Sort:  

Yeah, I agree as well. It would be nice if this tool were able to differentiate. Oh! There's a feature request for them!

When it makes an upvote, post a comment "This post upvoted by Steem Voter at @libertyteeth's direction; note that they may not have read the post!" or something similar.

That would be worse. That would make a lot of unnecessary comments which will hurt the steemit.com seo score in Google (Google doesn't like it when same content is repeated again and again in multiple pages). It will also, appear in the replies tab.

Hmm. What's your take on @minnowbooster, which does exactly that? And @bellyrub, and many others.

(Personally I think Google should disappear, thus I'm not really concerned about their SEO scoring.)

They can stay but their auto comments should disappear. I mean, every single time you use a bot, it will post a comment on your post. It is annoying as hell.

My own suggestion would be that steemit should put trending posts based on their views not payout. Also, they could add an algorithm to filter higher quality posts. That would make it a more centralized but Steemit is actually centralized. Its servers are controlled by Steem Inc.

I have no problem with Steemit adding improved functionality as long as it is transparent.

I see it differently; I like that bots make the comments so we can know who's using them. I mean I suppose one could check the votes, but once they're above a certain amount you can't see them all at steemit.com (I know steempy can help you see them, but not everybody is a programmer).

I like your enhancement for trending based on votes, and I think it should be another category. I made a post to #steemgigs not too long ago, requesting this feature but I haven't really followed up on it (I'm recovering from multiple concussions, and forget a lot). Here was that post, you might like my "categories" idea:

https://steemit.com/steemgigs/@libertyteeth/steemgigs-i-want-a-new-home-interface-with-categories-i-can-create-to-put-users-and-tags-in

It would be interesting to see what type of algorithm could "filter higher quality posts." Spelling and grammar checking are essential (but need to be in the language the post is in!); formatting as well, like use of # and ## for headings; and pictures/videos. Seems fairly complicated, and as I mentioned, I'm concussed and not really able to develop software any more, hopefully temporarily. But, I can still come up with ideas! :)

I see it differently; I like that bots make the comments so we can know who's using them. I mean I suppose one could check the votes, but once they're above a certain amount you can't see them all at steemit.com (I know steempy can help you see them, but not everybody is a programmer).

I am using a extension that lets me see it. It is named steemit more info.

It would be interesting to see what type of algorithm could "filter higher quality posts."

Two changes will filter a lot of them.

  1. Give priority to comments with 30+ characters. That is, if a comment is lower than 30 char, it will always go to the bottom. This will filter a lot of "nice post followed very much" comments.

  2. If two comments have the same number of votes, give priority to the one with more char. Generally, comments with more words are also higher quality.

I put your post in my bookmark. Will read it when I wake up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63560.19
ETH 3041.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49