What Motivates Me? (A Short Reflection Before My 20th Birthday)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

It's My Birthday!

Tomorrow I officially turn 20 I beat teen pregnancy woop woop!
I want to take a short break from posting about health and nutrition, so I've decided to write a little bit about what motivates and inspires me both in life and on Steemit.
This also my final post for the Community Engagement Challenge!

I guess I should share what I look like

libertybell_022517-290.jpg

My life

I've accomplished quite a bit in my life that I truly am proud of. I've overcome a very dark place in my life filled with anxiety and probably some depression. I've built a physique that I am proud of out of a body that was once barely more than skin and bones. I have made some great friends for life. I have put myself in the best place I'm able to, to be both happy and successful moving forward. I won my first powerlifting meet. I also qualified to compete in the national championships. I have a wonderful relationship with an awesome girl. Lastly, I have a place to write online that I can also make a few bucks with. Now I have no illusions that hardships won't come, or that life won't get me down, but that doesn't stop me from being proud of my first 20 years. I'm also aware I'm still extremely young and have so much more to learn about pretty much everything.

So What Does Motivate Me?

This is a question I've been asking myself a lot lately. I wanted to know why I do and choose what I do. I've definitely become more motivated financially in recent years which is why I'm reading a lot of books on Investing and Real Estate to try and prepare myself for the real world and my future. I can tell that that is not my biggest motivator though. I'm going to become a coach/trainer after school so that I can Help others like I was helped. My life wouldn't be what it is today without fitness, and I love being able to help others get closer to their dreams of health and fitness. I love writing articles on here and hearing comments from people who learned something or have similar experiences. It brings me so much joy to know that I was able to help a few people learn something new. The chump change I make on top of that is just gravy.
I've found more and more that education also is a motivating factor me. I was fortunate enough to be born a very good learner. I tend to pick things up pretty quickly. I've learned that I love learning too! Reading gives me such an awesome feeling because I know I'm smarter than when I started. That's another reason I love Steemit so much. There is just so much information on here that the learning never stops. In terms of my powerlifting career, a lot of my motivation comes from an inner drive to be better and always be improving. My goal is to one day represent the United States in the World Championships. I know if I put in the hard work necessary this is well within my reach. At the end of the day, self-improvement is probably my biggest motivating factor. I'm thankful to have what I have and do not want to waste my opuurtunity at life!

What I want for my birthday

I just want anyone who makes it this far to leave me a comment down below and let me know what motivates you! I'm very curious to see what keeps other people going

Birthday-gift-007.jpg
Image Source

Sort:  

I think it's wonderful that you take the time to reflect on your life, pull what you are proud of and determine your next goals. SO many others that celebrate their 20th don't take the time to do this.

It was hard to decide what really motivates me (not an easy question). I pursue building relationships with good people and then helping them reach their goals. I pursue learning new things (this curiosity keeps me going/growing). Lastly, my goals tend to center around keeping options open in life < without the fear of commitment . . if that makes sense.

Not to sound full of myself, but I probably only know one or two people my age as in tune with themselves and focused on their future as I am. I'm just trying to balance this with not forgetting to live a little right now as well.

@kylek717 Happy Birthday! From what you write in your post, it looks like you are already giving yourself the best gift possible: an early start into the areas that you want to excel at. It is wonderful to see that at such young age you have so much drive, motivation and a clear vision of what you want to achieve, so kudos on that!

What motivates me these days... I wish I could say something admirable and selfless like I want to dedicate my life to help other people, but being completely honest with myself, that's not it. I always help whenever I can, but that is not my calling. I think my motivation comes from recognizing the miracle of existing, of having had the opportunity to live this life in this planet. I want to make the most out of it, for however long it lasts; I am curious to see how far I can develop myself as a person, how much I can grow, how much I can experience, how strong I can possibly get. Just the miracle of life itself, that's my motivation.

However, my vision is not completely selfish: I believe that everyone has the right to do the same so we should cooperate and help each other to make our lives the best possible, to make our living experience a satisfying one. We are all connected, after all.

Hey, there's nothing wrong with wanting to make the most out of life. This for me would probably run complimentary to making the most out of helping and coaching others in fitness and health. I totally agree that everyone should be cooperating with each other to make our lives as good as they can be

HAPPY (early) BIRTHDAY @kylek717!
It sounds like you've got a clear path in front of you. What motivates me...
I want to help people. I feel like it was something I was born to do, and I went through the hardships in my youth to have a good perspective of what crap feels like and how to overcome it. I'm closer to 50 than I am to 40 anymore and I'd still like to finish up my psychology degree. One day. In the meantime, I help where I can. :D

And Kyle, in case you weren't tracking it - at the time of this comment you are only 46 away from being in the winner's circle for this challenge!

I can definitely feel the desire to help others, This comment makes it 45 to go!

Finding good Steemians like yourself motivates me!
Upvoted, Highly rEsteemed and Followed.
Thank you and SteemON!

Imgur

Much appreciated!

You've been UpVoted via the UpVote Experiment 002 Bot. Depending on my VP & the price of STEEM you should get a $.01-$.03 for your trouble.
Read more about this experiment here.

Thank You - @blueorgy

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by KyleK717 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thanks minnowsupport!

Funny- I saw my second cousin at my 50th B-day party over the weekend- apparently he had recently set a world record dead lift of 525 I think- he weighs 145- beat some Russians former world record!

Wow that's awesome, Russians are always the best deadlifters haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97