Lily Da Vine's Vibram Abuse Test: Can they withstand highly functional lifestyles?

in #life7 years ago

I'm worse than kids with shoes guys. I know it's partially because I live a super active lifestyle, but it's also partially because I've been wearing cheap shoes since I've gotten here. So finally we invested about 850 pesos after shipping into these crazy things to give them a try.

@modprobe's been singing the praises of these things for awhile and I used to own a pretty good knockoff version a few years ago so I was interested enough to try it again. I also grew up spending much of my time barefoot, without shoes, so it's how I'm currently most comfortable.

The pink was honestly because they were cheap for those, so it was a good foray into trying these things out. I wasn't excited for the color, I'll be honest, but they've really grown on me since I've had them.

The bottoms are super grippy and they stay on my feet very well making it very easy to climb things like boulders.

The toes are easily moveable making it so you can do everything from crack your toes to wiggle away an itch, both very convenient for me.

I'll be honest guys, I love them. But the true test here on weather or not I can justify the cost of these and more expensive pairs I'm eyeing is how they hold up to me. If they fall apart in a month, I just can't do it. So this is a test to Vibrams, are you Lily Da Vine proof?! I'll share an update when I know!

Check out some of my other recent posts!

Rainy Day in Acapulco Photo Story
Tequila the Chair addicted Pitbull
Off Grid Adventures: Simple Solar Setup Explained

Sort:  

I hope they last, but it doesn't seem likely that such thin material can be durable enough to last too long. It would be informative to see some kind of side by side comparison between these and a traditional pair of sneakers.

In terms of how long they last there isn't any but some studies are showing that they're better for our feet for a couple different reasons.

Haha their great! Get the feet moving better thats for sure an better balance. Not to mention the style not pink for me though don't think I could pull that off too well!

Just make sure you dont drop anything on you toes :)

Barefoot runners have the most fascinating blogs. As a cheaper alternative to Vibram some of them recommended basic aquashoes, which is what led to me to the Body Glove Riptides that I love so much. (The Big Lots aquashoes, on the other hand, have been slowly melting onto my now blackened feet.)
What I'd love to try one day is making my own huaraches from discarded tires like these guys:
http://floridahillbilly.com/an-old-project-making-your-own-flip-flop-sandals/

The locals make the tire sandals here!

I so far am just hoping for the best for these, as I think I'll be happiest in a barefoot type shoe

I always thought the vibrams looked so weird! But they are growing on me and I really like the pink color (Even though I'm basically a recovering goth.) I may have to try them out, I walk a lot and enjoy hiking/going to the beach.

I hear you on the recovering goth thing LOL so the pink is weird for me but I like it so far.

Give em a go, I'm just hoping they can stand up to my abuse haha

Barefooted is one of the healthiest ways, because you are grounded. Another way is buying leather shoes, as they are electrical conductive to some degree.

These have a rubber sole. Barefoot also seems to be better for foot structure and balance too I'm finding

I'll be interested to see how they hold up. I like shoes that last and last. :)

Even if they only last like 6 months, I'd be happy. These are about 3 times as expensive as the most expensive pair I had bought before these here

Amazing post and narrative.
Thanks for sharing such great post with us!

Nice post,,,,,,,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54