Never lose sight of what matters

in #life8 years ago

Never lose sight of what matters

Sometimes life can be great at distracting us. Take me for example, something shiny comes along my way and away I go, chasing the shiny thing.

Our story begins when I was a young lad with a HUGE imagination,

Attribution: By Mehdinom (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

I would write stories and invent awesome new characters

Mob stories I’d love to write. I was a great fan of crime dramas.

Yet one summers day when I was spending the weekend at my Dads he asked me what I was doing,

Writing, I told him,

And, in one swift move he destroyed what I always wanted to do for a long time.

Write.

Yeah, he took those pages and ripped them up into a frizillion tiny little pieces,

“You’ll never get anywhere”

Dad, if anything was the single most destructive force in my life

Because he wanted me to be like a little clone of himself,

He wanted me to go into the same trade, and do the same things,

And I was just, well, me.

But that was the end of that. And it was tough because I had focus and dreams for writing

I wanted to be published

I wanted to be recognised

I wanted to create amazing fictional stories that would have people gasping for more

And Dad, he crushed that.

I ended up doing not very much for “me” for over a decade,

Truth be told I always felt as if I was living someone else’s life

A neat little construct of what Dad and Mum wanted me to be, and other family too,

They all had plans for me.

They knew I was good at certain things. My Auntie, she wanted me to be an Artist, just not of the writing kind, but of the painting kind,

My Mum wanted me to be a Doctor,

Attribution: By Ernie Branson (Photographer) [Public domain or Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

And my Dad wanted me to be an Electrician just like him.

No-one ever stopped and asked what I wanted to be. And it was too confusing,

Trying to please my family and friends, and ended up not doing much at all.

It wasn’t until I stood up and said, fuck it, I’ll do what I want to do that things started to change,

And boy did they

When I finally did what I wanted to do I started to enjoy the work that I was doing,

And I enjoyed it so much that I took it on my own. I was tired of giving 100% only to receive a fraction of that back in wages,

And life sort of fell into place from there,

It was my last job that encouraged me to write again. I was telling them how I used to love it.

Seems like they helped me find myself,

So I’m here, in hope that by writing I help a few people along the way to finding their selves,

And find their awesome

And realise that they are awesome too,

You’re awesome,

Life is awesome.

Own it :) 

Sort:  

Well I bet your father is or would be proud!

Electrician? Really???
Good post!

Yep! That's what he was :) And thank you!

great post @lifeisawesome. Great to know story of you.

So @lifeisawesome, I'm still trying to find me. I can say that my parents weren't much encouragement when i was younger. I was given any direction or disciplined in my studies.

Nobody threw an opinion or an idea of what I should do with my life. I kinda wish I had the option of following the trade of one of my parents.

@lifeisawesome, you are a great encouragement and motivator, and I'm thankful to follow you.

Thank you :)

You still have time. I started from scratch at 30. I know people that started from scratch at 50. There is always time - it's the sacrifices and hardships that come with it that people find difficult :)

Start being yourself very likely also means loosing those who only like you for not being you !

Exactly. I've shed a lot of people believe it or not. My close friend circle has went from about 10 to 3

Nice story, but there are a lot of people who didn't come to your conclusion. This is why such stories must exist, to give them hope. You have my vote, i also made a post today come cheit it out.
https://steemit.com/life/@darkminded153/the-idea-of-man-and-woman-that-transcends-into-just-being-a-good-person

I'll have a read :)

Very good advice! Sometimes in life we can lose sight of the forest through the trees...

Oh that's too true :)

We have to remember not to take things too seriously because life is just too short for that!

Trust me, you need to focus on life now. Everyone likes to talk about all the good stuff that comes after, but I'm sitting here now wishing I was a corporeal being again. Unfortunately the next time I do that things are gonna get pretty rough. LIVE LIFE NOW!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43