A Tribe Called Government

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Sometimes it's all too easy getting all wound up talking about the government.

Maybe it's just for awareness, but I've seen too much of that all over. Even in person. Some folks do it non-stop, to the point of resorting, or falling into the trap of misinformation.

While it's not wrong to be pointy and criticize everything that's evil about the government, I think the overflow of disappointment and anger could be channelled elsewhere.

Afterall, free-will or not, tribes eventually form out of the blue emerge (out self organization / cause and effect, thanks to @beginningtoend for the correction) and the differentials in power will divide itself into masters and slaves. It's also an idea that has been planted in most of us since childhood. Father, mother, partner, caretaker, and the family tree.

Quod Me Nutrit, Me Destruit.

What nourishes me, also destroys me.

At times, I'm also guilty for indulging too much in my rebelliousness, bashing the devils of the world. However, I think it's quite misdirected and most importantly, futile. It's better to figure out ways building stuff so we can inch away from depending too much on the tribe. We're doing this here, now.

And maybe one day, governments may cease to exist.

Here's a great song, similarly titled A Tribe Called Government by Jordan Rakei. I hope its soulful and playful vibe will be a casual reminder to chill out.

Welcome to the tribe.

Lyrics taken from:
https://www.musixmatch.com/lyrics/Jordan-Rakei-2/A-Tribe-Called-Government

Shout it like a stereo
I'm not your stereotype
No I'm not like that
.
I just want my life back
Shout it like a stereo
I'm not your stereotype
No I'm not like that
I just want my life back

.
See the government and me
And my fantasy's free
We'd spend all our money
On a fantasy tree
Then we'd chop it and we'd chip it
Then we'd turn it to pulp
Then we'd press it and we'd print it
just to give us our wealth
.
And the government and me
And my fantasy's free
We'd spend all our money
On a fantasy tree
Then we'd chop it and we'd chip it
Then we'd turn it to pulp
Then we'd press it and we'd print it
just to give us our wealth

.
See the government and me
And my fantasy's free
We'd spend all our money
On a fantasy tree
Then we'd chop it and we'd chip it
Then we'd turn it to pulp
Then we'd press it and we'd print it
just to give us our wealth
.
And the government and me
And my fantasy's free
We'd spend all our money
On a fantasy tree
Then we'd chop it and we'd chip it
Then we'd turn it to pulp
Then we'd press it and we'd print it
just to give us our wealth

.
Shout it like a stereo
I'm not your stereotype
No I'm not like that
I just want my life back
Shout it like a stereo
I'm not your stereotype
No I'm not like that
I just want my life back
.
A master
Keep the mystery
I could be an actor
Through the misery

I could be your Yoda
Teach you wizardry
I could teach you yoga
Though not literally
And I hope
got that inventory
Could be the teacher
To infinity
To infinity


Follow me @kevinwong

Sort:  

Agreed, I have gone down the rabbit hole and now I am reemerging with an energy of Solutions, no longer as stuck in the vibration of the problem. Einstein says
we can not be in the solution with the same vibration we had with the problem....I am at times having to drop out of the matrix just to gather myself so I can clear my head enough to raise my heart to a level where the fear no longer has a grip!! My ascension is probably going well but it seems like it is REALLY slow and regressive at times, but I am determined to meet my higher self before I croak!! Have a fantastic Day Kevinwong!

Thanks for the nice quote @namastaynpaint . And great way to put it - reemerging with an energy of Solutions ;) Appreciate that you stopped by to type those out!

I am not really sure that tribes form "out of the blue;" more like from cause and effect, or perhaps thesis; anti-thesis; synthesis.

Yeah I was a bit too quick with my words there, definitely meant "emerged out of cause and effect" :)

The current us vs. them tribalism and polarization in politics is really getting to the point of not just being unproductive, but being highly destructive.

I sympathize on various issues with both the left and the right, and aspects of both sides also frequently compel me to anger. What I have found since joining crypto, and doubly so since joining Steem, is that there is an avenue for fundamental political change outside of the ongoing war between the left and right tribes. Although I became disillusioned even with Bitcoin, for me now Steem is an oasis of hope and optimism in a world of pessimism, conflict and decline.

That's true, I was going on a pretty good roll for months since steemit until i went into Facebook this weekend and got stuck in there with all the news stuff lol! Just woke up :P (explained in new post)

David Icke - The Solution

Thanks @onceuponatime, gonna give this a watch this before I head to bed :)

When I die, if I'm known for something, I hope that it's that I was anti-tribal.

Ironically, then first essay I ever wrote was called "The Tribal Mentality" well, it was called the Allegory of the Tribe (After Plato's) but it was re-titled.

Interesting! Is there a copy somewhere that I can read? :)

Yeah, here's the link:

https://steemit.com/writing/@the-alien/this-is-how-my-writing-journey-began

As you see, didn't have a lot of skill back then hehe.. We all start somewhere.

Wow that's long, and nevermind the skill - it's a good read!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.15 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 27 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50