Angel Coin

in #life8 years ago

Circa December 2007

I was the recipient of a angel coin one busy Christmas shopping day several years ago while we were on vacation in Colorado. I found it on the back seat of our car and I have no idea how it got there. As near as I can figure it was placed there by some anonymous benefactor while we were shopping. The back window was open a little bit and so someone could have easily put it in the car without opening the door.

The coin is really neat; if you look at it closely and move it back and forth it almost appears as if the angel flies off the coin. The coin pictures the angel on the front and back and has no other writing on it. It doesn’t appear to be worth much from metal or antique value but seems old and worn. When I first found it in 2007 I tried to find images like it on the web but was not successful. Now it seems there is a lot more information – these coins have been known to just show up at times.

I have been asking myself, “do I have the generosity to place the angel coin in some other anonymous person’s car some Christmas?”. I find that the answer is very complex. Without knowing if the recipients will value the coin as I have valued it or even find it makes me feel like I should keep the coin. Realizing how generosity can bring such happiness to others makes we want to give it away. Thinking about how the “message” of the coin could be misinterpreted makes me want to keep the coin. Thinking about how the coin is not really “mine” anyway makes me feel like I should give it away.

This seems like a strange thing to me but somehow this coin reminds me of the Bodhisattva of Compassion and I do not want to part with it yet. There is such a wonderful feel to this coin. I keep it on top of my desk and it seems like a good place for it - I’ve grown rather attached to it.

Once I found a very beautiful shell on the beach and I was very happy and wanted to keep it but I put it back where I found it. I felt that the joy of finding the shell was a much nicer than the pleasure I would have from keeping it. Interestingly by coincidence I was on the same beach the next day when a mother and her young daughter found the shell. I could tell she was very happy and excited. I was very happy for them but yet there was a part of me that was saying “why didn’t you keep the shell for your family?”

So therefor I am a bit torn about the what to do with the coin; it’s just a coin so why is it affecting me in this way? When one receives such a gift from the heavens should one keep it or give it away? What would you do? Any suggestions?

I revised what I wrote in 07 and had some additional thoughts

Special Things

So now I’ve noticed the angel coin for sale on eBay. I guess they are not a one of a kind object divinely created and dropped into my car. It somehow makes it easier to keep this one. This is the one that came to me and there is only one of it.

Each day is a one of a kind item really.

One day I was riding my bike and there in the middle of the street was a beautiful diamond ring. Everyone was just driving past it ignoring it. I quickly picked it up and asked around at the nearest business if anyone had lost it. No one had.

I thought to myself, “man this ring must be worth 30 grand look at all those diamonds”. I figured it was made from white gold. I thought I should turn it in to the police in case some gang member came looking for it and found me with it.

I came home and started looking at it closely, it has some inscription on the inside barely readable, “steel” it read with a magnifying lens. Well there went the white gold idea, and I looked it up on the Internet. It was maybe worth $20 if I could find the right person to sell it too.

In a way it made me happier to find out it wasn’t worth much. I had this really nice looking ring with a hundred diamond like looking things in it and didn’t have to worry about anyone suffering a lot about having lost it. (Actually there are only 99 diamond type things, one is missing)

So each day I figure is pretty special and presents its own set of opportunities, gifts and meaningful events. It is just up to us to see them.


All photos are original work and taken on my Galaxy S7 or Panasonic cameras.
Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

I found your article through @positivity
Great story. Honestly, I think I would have kept the items too. But there have been instances were "the spirit moved me" and I was compelled to give items away. I just go with it.

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. There are many things I just give away too. Sometimes I find value in the strangest items though - I like your just go with it idea.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

This my friend was beautifully written - lovely!

Thank you! I’m glad you liked it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.032
BTC 60972.25
ETH 2632.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57