Here are some of the ways I naturally relieve my anxiety.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I have pretty severe generalized and social anxiety and am currently unmedicated. Here are some ways I relieve my anxiety.

Just FYI, I do want to get medicated and in no way am against getting professional and medical help with battling anxiety and/or depression. I am just waiting to get insured as I just moved to a new state. But in the mean time I still have to live with it, right? So here are some of the ways I try to alleviate my anxiety naturally. I am not certain these will help other people as obviously we are all very complicated and diverse but it could help some as it helps me.

  • Diet and exercise

Two of the most helpful things I have found for relieving anxiety is maintaining a healthy diet and exercising. The diet helps overall health and energy levels which can help with anxiety. Exercise releases endorphins and when I make sure to do daily cardio and some strength exercises I notice my mood slowly start to improve. It can take a few weeks for this change to take effect but it usually makes a huge difference. I actually just ordered a recumbent stationary bike so I can get back to my fitness in a way that won't worsen my chronic illness.

  • Engaging in relaxing activities

I have noticed that if I take on relaxing hobbies such as knitting, doing puzzles, and coloring I go into sort of a meditative state and it helps me to relieve anxiety. A lot of anxiety is due to an overly noisy brain, repetitive negative thoughts. So, in my experience, finding a way to temporarily shut off that noise helps me to relax. I try to engage in relaxing activities every day for at least an hour, if not more.

  • Meditation

I am not religious or even spiritual but I do find that meditation helps me to relax. I try to do a guided meditation before bed every night and also in the morning. This works probably for the same reason as engaging in relaxing activities. It shuts off my internal dialogue temporarily. The added benefit of doing a guided meditation is that it helps to "guide" my thoughts to a positive calm place and can have lasting effects throughout my day if I start it with a meditation.

  • Journaling

Aside from steemit, I keep a journal and try to write in it daily. I actually just bought like 8 new awesome journals that were like 90% off at Barnes & Noble. I find that writing about things that may be bothering me and getting it all out really helps. By starting my day with releasing all this stuff I start thinking about it less. I dedicate my journaling time to being a free-time to think and express whatever I want, even the negative stuff.

  • Allowing myself daily comforts

I like to engage in comforting activities throughout the day. For me this includes, cooking, having tea, and reading. I set aside time several times a day to just slow down and enjoy tea and a book. Or to diligently tend to a big pot of soup in my crock pot. I also like to light candles or incense. Different things comfort different people. So, find whatever it is that comforts you and allow yourself to engage in it on a daily basis.

  • Remembering to Laugh

Laughter is an instant mood-booster but it can be easy in this fast-paced, stressful world to forget to laugh. I mean it, make sure to laugh often throughout the day. Even if you have to make yourself do it. With the internet at your fingertips it is quite easy to induce laughing and I think you will find that doing so often really improves one's mood. Obviously there will be some days when you may have be dealing with very serious shit and laughter just ain't happening but aside from those days, try to remember to laugh. :)

  • Limiting alcohol and caffeine

I have been a bit bad at following this one myself lately so the reminder is good for me too. But, in the past when I consciously cut out caffeine and alcohol I find myself much less anxious. Caffeine makes us jittery if we consume too much which amplifies anxiety and for people with generalized anxiety, consuming alcohol can lead to an anxious feeling the following day. Try greatly reducing the amount of alcohol and caffeine you consume and note if you feel a difference. Give it at least a few weeks as, if you drink alcohol OR caffeine daily, you will be dealing with kicking a physical addiction and because of this it may take awhile to notice the positive effects it has on your mind and body.

Photos::

images edited by me, sources and images below

Stress text:
https://pixabay.com/p-1084525/?no_redirect

Meditation:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/oddsock/3705388300

Candles:
https://pixabay.com/p-981461/?no_redirect

Sort:  

Good suggestions here! I have suffered from anxiety, as well. Was hospitalized for it when I stopped sleeping. Interesting that both caffeine and alcohol have a negative effect. It's like you can't win coming or going! :)

Thanks.

haha yeah, it was hard for me to admit that my own consumption of these things was worsening my anxiety. Hard pill to swallow but a helpful one. :)

I've found exercise and meditation also work really well for me (probably better than anything else). I just have to be more strict and do the meditation regularly because it tends to be the thing that gets left till last or neglected.

Yeah, I need to step it up myself. Making this list was really helpful in reminding me of what I need to do.

Give this meditation a try on low volume...hope it helps

o0oh awesome thanks! I will try this one tonight. :D

Give it a try on low volume

This is fucking awesome! I too have an issue with alcohol and caffeine. I have for a long time meant to try meditation but I'm either too drunk or too wired to bother. Thanks for the inspiration

I know the struggle. haha I suggest it for sure. It tends to help me be more mindful of my consumption too. Not sure why but it does. :)

I use cannabis sativa

That works for most people but unfortunately for me it actually makes me anxiety worse regardless of strain. :( Maybe pure CBD oil with no THC would work but it's expensive as fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu.

give me moneyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

everybody is begining to see your game, know it girl,
there is no going back

Wonderful to make a list when you are feeling balanced and less anxious to refer to at times you are noticing anxiety. Love your list! These same practices help my anxiety as well listening to my favorite music. 👍🏽

Yeah, I find it really helpful to remind myself of how to remedy this. I also should have included keeping my home/room clean when my room gets messy it adds to my anxiety.

Laura, just stop this victim game... nobody actually believes you anymore

Omg that adds to my anxiety too. Physical clutter exacerbates my mental clutter. Tidying up is one of the first things I notice myself wanting to do when anxiety builds.

Meditation is good to de-stress. I do qigong meditation too but I prefer taiji. To me, it's like slow movement meditation.
Other things like occasional indulgence and laugh certain helps too.

This is borderline Laura, no comments

Very interesting. I think in these times we all experience anxiety to a degree. I like the suggestions that you listed.

It is common for humans to occasionally get anxious but people with GAD differ in the fact that they are constantly anxious and for no reason at all, seemingly. Like, even if everything has been calm and going in a good way for months I will still experience anxiety. >_< But these tips can help people experiencing occasional anxiety as well. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63957.85
ETH 2753.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66