Laptop Hard Drive Shat Itself AGAIN!

in #life5 years ago


klye.jpg
( The beautiful art of @KLYE was done by @saywha )

If bad luck didn't constantly sneak up behind me and sodomize my life would likely not have any luck at all.. fuck sakes!

Was doing a bit of worky tom foolery and gaming fuckery on my laptop a number of nights back.. got tired, closed the laptop and went to sleep.

Upon an attempted restart of the laptop the hard drive seemed to have issues reading then I was met with the ever shit windblows blue screen of death sporting the following error message in it's wake...

"Unable to communicate with boot device"

FUCKIN' HORSE SHIT!

This is the second hard drive that fuckin' laptop has seemingly self grenaded in just as many months. Not sure if some other undetected hardware issue is frying these fuckin' things or if I simply have the worst luck ever when it comes to hard drive longevity.

The best hypothesis I could muster was that somehow the magnetism exerted by my DJ headphones buggered up the hard drive causing the boot failure.. but am unable to prove or disprove this.

Thank fuck that my 1950x workstation is with me and still able to use it to do my leisure, work and whatnot.. although it's only reporting 7 of 8 RAM sticks in it and seems to be oddly hoarding 27GB of memory making it not usable by windblows...

Oh well, more shit to fix I guess.

Any payment received from this post will be thrown towards getting a new storage drive for my pissoff of a laptop.

Sort:  

Came to your account after checking out some steemprojects (especially bots). Just saw your drive had crashed and have to say I feel sorry you are having trouble.

If it makes you feel any better, I once killed my laptop’s hard drive by accident. Working at the kitchen table I reached over to grab a book and knocked the laptop to the floor. I was optimistic when I saw it landed right side up and the screen seemed fine. Then it pixilated and went to black. I couldn’t get a new one for a couple of months. Good luck!

You got a 1.05% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @industriousliv!

Headphones don't have a strong magnetic field, I doubt they have any effect. Bad air circulation is what kills laptops often. Perhaps too much dust too. Then there's the hardware age, electronics aren't eternal.

Ah, appreciate the share of knowledge on the magnetic field of my headphones. Will rip the bitch apart and see if it's shorted out or dusty in the next couple days.

Cheers!

That might not be true - a quick way to check is simply put a Canadian quarter or loonie near your headphones and see if they stick. Answer is : my headphones have some big fuckin magnets in them, at the same time hard disks should be shielded from that. Oh well!

<3 hope you’re well homie.

This is seed

How goes the battle seedbb?

Still alive!

Hi @klye. Your showing disabled for 3 weeks on the witness list. Is that accurate and if so what's up?

This is accurate. I'm currently unavailable I regards to make for proper witness server so am going without.. need about $250 USD to return going on the witness trial again..

I suck. My bad.. -_-

Thanks for the update and hope things come together for you soon.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Sorry about that.. safe to say these devices have a mind of their own🤷🏾‍♀️

Posted using Partiko iOS

No need to apologise for it friend!

Cheers

☺️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75