My hand was stuck inside the washing machine O.o + Get Sober for the Holidays for FREE

in #life7 years ago

There I was with my arm fully stuck inside the washing machine. Just a few minutes prior I had taken the top off the machine to get inside and replace the seal. In retrospect it seems quite funny but I can’t help but think about what might have happened had it been just 7 years prior…

Back in the days of my drinking and alcohol abuse the thought of me repairing my washing machine would have seemed completely far fetched. Now, that’s not to say that I was a day drinker but I would not have had the mental clarity I needed. Heavy drinking the night before I needed to do something important the next day was always my go-to behaviour.

When I look back at these days I often wonder, like you probably do now, how did I get into this mess in the first place? People don’t choose to drink the amounts they do. I know you’re probably thinking “But Nick that’s not true, people always have a choice”. And yes, that is true to a certain degree.

However, when you make choices those choices are heavily influenced by all manner of things going on in the brain. The psychological impacts of alcohol abuse cannot be underestimated. These impacts seep into every single decision, action, reaction, emotional feeling and pretty much all parts of our lives…

Each and every drink changes the brain. Sometimes the effects are very subtle and may not leave a lasting impact. For lots of people though, that’s not the case. One drink leads to the next drink leads to the next drink. If that sounds like you I understand because that’s exactly where I was too.

It wasn’t until I went through the process of at home addiction and recovery that I understood exactly how to battle my alcohol problem. It’s allowed me to live a life free from the tether of drinking. It’s what allowed me to get my arm stuck in a washing machine today and not need a stiff drink right after it.

The mental clarity that no drinking provides can’t truly be understood until you’ve experienced it for yourself. Do you remember what it used to feel like, truly feel like, before drinking? Lots of us started when we were very young and that’s had a detrimental affect on our ability to remember life pre-alcohol.

Our at home alcohol sobriety course is designed to support you to stop drinking. Over 290 students have taken the course and the rating is 5.0. You get lifetime access and modules covering each step you need to take to get sober.

If you were to start now, you’d have the skills you need to be alcohol free before the holiday season begins.

In the end, I was able to get the new seal on the washing machine installed and ready to go. It’s the small things like this that really mean so much in recovery. I’ve gone from a place of wretchedness to fulfilment and success.

I hope you can do the same.

Nick

(p.s. let me know if you need a free course on alcohol addiction in the comments below)

Sort:  

I will agree that sometimes circumstances play a big part in the amount of alcohol you end up consuming. Nobody starts out to get falling down drunk, it just ends up that way sometimes. I happy to say that I have not gotten 'falling down' drunk for a very long time.

It is most definitely a degenerative drug which does damage over time. That's why, as you say, it just ends up that way sometimes. Thanks for commenting.

Great! Encouraging words we need to stay away from addictive stuff...
Keep up the good work, you are doing a great job here.


Your post has been resteemed to my 2177 followers

Upvote this comment if you like this service

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @liverehab to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 5.81 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @liverehab

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

This post has received a 0.98 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @liverehab. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Ok to post stuff in your comments if it relates?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71