Is the Kitchen Table An Undervalued, Underutilized Tool In Our Current Society?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I remember afternoons with my mom where we sat around the kitchen table and talked for a few hours. The life application started there. - @lydon.sipe

@lydon.sipe always leaves the most thought provoking and kind comments. The above quote is in regard to homeschooling and life skills, but it got me thinking...


I remember growing up and we would learn about life at the kitchen table, just like Lydon did.

Dinner at the kitchen table was the time of day I could always count on to see my Father through the week after he worked long hours as a pipe-layer. My mom would let me stay up late as a 12- year-old kid(yes, even on school nights!), because we would sit at the kitchen table talking about life and playing Rummy. As I became older I would sit around the kitchen table with seasoned family members; drinking coffee and getting to know them on a more personal, deeper level as they imparted wisdom learned throughout their life.

It's where I learned to write my first check. It's where I would do my school homework. It's where I remember first praying and giving thanks to God.

Now it's where I celebrate birthdays with the children. It's where we homeschool them. It's where I eat dinner with my own created family.

The Kitchen Table helped bring/currently brings our family closer together, imparted/imparts life lessons on the youth, and forged/forges strong relationships that have withstood/will withstand the test of time.


Now it seems society is moving too fast and we don't use the kitchen table as much as we use to.

What do you think community? Is the Kitchen Table an undervalued, underutilized asset in our current society?

Or do you think we use it still the same?



See the Latest Gift Reveal! Click Here To Support the Hamburger Saint Project In Rememberance of Sgt. Michael Barkey KIA Ar Ramadi,Iraq July 7, 2004


Submit Questions To Be Answered By WoldDawg Every Saturday


OFFICIAL HOME OF THE FIRST EVER LOONEY COIN

Article explaining inspiration

If you enjoyed this post, please upvote and follow if you desire! I mostly story post about my sobriety, family, effects of war, and the crazier parts of my life. However, if it interests me I may just Steem about it! Steem on Steemians!





Sort:  

As I became older I would sit around the kitchen table with seasoned family members; drinking coffee and getting to know them on a more personal, deeper level as they imparted wisdom learned throughout their life.

Just two weeks ago we had the pleasure of sitting down in a situation like this with my grandparents.

My grandmother was a missionary to the Navajo Indians with her late husband. The stories she could tell kept us occupied for hours listening to the wisdom of hands on living.

I realize that some folks don't have the ability to spend time with their seasoned family members. But if we do, that is truly something to cherish.

Thank you for the kind mention @lexikon082. I look forward to our conversations through the day.

I would have loved to be a fly on the wall hearing those stories from your grandma. You are very welcome for the mention. Your comment provoked my thought and you deserved credit for helping spawn this article.

They were pretty great - that may spark a post of my own.

You are a kind man brother. May you continue to be blessed.

I think that the dinning room table has great value and can be used in many ways. The problems is that many of us were not taught how to properly use it!

My favorite uses for the table: meals together as a family (with the TV off), game night (and sometimes several nights a week), art projects from my 5 daughters.

My family we would die emotionally without the dinning room table.

I never thought about being properly taught to use the dining room table. It's something we always did as a family, but your comment is very valid. You and I have something in common because my family would more than likely emotionally suffer without the dining room table too! Thanks for the great comment.

Good post. I think that technology especially mobile phone and its unending applications has killed socialization in our modern family especially where children are involved. Most parents should take the blame for being so submissive to such demands and thus the traditional kitchen table value has been taken over by TV and most worringly, smart phone chats et al.

The technology is a battle we fight every day in our home. The children have limited tablet time and hate it when that time is up. I may have finally reached them the other day when I explained to them, "Yes it's fun to be on a tablet and watch other people. But that's exactly what you are doing. Watching other people live their life. Wouldn't you rather have people watching you live your life"? It's as if a light bulb went off in their heads and for that I am thankful.

The dining table is the first step to get everyone away from the TV, if we could only find a way to get everyone away from their mobile phones at the same time would be great.

I could only imagine what the horse and buggy generation would think of everyone sitting around a table with their attention focused on a strange square device instead of one another. It's quite comical if you think about it.

It's a much missed, much needed part of family life. It started crumbling when wages lagged and it took/takes more than one parent working. It's hard to have regular together time when schedules are so fragmented. Remember 'latchkey kids'?

I'm hoping crypto keeps growing as an alternative (ala VIVA) that offers more balanced life choices.

Ha ha ... HoW about .. ?? - )))

IS "L(if)E" an under utilized "TOOL" in OUR current SocietY ?? - ))
The kitchen "T_able" . as BeautifuL MetaphoR, for ConnectioN - ))

MaN-O-MaN !!!!! - ))
TouR de ' S-OURCE ... NaturE sHOW-INg .. LOVELY COLOR'S !! - ))

PumpeD & reSTEEMed !!! - ))

LOVELOVELOVE )))
greb'Z )

Your statement about life is spot on. I was living mine through a bottle for a long time and have finally started to appreciate life more. Through that, I have begun to truly appreciate what it has to offer.

WE ALL get "HERE" .. from "some-W-here" .. !! - ))
... i'd say for YOU ... that 'bottle' story ... is OVER !! - ))
ha ha ... so stop telling IT ... and, especially to yourself !! - ))

YOU made IT ... YOU can FEEL IT ... and, it sHOWs !! - ))

Thanks for BEiNG YOU !! - ))

LOVELOVELOVE )))
greb'Z )

In my house, the kitchen table is the most comfortable place to be. Regardless how big or small one's house, the kitchen seems to be the soul of the home. Love it. 🍝

ch @globocop

I agree with this statement 100%. Thanks for the awesome reply.

What a great post! We are currently re-modelling our home so we can have a kitchen table. We have a dining room at the moment and make an effort to eat at least one meal every day, as a family.

It's great to read that you try to eat together as a family at least once a day. It's a great way for family bonding and memories. You are taking dedication to the kitchen table to a whole new level with a remodel!

I am! I would just like a place for us to chat together. A place where my children can do their homework while I cook the dinner. Somewhere for me and my Mum to put the world to rights over a pot of tea. A place for our family projects! Can't wait!

Just reading your comment makes me excited! Many good times ahead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59159.44
ETH 2522.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47