VERY RARE & AUTHENTIC Muslim-Style Hot Pot in CHINA!

in #life6 years ago


Hello Steem Blockchain!

When you ask foreigners that have come to China what their favourite food is, chances are they will say Hot-Pot!

It is definitely a favourite amongst non-Chinese tourists because of how convenient it is to pick your own ingredients to put in a large pot of flavourful soup broth.
hot pot.jpg
Lillian and I went to this Muslim restaurant in my city of Qinhuangdao. Muslims have had a profound influence in China; especially in the North-west part of the country. This restaurant does not serve pork which is great for me because I don't eat it. Muslim-style hot pot joints are quite rare in China. Most hot pot restaurants serve all kinds of meat so if you like pork then you are in luck! I was surprised that the colour of our broth was green. Usually it is a murky white colour or red for the spicy type.

How do you eat hot pot?

  1. Choose a broth. Many restaurants allow you to get a pot that is divided into 2 parts: Spicy and Clear broth.
  2. Select your ingredients. Thin slices of meat are the most desired food to put in the hot pot. I recommend putting these ingredients in first because they are the fastest to cook and taste awesome! You can also choose a variety of fresh vegetables and other ingredients like tofu, kelp and noodles.
    vegetables.jpg
  3. Make your dipping sauce. In many restaurants, you can get a small bowl and make your own dipping sauce for your food for after it is cooked in the soup. This adds more flavour to whatever you just cooked! Usually, the dipping sauce has a sesame seed paste base and on top you can add vinegar, onions, garlic, sesame oil among other things.
    dipping sauce.jpg
  4. Place your ingredients into the soup and let the boiling broth cook them until tender.
  5. Take the food out with chopsticks and put it in the dipping sauce.
  6. Eat!

Hot pot is the perfect food for social outings. It is something most people choose to do when out with friends or colleagues because everyone can eat from the same pot and it allows people to converse with each other instead of just focusing on your own plate.

Find your nearest Chinese restaurant and see if they have hot pot available!

Thanks for reading & watching!


Check out my other posts!


Differences Between China and Australia According to My Chinese Student
The Difference Between Teachers in China and the West
What Kind of Imported Food Is Available in China?
MOUTHWATERING Food Of China's Ethnic Turkic Minority!
The MASSIVE Construction Boom in China!
Why I Left My Engineering Career To Be a Teacher in China!
Is Chinese Food Low Quality? Organic Farming in China
Why The Heck Did I Move to Communist China?
What's It Like For A Canadian Living in a Small City in China?


Kenan.png


Website: http://SimplyElated.com


Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


Music provided by Epidemic Sound!
www.epidemicsound.com



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

What a detailed guide. Well done! Now I miss Hot-Pot! I remember another popular one among foreigners is Lamian拉面. =) I had foreign friends recording the whole noodle-pulling process. Did you ever make a video like that?

Thank you. That is actually a really good idea. I have a very short clip of someone making 拉面 but I think I need a better one. I'll make sure I get one in the future.

Thanks!

These hot pots look tasty and conveneint to make. Do you ever make your own? Would love to see a recipe, I'm always looking for easy meals to make

I have never made my own from scratch but if you go to a Chinese/Asian supermarket, you should be able to buy the soup base. They have a myriad of different flavours to choose from and whatever packet you buy, you open it and put the stock in a pot of boiling water and that's it. You should be able to buy the thin slices of meat used for hot pot in the same supermarket and you can choose what other vegetables you want to put in.

There's a market by my moms house called Super H Mart that is like a mega asian mart. I'm sure I could probably find the ingredients there

That is rare. I wonder if there some other types of hot pot places in China. I heard Vietnam, Philippines and Thai have their own version of it.

yeah I heard about Vietnam also, Sichuan is my fav though

Sichuan and Chongqing style Hotpot are my faves. Can't beat that tongue numbing spicy taste.

Yes exactly! ? :-) where in China are you living??

I have been bouncing around city-to-city, year to year. Hopefully I'll just settle in one city. Chengdu is my favorite place.

Right now I live in Jingdezhen in Jiangxi province.

My wife is trying to convince me to live in another city... again.
Maybe Harbin, Yantai or a city near a beach/ocean.
How is Wenzhou?

Wenzhou is great! It's all you need from a city without all the bad things that come from being in a big city IMO.

Sounds like fun going from one city to the next

片尾的聲音是什麼?😳

我的节奏口技! 哈哈哈

厉害了~哈哈哈~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.46
ETH 2409.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42