The theory and reason behind what I do - staying positive

in #life8 years ago

I'd say I was a pretty positive person. Or at least I try to be. To the best of my abilities, anyway.

And I do it this way for one simple reason. Positivity generates further positivity. Think of it like a gravy train of awesomeness steaming through the waves of negativity of everywhere I infect, or would happen to receive my Midas touch. (Perhaps that's a little bit on the ego side lol, I jest, of course)

Think of yourself as a freshly thrown stone just about to be thrown into the water. Now the ripples you can make will either be positive or negative.

If say you choose them to be negative ripples then the people that receive them will feel their effect. People can make their own choices but they are certainly influenced by emotion - and can be a direct result of the way other people make them feel.

Say I meet Joe Smith in the town. Perhaps Joe has been unemployed for a while and is thinking about going to his local employment agency to check, again, if there's any jobs available. (but I don't know this) Joe is feeling a bit down on himself and has let his appearance slip slightly. I stop Joe and talk to him because he's an acquaintance. He starts talking about his unemployment.

"Jesus, Joe, I wish I had your life, bumming around all day. Isn't it about time you go and get some work and pay your bit into the economy?"

How do you think this will make Joe feel? How do you think his interactions with others and the decisions he will make for the rest of that day will be?

Not overtly positive right?

And yep, Joe's meets will be somewhat negative, and he'll make other people feel bad based on how he feels and then his acquaintances will do the same with others, and so on.

See the ripple effect?

What if I said,

"I'm absolutely SURE you'll find something soon, Joe. Everyone I meet that's worked with you has good things to say. Employers will lose out if they don't hire you"

How do you think that will make Joe feel inside?

And the interactions he will have with others on the day,

And their interactions?

This is what I mean when I talk about positivity being a wholly good thing.

You know? And when you send those feelings out into the world people start to change their opinion about you, you're more liked, better received, and better opportunities start to come your way. People will try and make you feel good about yourself in return.

And then's when life starts to change, or at least it did for me. As soon as I started to create waves of positivity I found that I was more open to acceptance, change and positive encounters myself.

But this wouldn't work without honesty. If I was to say something to someone and not really mean what I'm saying, they'd know. And they'd be suspicious. It's why I try to generally avoid lying with my positivity.

If someone unattractive to me asks if they are pretty, I pick something I think that is pretty about them. Everyone has something physically awesome.

If a colleague wrecks a project single-handedly, I point out all the good stuff they've achieved within it. Right after the bad - people are tough on themselves generally. There's no need for me to pound it into them.

I had a boss once. Loved to shout at us for our mistakes but never gave us any credit for the good stuff. Safe to say she had a high turnover of staff.

If you breed positivity through truth and honesty then life will start to go your way, friend. You can count on it. 

Sometimes hard to remain positive these days with all that's going on. Hard!

But I challenge you to do a few things:

Leave something positive on another Steemit profile. Expect nothing back. Do it because you want to create a ripple.

Say two nice things to people you barely know today. Expect nothing in return.

Offer help to someone in the next week. Expect nothing

Do one thing good for your community in the next two months. Could be anything. Help an old lady across the street or cheer up the old people at the nursing home. Expect nothing.

You watch, just you watch everything fall into place over time.

Be well, friends :)

Sort:  

That's so true, everybody likes positive people.
Stay positive ;D

Yes!! :)

I work on the sea as an deck officer.
I have all the time new bosses that loved to shout at us.Each new contract that is aprox 4 to 5 months I have a new boss and sometimes 2 or three.
As a deck officer I am in charge with maintence and life saving appliances, I respond to chief officer witch responds to the Master and he responds to the company.
In a vessel many people from different countries are working together.
I saw people who tried to commit suicide during my watch, I saw people who started getting sick when the vessel started moving.
For a person who is sick when the vessel is moving you canot do nothing...you can give him pills and hope that he will be ok until the vessel reaches land.
For the person who wanted to commit suicide on the vessel I managed to calm him down and tell him that this ...and I meant this reality doesn't matter...
Why should you care If a boss is shouting at you for no reason?
You did your job!
Why should you cry just because a bad person tells you that you are usseless?
You are a wonderfull person, you are a good individual, you are not a waste of space.
Why take your own life just because a very bad person tells you that you are a waste of space?
He doesnt know you ! He doent know from where you came from.
*
And I meant every word...
That person continues to go to the sea and became olso an officer , and I dare say a very good officer.
There are so many people who just feel better if they bring you down, who feel happines on your misery .
Don't let them!
Smile, be polite and open and this persons will never break you.
Your advice @lifeisawesome is a very good one :

"Expect nothing"

And you are right everything falls into place over time.
We just need to have patience!

Exactly - thank you for being such a good person - keep that gravy train moving :)

I am an optimist myself, and so I share your point of view. I always look at the glass as half full rather than half empty. I strong believe that I am a happier person because of my positive beliefs. As spring will come after winter, your period of sadness will be followed by happiness

Yes, and I think that's the only logical way to look at it. A glass is only a glass, it can only contain an amount of something or not contain an amount of something. It can only be half "full", not half "empty" because "nothing" doesn't really exists and can't fill up anything.

I like that comment, I always held that a glass is always full, half water, half air or whatever percentages.

Such beautiful comments. Thank you - I'm a glass half full person too. And spring ALWAYS comes after winter :)

The thing about ripples is that they are infinite, even if they are too small to detect consciously, their influence remains.

This is true. Very true

Good read, nice work. By staying in a positive flow I can keep raising my vibration higher and higher and things naturally fall into place :)

Thanks for reading, and yes - keep it moving, friend :)

Such a great piece of advice. I definitely believe that when we do something that comes from a good place in our hearts, it will always create positive things. Sometimes it takes great courage to be positive, especially in the face of tragedy or difficulty, but even a crisis can be harnessed to create positive change. This is something that I have just posted about (my first ever post in Steemit!). Thank you for spreading the positivity :)

I'm now going to check it out! And yes. I could say that my life has been terrible and let it weigh me down - or I can say - look at the awesome person it has made me today? I've been through it! I can relate to others and if anything I can make them feel like they aren't alone :)

My take on it would be: Don't expect a lot in the short term, but do it for the long term effect. Be fully engaged, but not too attached to the exact outcome because it's too hard to predict anyway.

This is actually spot on. It's not a short term aim. I mean I can't change the world in a day, and Rome wasn't built in a day either. Long term is everything :)

When you see an ambulance go bye bless to whom they are going to help. I agree with your post completely and the more you practice this the more it will become a way of life. Yay!!!!!!!!!
dubloon135

Exactly!!

stay strong my young padawan.

Thank you - everyone has strength!

Yes! It is very true. Positive things happen to positive people.

Yep. Too right :)

Be positive always :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61451.56
ETH 3442.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51