The best pets are... RATS!

in #life6 years ago

A lot of people hearing the word "rat" instantly associate it with "gross". These little furry guys sure are the victims of prejudice. But if you ask me, whether I'm a dog or a cat person, I'd answer, without a second thought, that I'm a rat person! There is a saying: if you don't have enough space to have a dog, take two little rats! "Two" or more is really importan for pet rats are extremely social animals, and we, humans, can never replace them a mate of the same sex for grooming purposes and much more. All the reasons for having two or more rats, you can find out in this cute video that brings tears to my eyes every time I watch it...



I've had rats four times in my life, boys and girls. But the last two husky sisters went straight to my heart and seem not wanting to leave it ))))
The story begins when I was getting over my divorce, I was a single mom with a three year old son. By this time I already met my future husband, but he had to stay in France for another three years, I wasn't able to move to France either, so we were waiting with my son in Russia. At that time I felt like hurrying the time by having something new in our life, that's when I took my girls and have never regretted about two years spent together!


1526759454 (1).jpg


These little furry girls showed my son and me, what love is - they would be together all the time, eating together, playing together, sleeping together. They'd support one another during the difficult periods of being sick and would never allow each other to stay bored or inactive, they were engines for one another and for us as well ))

Below you can see a series of pictures I took during our two year journey, words are unneessary here.



2018-06-17-23-13-22.jpg

2018-06-17-23-17-14.jpg


2018-06-17-23-19-22.jpg


2018-06-17-23-18-23.jpg


2018-06-17-23-15-04.jpg


U5dsPuCRrcGBYFrmdAJXzjHQYxcsFxc_1680x8400.png

I hope you enjoyed the photos of my babies, and maybe even have changed your mind about rats being gross )

Sort:  

Rats are not gross and they are the best animals for kids as they love to be carried around . I stopped adopting them a few years back however because their short lifespans broke me , i could not longer handle it :( but i love them a lot <3 You babies are lovey BTW :D p.s keep your babies on a plant based diet no dairy no meat it prolonged my rats lives up to 2 years more <3 if you ever decide to adopt new ones <3

Yeah, TYger, short life expectency is the only con of having a pet rat... You know, my last two girls were dumbo huskies, they're really fragile, I did my best to prevent them from having tumor (gave them broccoli, no milk products or meat, just grains, fresh vegetables and fruits), but they lived a little more than two years (

I love them toooooooooooo!!!!! They get so clever! Mine knew their names and were even litter trained (but just last two girls)

all my rats never pooed in my shirt lol i would take them with me everywhere and when they had to pee they would crawl up my sleeve and i would stretch my arm out and they would dangle their butt from my hand do their business and go back in my shirt lol. my oldest was 5 years old. sadly the whole cancer thing was bread into them wild rats in captivity can live up to 7 years :( but most that live outside die within the first two because of predators .

Honestly don't think you could change my mind on rodents as a whole for a pet, but they seem like a good option for the right person. Heck my Daughter all of a sudden wants a pig as a pet...no idea where this came from, but she wants one. I asked her at what age do we turn it into bacon. Oh she was so made at me and refused to eat bacon the next breakfast.

BTW, I found your post because @rlt47 featured you in their Entry Post to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest. You should check out their post as they had some nice things to say about you.

Ahahahahha, oh my! Your daughter is a smart one, asking for pigs (by the way, they're not the same pigs we know, it's a special breed of mini potbellied pigs, they're soooooooo cute). Pigs are really smart, clean and can be easily trick trained, and attention, you'll love this one - they don't bark! BUT!!!!! Although they need a loving caregiver and 100% of the attention, or else they can become depressed unlike cats, who are idependent. I'd think twice before adopting a piggy if I'll be able to give him/her enough attention.

Oh, wow, how sweet of R. to write such things about me!!!!! You know, I don't check people mentioning me, simply don't know how to do it. That's why I miss a bunch of stuff going on )))))) hahahaha.

Well I get to help you a little. You need to look into @ginabot. Once set up this is probably one of the most powerful tools available for steemit.

Some things I make sure to get alerts for: if someone mentions my name, someone mentions @pifc (the future home of the contest), if someone uses the #payitforward tag, if someone resteems my post, and if a few people who I know give a LOT of support to my contest post I get an alert so I can give them an upvote as a thank you.

You can customize what alerts you get from GINA based on what you need. I missed so much stuff when I first started until @lynncoyle1 told me about GINA. See and now Lynn will be alerted about this comment.

Oh and for pigs, no way I'm adding a pig to the house. We have a 90+ pound dog and he is in the way enough, don't need another animal underfoot. No matter how cute or smart it is I don't have the patience to take care of a second animal on top of 2 kids.

Ahahahaha, you seem having had enough, haha, I have just one son and no pets except for my silk worms, haha.

As for the Gina, what a cute name for a bot, I'm so grateful!!!!!! I've heard about this bot and didn't know how to get it ))) hahahahahaha, lazy ass I am! But with your kind comment, I'm on it ) Merci, TheDarkHorse!

they are cute! but No.. You can't change my mind about rats being gross.. LOL, The rats around my home always destroy my ginger's root, it bites the leaves and dig out the roots... it's also destroy my vines and turmeric too.. hiksss. But what you have here really cute, Oh no I don't hate rats so much, I like Mickey mouse and the rat at Ratattouile .. hehehehe

found your post through @rlt47 in pay it forward contest this week.

You know, these rats have nothing to do with the wild ones you're talking about ))) it's another breed that is made in a lab, that's why they'd never survive in the wild, they're soooo fragile, you can't imagine! And really really cute! But of course I can't change your opinion )) haha, but they can, I'm sure!

Ooh I see.. the little white one that I used to have one as my pet in the biology lab when I was in the university, Yeah.. They're cute. I forgot that I was let one live in my home, once and everybody hates me because of that.
I respected whoever can pet a rat :D but I know that I can't..hihihihi. I'm giggling just to think about it.

how long will they live?

That's the saddest part - they live about three years of you take good care of them, although there are reckord breakers with four years of life expectancy

oohh.. that's quite long for a fragile pet like them. let's see.. I hope your pets will break the records to 5 years, because they're on the right owner!

<3 my girls died in 2016 unfortunately... But maybe one day I'll adopt a new pair of fluffy arses ))) thank you for your kind wishes!

As you know @rlt47 featured you in this week's #payitforward contest @pifc.

Such a wonderful article. I had rats, mice, hamsters and all sorts of animals as a kid. I think they're all adorable. The video was a great touch :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82