I choose you

in #life7 years ago

The day I have decided not to have kids is the day I became a mother. It was not easy to accept the first time I saw the first test. So I had to do it one more time and the third time and the fourth time.
"Have I done the test, right?", "Did I pee on the right end?", "according to some article i have read, these test are not 100% accurate." all those questions ran into my head over and over.

And then I saw the ultrasound, the tiny little thing inside me already stole my heart. I remembered crying uncontrollably. I remembered saying I am gonna keep you. I remembered that something had changed within me. I remembered walking out the clinic a different person.
It is the woman's choice to keep whatever is in her womb. I was offered three choices - abortion, adoption or devastation. I can already get rid of it and it wouldn't know. OR I can put it up for adoption to wealthy families who are lined up to have a baby. OR keep it and it will ruin my life forever.

While not having decided on what to do, i found myself in baby stores, looking up names on the internet and talking to my belly. The first kick got me, I was cleaning the toilet when it first kicked. It felt crazy, overwhelming, scary, joyful and painful. Then I have made my choice.

I gripped the metal side of the bed when the midwife told me to push. I threw up. I cried. I laughed and I pushed.

Fast Forward, the first time I saw her - yes, it is a girl!- I fell in love. With her in my arms, I made a promise that we will both make it. That no matter what comes or what goes, no matter how hard or easy it would be. We are both enough for each other and I will always choose her.

Sort:  

Wow, very powerful post. Children change your life forever. Not everyone wishes to have children, which is completely their choice, but you have just proved that sometimes when you're faced with a life changing decision, you think alot deeper about how it can make you a better person - for you; a wonderful and proud Mummy! Congratulations and well done :)

Congratulations @leonne! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @leonne! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66