kieran franey

in #life7 years ago

Just on the #me too, I am a man who is fit and does powerlifting and I applaud all the people brave enough to come out about their encounter's with being sexually harassed and I honestly thought I knew what an affront to a person it is to have to put up with that kind of bullshit day in and day out , anyway this week I went for my morning 45 min walk that I do every morning after I do my training I was 200 meters from home it was 5am I live in the suburbs in what i consider a reasonably safe suburb at a reasonably safe time around 5am in the morning , as I was walking along the side of the road heading to a main road a person was approaching my direction on the opposite side of the I thought it was a tall woman because it was dark and I could make out that they had long hair. I turned the corner to head to the main road and I realised this person was following me so I thought they may be lost or something , by this time I was nearer a street light and I waited until the person was on the opposite side of the road to me , then I asked "are you ok can I help you with something " by this time I could see it was a man but couldn't make out his features ,he mumbled something about jerking off in broken english I said " excuse me" then he stepped forward pulled the front of his pants down and said "do you want to jerk off?" I told him I wasn't interested and to fuck off or I would belt him, which he did. I wasn't in shock or maybe a little but the more I thought about it the angrier I got , I thought how dare you do that to me you fucken creep now I'm 55years old and I am a good 105kgs of mainly muscle from doing weights and power lifting and keeping fit through out my life and this man left because I told him to and gave him no option but I thought about had I been a women or a child and this person didn't want to hear my no , for that one brief encounter it fucked my day up so I get some idea what women have to put up with everyday and how easy it is to become a victim because someone else decides that want to make advances against your will you become powerless just about, because you can't stop them from pulling their pant's down or not listening to your no, it is easy to become a victim of somebodies bad behavior that is the part that got to me as strong and tough as I am I could not stop him pulling his pants down and jerking off in front of me , we can all become victims is one of the main points I got from this but another is that women have to face this constantly and a lot of the time do not have the option I had , it is sad they have to put up with that it lets everyone down including the person who does it themselves . I told my partner when I got home and she hugged me and asked if I was alright I assured her I was and I was just a bit shocked and angry, when I told my work mates who are all men they thought it was funny , who knows maybe their wives or girlfriends go for a walk in a reasonably safe suburb at a reasonably safe time of the day, and as well as it can happen to anybody also anybody can be the person that doesn't understand what no means.

Sort:  

Congratulations @kieranfraney! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47