TIPS For Buying Clothes Online!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

model-600225_960_720.jpg
Buying clothes on the internet can be a satisfying experience. We don't have to go to a clothing store and awkwardly try on clothes, Which were probably touched And tried on by a bunch of other people. Which gives them that "used" feeling. We also don't have to leave the house if we don't want to!

Measure Your Whole Body!

People tend to overlook this, Its so easy to say I'm a "Medium" in shirts. And just use that when you buy clothes. But so many clothes aren't the size you think they are. I think if companies made a universal size for clothes it would make things so much easier!
So take some measuring tape and write down a bunch of measurements for your body. This will make it easier when you clothes shop, and you won't deal with as many returns.
pocket-2324242_960_720.jpg

Look At The Return Policy

Clothes are kind of hard to buy without seeing them first. Its likely you may have to return them every once in a while. Websites that make you pay to return clothes, End up costing more money. Places like Thredup, Tradesy, And Amazon Prime. Tend to have more generous return policies on their clothes. Even if they do end up fitting you, Sometimes the style isn't what you expect, Or it looks funny overall.
people-516372_960_720.jpg

Look At Reviews, For color accuracy and fit!

I love that Amazon has reviews, More websites need to use reviews. Looking at the reviews allows you to check the color accuracy before you buy it.
You also can see how it fits most people. Often on Amazon, You have people taking selfies wearing the clothes, You can often look for someone with a similar body type as you, To see what kind of fit you can expect to get.
Sometimes the sizing is also off, So by checking the reviews, You can see if you should order a size down or up.


Sort:  

Buying clothes online can be satisfying or also sometime very disappointing. I normally buy all my stuff online, when I am in the western world. In Asia ie I would not like to miss this exciting markets...

Agreed!! Really? I hope to see the markets in Asia sometime! They look cool there!

Yeah, it cool and an exciting experience, all the different stuff, all the different smell and ending up negotiate and flirting with a 90 year old asian market-woman...LOL
ITS PRICELESS..

LOL! That is so amazing LOL.

Return policy is key! ASOS will take clothes back and pay the postage which I think is pretty cool. I don't buy many clothes online though, I always mess the sizing up!

I do too!
I'm glad there are more sites that will do the returns

Yeah, means you can buy buy buy and not worry so much. Then you get the money paid back into your account and feel like you've been saving! 😁

My wife buys most clothes online now, I think she literally has it down to a science, I'll show her this article :) The problem that I notice personally is that sizes don't mean anything anymore in a lot of cases. One size in a shoe or pants from one company fits differently than the exact same size from another company. Makes absolutely no sense to me!

Thank you ! It's so true! The sizing is out of control. I could be a Medium, Large, Xl, XXL or sometimes even a Small in a shirt, It's so weird. They should make some sort of universal sizing or something, that would be really helpful.

I mean, what is the point of having sizes if they are different across the board!? Sizes are supposed to be used as a standard - it used to be that way, why it changed I have no clue!

Good read as usual @kaylinart! Thanks for sharing. Me and my wife already look twice at the return policy, as there are quite a numerous times the sizing wasn't the best fit and we had to do a refund/exchange!

Cheers!

Thank you :)
I'm glad you do that! It makes things so much easier!

Return policy is a big one! I've always enjoyed shopping in person because I do worry that the size won't fit or that the material is not what I was expecting. Great tips, I'll keep it mind for future online shopping.

Thank you! So true! I like being able to try on clothes, but at the same time shopping for me is such a frustrating experience. I like to try on clothes at home, So I don't have to deal with so many human interactions Lol.

#shoppingqueen problems! BTW love all the content you have been producing. I saw the other day you said you have been writing 4 posts a day. Just wanted to let you know I notice all your hard work. Your content is on point and really interesting to read. I've been on Steemit less than a month, and reading your posts get me pumped to be a part of this community. :)

I personally buy lots of stuff online, cloth is not one of them, but I'm surely will since the cloth I find in my local mall are just S,MD,LG which as you mention might not be the right size for you, and I've hear that in some websites offer variety of sizes that might fit better and at a better prize , we'll see how it goes ... (I'm finally back !! did you miss me @kaylinart Or you don't remember me :(

Yes, I would rather shop on line. Malls always make me feel tired.

Agreed :) They make me feel the same way!

Cool article :) Just as a hint - cloth sizes in Europe tend to be smaller than US sizes - S in EU is like XS in US (M in EU like S in US).. Same thing in the Asian market, just keep in mind you may experience smaller sized clothes disregarding the size tag (L for example you may think is big, but how big?! lol). Measuring is ALWAYS a good habit, abit annoying, as you usually have 133 other things to do daily.
I usually check Amazon reviews, as well as post ones WITH PICTURES, love to do that. Amazon is not so big on clothing though, you have some companies that sell over there, but Internet is an enormous sea... In the end always keep in mind that beautiful clothing pictures are made to SELL, you won't always get the same quality as you "think" seeing the online pictures, as they are being heavily retouched, using sexy models. :)
@kaylinart your pictures are gorgeous (for example the very first one,.. and the second..) do you shoot/make them or take them from somewhere?
Namaste!

Wow thanks for the tips!!
True! At least with measuring unless you paln to gain or lose weight, Stays kind of the same. So clothes should keep fitting. True!! There are better sites than Amazon. Thats the one I've been using lately though, As they expand with their clothing selection.

Sadly the photos I use are stock photos! I wish I was that good with photography ;) Maybe one day haha.

I'm going to have to throw this article at my wife. She's a big online clothes shopper and we have had some incidents with things being too big or too small. Thank you for this reminder! :)

Semper Fi
TEOTWAWKI Man

Do it! Heheh :)

Thank you for the tips! Buying online with a good return policy sounds good.

No problem heheh :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51