests who pass through our Lily's Cottage week after week, and also the people in my life.

I thought I would try and take a photo of each little flower I could find in my garden, thinking there's not that many as we're at the end of winter and have had very little rain. I was also curious to see the number of flowers I could find in my garden this time of the year.

So I set out and started snapping my garden flowers and plants.

IMG_20180820_162120_1.jpg
The orchids are all coming to life - perhaps feeling spring is just around the corner?

I had probably only covered half the garden when I realised that despite it being a dry winter, there still is an abundance of colour all around as I counted twenty different varieties of flowers; amazing!
IMG_20180818_171832.jpg
Beautiful variegated Camellia

Back to the people - here at our little bnb we meet people from all walks of life - business men & women, students, teachers, doctors, lawyers, aid workers, policemen and more - all requiring short term accommodation whilst going about their business.
Some come for vacations or short breakaways, some expats return to visit nearby family, some come for special occasions and others for sad ones - fortunately they all find a tranquil haven here.
IMG_20180819_154504.jpg
Trellis down to the tranquil pool area

When the guests arrive, it's usually easy to pick up what kind of guests they will be; the low maintenance ones are my favourites, but the high maintenance ones test ones' patience.
Yet there are times when I think of that phrase - never judge a book by its' cover - as I have been so very wrong at times!
IMG_20180820_143320_1.jpg
Gracious but unassuming String of Pearls with its feathery flowers giving off the most gorgeous cinnamon-like aroma

Some guests arrive quite hesitantly and almost withdrawn, these are the shy ones, or perhaps life has not been too kind to them?
But a smile, a friendly gesture, little extra touches to make their stay memorable, and they come out of their shells and blossom.
IMG_20180821_141440.jpg

IMG_20180821_141308.jpg

Some people are beautiful to look at, but when you get to know them, they prick you with their many sharp thorns; beware of those - fortunately I have not encountered too many of those in my lifetime!
IMG_20180819_154447_1.jpg
Gorgeous Bougainvillea
IMG_20180821_155908.jpg
Beware those thorns!

Yet others show their true character from the start - but we have never had any guests like that and fortunately I have rarely come across those types - they will say and do things to hurt those they come into contact with, especially if you dare cross swords with them!
Being the one who looks at life through rose coloured spectacles, I believe most of those are the ones who have really been hurt in life hence their hostile outlook, others are just plain nasty by nature - but both these types sadly miss out on the joys of life in a big way.
Best to have your shield of armour ready when you meet them!
I must say that I've managed to soften even some of the nasties through a little kindness.
IMG_20180820_143252_1.jpg
Thorny cactus - I believe this one actually is poisonous.

Then there are the ones with the sharp tongues - oh boy and can those tongues sting!
IMG_20180820_162204.jpg
Red hot devil chillies

Thank goodness most of our guests here at Lily's Cottage have been ones that bring a wonderful fragrance - such a joy meeting so many very special people.
IMG_20180821_143700.jpg
Not too many flowers at the moment of the Yesterday, Today & Tomorrow - but the fragrance is still overwhelmingly gorgeous!

We fortunately have had many low maintenance guests - the ones who do not ask for much, are happy with what they see, thrive in their little temporary abode and make no mess!
IMG_20180820_143829.jpg
Bright yellow Gazania happily blooming in very sandy soil.

IMG_20180820_143836.jpg
And another one smiling at the sun despite the poor soil

High maintenance guests are difficult to manage and are a heck of a lot of work - they mess, they break the odd glass or cup and have other little mishaps, but they usually are the charming ones.
IMG_20180818_171750.jpg
Gorgeous pink Cyclamen - requiring extra care, a gift from one of our guests

To end off I could not resist showing what a wonderful world we live in - looking at the cycle of life - seeds are sown but it always is the female species that bears the fruit, and so life goes on!
IMG_20180821_141039_2.jpg
Quite amazing to think these little flowers will soon be plump juicy red Strawberries.

Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed this analogy between flowers and people, let me know if you find any other analogies during your daily life.

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

This post of yours slipped through the baggage car for me, I am so glad it made the Daily Whistle Stop so I could catch it. You have some beautiful flowers there, and we have some of the exact same ones here in Texas, we also have a similar take when it comes to people.

Thank you mr Papper, I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

Very welcome, sure glad it made the whistle stop, very deserving from all aspects, writing and photography.

The gazanias are definitely my favourites! Although what would life be without the spice that chillies add?

Haha @natubat, that's for sure hey, imagine how boring life would be if we were all the same:):)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 235 (8/23/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you so very much for the awesome support @thesteemengine!

I loved your little analogies. Beautiful flowers though and I really enjoyed the hot tongues one, lol.

Some interesting thoughts and very pretty flowers @lizelle. I actually took a similar stroll around while we were there so I have a few shots of all these flowers too.

Thanks @jusipassetti, it is nice to sometimes stop and smell the roses hey :)

@ lizelle Well told and described via the offerings of nature. Sadly, humans even at their best cannot compare to the beauty of mother nature, as we are all scarred by life. The difference as you rightly point out, is how we show it in our behavior! Blessings and upvoted!

Very very true observation @papilloncharity, thanks for your awesome support!

What a great analogy! We indeed come in many shapes and sizes. We have our own strengths, but we often carry some baggage. I am sure that you guest enjoy their stay. Keep being light to those who visit - regardless of their temperament​ at that moment.

Oh I do that all the time @sumatranate, life has dealt some people heavy blows so a little kindness does help to lighten the load hey! Thanks for stopping by :)

Wow, such lovely photos (:

My favorite might be your thorny cactus. It's quite striking.

Thank you for your support @mizapizza, I have two of these thorny cacti near my front door entrance, I tell everyone they're my guardians ;)

Nice post with some interesting comparisons.

Thanks for stopping by @rynow :)

What a beautiful observation. I tend to liken people to songs in much the same way. I'm so jealous of your orchids! Mine bloomed in May out of the blue and the last blossom dropped a few weeks ago, so have a lounge full of orchids with no crowns at the moment, if it weren't for the water friendly spathiphyllums there wouldn't be a single flower in my house. This drought is really not kind to gardeners, hope you get some rain on your end of the map to keep those beauties in bloom!

So nice to see you again @whattheduck!!! Dunno how I missed that chocolate post you did a while back, lucky Matthew ;) Those were my favourites too!
Orchids love the humidity of Durban, I really don't have to fuss over them. My son who lives in Joburg feels just like you, his orchids also battle!
Interesting that you liken people to songs, will look at that from now on as well :):)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64202.90
ETH 3439.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59