I asked for gastric bypass surgery.

in #life6 years ago

91CE0238-B27F-4EFB-A672-7FF006B7FBF0.jpeg

I grew up with the understanding that Brazilians, like most Latin countries, grow up eating rice and beans twice a day every day. I was told that my parents family came from the country land where hard labor called for a mighty meal. One that could sustain, one that strengthens, and one that included rice and beans.

Meat was for the wealth. Vegetables was a preference. Rice and beans was never an option. As a society built and grew the traditional meal stayed. I for one can count on one hand how many days I’ve gone without eating rice and beans. My parents carry this tradition and over the years it shows. Out of ten siblings on dad side all, but three are obese. Out of a family of five on mom side, all eventually packed on the pounds. Mom struggled with her weight for years, except for a small period before she got married. She has buckled again at school expect this time by her crush.

She spent a year skipping dinner and was able to keep the weight off for almost five years. My siblings and I carrying the same trait quickly realized we were heavier than most. Brother had it the worst, weighing in at 320 plus pounds. Sister fluctuated and I did too.

The church we attended was lead by a pastor and his family. They too carried this Brazilian cuisine tradition in the kitchen and around their waist. The pastor heard of this surgery that cut your stomach, most of your intestines, and successfully lost weight. There had been horror stories of individuals that the surgery and then suffered from vitamin deficiency and various post-surgical complications. They were even horror stories of various less invasive treatments that had terrible consequences or complications. Nonetheless, this doctor had an unbelievable success rate with minimal complications or death compared to others.

Like a new fashion trend, it caught fire. He, his wife, their daughter, eventually my mom and brother all had it done. We even attempted to convince my sister to have it done. She was offended and learn to live a healthier lifestyle.

I asked for the surgery. I often still do wish I had gotten it done. Imagine never having to worry about the food you eat. Your body literally forces you to eat less, eat more often, and eat less processed foods. You see with half a stomach and without 40 meters of intestines to process the food. Your body reacts quicker. It rejects the food, sometimes painfully to quick that have little to no nutritional value. You see with less room to process it, it either accepts or denies the ingredients.

My mom has been the same. Mothers since she had the surgery. Almost five years now. My brother has some excess skin, but he is building muscles and stretching it back out. They get gassy a lot if they skip meals or eat to fast. My brother has developed a slight sensitivity to shrimp. Mom wishes she had the surgery you get as she feels her age hasn’t helped the healing process, but she sees her mom and knows she is going to live longer because of it.

You see this surgery is the magical pill. This survey takes out the daily struggles of being overweight only those that struggle with know about. I often do a cost analysis on the price of doing the surgery. Plain flight, post-recovery, and compare it to gym memberships paid. Shakes purchased, clothes purchased, and food purchased without the surgery.

Naturally, these numbers look different for everyone. Some people do gain the weight back. Some need additional surgery to remove skin. Some never live a normal life. Some regret not doing it sooner.

Would you do it? Maybe not this surgery especially, but another that would resolve a lifelong struggle? Does surgery scare you? What say you about it all?

4AF7039D-3CE5-41B6-BA26-58483085D24B.jpeg

Sort:  

It's been quite awhile since we caught up in discord! Just now though...I caught the title of your post and reading your words struck me with such sadness! As someone who has also struggled with constant body image and confidence issues...I know where you are coming from. It's important to feel satisfied with how you look because this literally effects every single aspect of everyday life.

But gastric bypass surgery is way too drastic! I would understand the decision to have this surgery if your health were at risk because of complications to being obese such as high blood pressure and diabetes that has become life threatening. However falling into the 'magic pill' or 'quick fix' trap when you are otherwise healthy is dangerous...not only physically but psychologically.

When we try to trick ourselves into believing that shortcuts will accomplish anything beneficial in the long term...it only creates a false sense of accomplishment and is a bit of a crutch. My perspective comes from a lifetime of illness that has resulted in many surgeries that were not my choice. I respect your viewpoint...but I will never be in the position to understand why anyone would choose any highly invasive elective surgery to bring about lifestyle changes while there are still other...much healthier...options available.

The human body is strange and mysterious. When we mess with the natural balance in any chemical or artificial form or remove anything even to preserve life...things are never quite right again. I know from experience that bodies will often react in very unusual ways to procedures that force it to react and behave in unnatural ways. Anyone who has undergone surgery that was a matter of life and death will probably say living with the aftermath is perfectly okay compared to the alternative!

But I can't say that I recommend living with any additional burdens when you actually have a choice in the matter and from what I understand...alternative methods. Sadly...genes play a large part in how our bodies process and metabolize food and sometimes diet and exercise will never be enough to achieve the desired body image. I do understand how difficult it really is to stay motivated in a modern high stress world...but beyond making changes in lifestyle such as diet and exercise...it really comes down to accepting the body we are given..and figuring out how to be as healthy and happy as possible within those limitations! This definition will be different for everyone...but nevertheless it remains an ongoing journey to discover our own.

It sounds like your family might have reached a point where undergoing gastric bypass became the last resort. I don't know you well...but I don't get that impression from you at all! I hope this post might be the result of lingering thoughts on the topic and you aren't actually going to jump on the bandwagon with this procedure anytime soon. As long as you feel healthy and can still enjoy life...are doing everything reasonable that you can to naturally preserve this...I really think there is absolutely nothing wrong with being curvy!

Much love my friend! <3 <3 <3

Kubby, when I saw you, the last thing I thought was that you need gastric bypass surgery. You are not losing the weight battle at all.

Also, I think you should read this book. It's written by a gastric bypass surgeon. If I could lend it to you from Kindle I would but Amazon won't let me.
http://proteinaholic.com/

I have a hard time reading ebooks. I’ll order the hard copy and give it a read. Looks like a good read.

I think most people would agree with you and be shocked at my desire to have the surgery. Keeping my weight in check is a battle and I think the surgery would help. I won’t be 20 forever.

Surgery is kind of scary I guess, but if it saves a life or re/solves problems/that could crop up in future, seems worth doing? You didn't register to me as the kind of person who would need a gastric bypass and that kind of thing sounds like it should be an absolute last resort/life saving kind of thing as otherwise removing organs that are otherwise functioning fine sounds both really extremely not ideal and potentially hazardous. But then again I'm probably not allowed an opinion as the leadup to that is not something I need to deal with, and I have an inherent distrust of magic bullets/pills ;D

goatsig

Your opinion matters, don’t discredit it. I agree that organs should be left alone if it’s functioning well. I also think I’m disciplined enough to keep the weight off. There is risk in every surgery. Complications could be worse then struggling to maintain my weight. I still want it and often still think about how my life would be different had I done it.

Well, it could have been everything you wanted or it could have been pretty tragic, hard to know right XD Is it still an option if you did want to go that route?

goatsig

I would never do it. I was put here with the body I have, and I'll hopefully finish my life with all parts intact. Magic pill, forreal~

Pills only work if you take them. Once you stop the effects ct stops then what? I wonder what life would be like with the surgery? I wonder what life without it be life? We shall see :)

C'mon Kubbs, you know what happens—we become dependent, reliant on these pills and medications to solve all of our problems! At least that's what I think lol.

We shall see indeed!~ <3

You were always so ready to go under the knife, you brave little soul, but I will avoid it at all costs until/if absolutely necessary. That goes for any surgery.

We should do it together!! Great bonding activity:)

I've actually thought about doing this kind of surgery, but since my weight is not so exaggerated, I think it would be somewhat of an exaggeration. I blame myself for the lack of determination and strength in being able to rule definitively. I speak definitively because I have had small episodes of success in a correct food (paleo type and low carb) that have generated great results, but the problem is to stay in the line forever. But I will not give up !! :)
But I am glad that in your case, the surgery was very positive! I have friends who have already done it and are very happy about it!

I haven’t done the surgery, but those that have are doing very well. The surgeon doesn’t operate anymore :/ so, I gotta keep living a healthy lifestyle. As you mentioned, it has its moments of success

Oh! i miss this! sorry, its my english lol.
Well, so you and me need to continue in this journey to healthy life, not easy but very interesting. Do you know a little about paleo or low carb? For me, is the best method, based on science, but not easy...

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts and to be recommended, reply with STOP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63223.35
ETH 2688.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55