The Struggle Of Wanting To Pursue EVERYTHING!

in #life7 years ago

28w4gjm.jpg

It's getting worse and worse! So many incredible opportunities at my fingertips. So Much fun stuff that I could do every day. So many things I can learn and grow from. This is hard! It's so hard to pick the right opportunities that will give you the most "bang for your buck."

Steemit!

Every day that goes by, I feel like I'm shooting myself in the foot by not spending all day on Steemit! But even though I am on Steemit more than half my day on most days, It never feels like enough. I know this platform is going to be HUGE later on, And I feel this constant need to build a larger and more secure foundation on the platform.

Merch By Amazon

They are coming out with hoodies and sweatshirts soon cough.

And this newer program with Amazon is incredibly lucrative. It's how I survive month to month. It pays all my bills, And I know it will pay more and more, later on, But of course, there is a catch 22 with that one. Which is the possibility of getting banned at any second? Which is a terrifying reality! They often go on banning sprees and enforce random things. I wish they had better communication with us, But for now, that's just how it is.
appetite-1238569_960_720.jpg

??????

I can't specify what it is exactly. But I'm also involved in another, Not well-known program similar to Merch. That allows me to expand my products on Amazon. We are talking thousands of products here! So I'm doing my best to leverage this one too.

My Personal Life

I want to hike more, Go outside, Travel. I also want to start going on the occasional date. I also would like to lose some weight. Sometimes with my whole work life, and my endless supply of projects I forget that I also need to build up my personal life too. I am also still learning how to drive, Which I've been dedicating 1-2 hours to each day since I got my car. I'm not learning as fast as some people when it comes to driving; I think this is something that isn't natural to me. So I'm trying to get as much help with it as I can get. So I can easily go on more hikes and such.
kid-2605810_960_720.jpg

Coloring Books

I'm really sad I haven't published a new coloring book since January, But my other business things have been paying off well. I also have been coming up with ways to make shirts AND coloring pages at the same time. Making it easy for me to do a mix of both.

Hiring People

I've been outsourcing designs, And editing designs to freelancers to help me have more time here on Steemit. I hope to eventually find more programs and maybe some Shirt generators so I can make thousands of simple designs easily.

Reevaluating My Goals

One way to decide really what things I want to pursue is by reevaluating the result here, What do I want from all of these things?
What is my goal?
It's getting easier to decide as time goes on Because I have a set amount I want to make per month. Etc. That would allow me to live a comfortable life.
I'm also deciding what an "ideal" day means to me, And what I need to do to accomplish that.

Do you struggle with the abundance of great opportunities? What do you do about it?

Sort:  

It can definitely be hard to decide on what to pursue, what is the best opportunity and how much time and effort to put into each.

Steemit of course seems like one of the best, as is getting your merch out there and are 2 big opportunities you need to hold onto.

Your personal life should also be a priority. Get out and do extra with your life like your hiking and goals (I just impulse went on a 2 hour walk today both for getting fit and because of Steemit), though I don't think you need to lose weight :) but I understand it is your goal and desire!

Your re-evaluating of life sounds to be helping that's for sure and it is inspiring to me and others to want to do it ourselves! Hehe

Right? I think Steemit will be best for the long run! But for short term bill paying, Merch helps a lot.

I definitely tend to overwhelm myself most of the time.. seems like everytime I finally getting somewhere good, I shoot myself in the foot. Steemit has given me hope I can maintain it and work hard. I'm so excited that it exists and I feel like I have a chance to succeed :) your articles inspire me @kaylinart ! You are the proof I need to continue my journey here. If it weren't for the people I see before me being passionate and creating while making a living then I would have no reason to stay ... so THANKYOU 🌞🌎🌹. One foot in front of the other right ? We need to stay focused ! As for the hiking , go go go! It brings so much peace as well as internal answers ! It funny u mention the hiking piece because my dad and I just got back from a week trip in the adirondack mountains ! It was amazing :) I actually posted about it and I thought you would enjoy the experience . Feel free to check it out! Anyway thankyou for being you @kaylinart!

Hello @kaylinart

I don't believe that we should struggle when we have vast amounts of opportunities.

We have been programmed by society of the need to niche ourselves and this have affected our mentality, there are always people in the world who are multi-talented and it is obvious you are one of them.

My advice to you is don't put limit on your creativity always let it express itself, you never can tell where it might lead you, my quest for creativity and knowledge led me to Steemit and I am very glad I chose to embark on that journey.

When it comes to building a personal brand on Steemit, just focus on doing good, you will get it right. The most valuable form of resource on earth is not money, it is people and when you connect with people it will bring you amazing opportunites both online and offline.

@ogochukwu

this statement rings very true for me! Just keep doing GOOD, keep doing what you LOVE, keep doing what is FUN, what makes your spirit soar! I like to operate on the basis of whims which is all very well but every now and then a whim takes you down a route to commitment which then blocks other whims, so its all a balancing act. Just so long as we remember what an incredible position of freedom we are in because it is not the same for everybody. No need to feel guilty, only GRATITUDE because you have the opportunity to experience one of the ultimate pinnacles of humanities striving: freedom! So don't let all the possibilities stress you out or overwhelm you, and don't allow yourself to be caught in traps of expectation either! This moment is perfect, and like Oguchukwu said; let your creativity express itself! Peace and Love x Basil

Oh Kaylin, this is a dilemma indeed. Me and my business mentor call each other out on this all the time. Our rule is only two businesses at a time, plus social life.

We live in a great time where the probably is too many opportunities as opposed to not any.

P.S. - if you are around at 4pm EST today (1pm your time?) come and listen to me on the Music and Money show on MSP Waves Radio. I always drop a good financial quick tip of the week :-) http://mspwaves.com/home/listen/

Yeah I know the feeling. It so much you can do. Not only time is a limiting factor, sometimes it is energy as well (especially if you have to work 8 hours a day). Doing something amazing 14 hours a day does not work. It is very hard to set the priorities right because you could miss out on something. Whats more important - doing sport or be creative etc.
I struggle with this kind of questions every day. My "solution" is to think about every new activity some days or weeks before I start. When I'm still want to do it, than I maybe should try it and therefore spend less time on some of my regular activities.
It is important to notice that goals and interests change over time. Thats normal and nothing to worry about.

Hello @thecoach

There is a saying i came across, i did not really understand what it meant till i started working on my dreams.

Dreams are not what you see while you sleep, they are those things that keep you from sleeping.

When you start working on your dreams, you will suddenly have all the strenght and energy you need.

But just like you said things change so you have to refine your goals and interest overtime.

@ogochukwu

Nice saying very true sometimes!

Just loved your Cactuar profile pic =D!

Hehe yes! Pls don't kill me for XP =)
I'm no big FF player but Cactuar is cute!

this is very usefull article. thank for share

Wow my friend, you are stretched so thin! I hope you find the time for you most importantly. Maybe take the weekends for yourself? Also, why does amazon random ban people without communicating first, maybe they should hire you, would you want to work for them?

Side Note you always choose the best cover photo. Today, rhebone of yourself is the most beautiful!!
Proud of you!

I've been spending most of mine time on steemit since I sing in, I'm really glad about it, but on the other hand sometimes I think I could produce even more if I was doing others things in order to enjoy more.

but I understand this feeling of I could be building something way bigger if I invest more time in there I do believe I should keep some focus at others activites too. I'm also willing to lose some weight, not sure about what should I do, but that's a personal goal to me either.

of one thing I'm sure struggling with the abundance of opportunities is way better than by the lack of it =D

You've pretty much nailed an online entrepreneur's dilemma - that of wanting to pursue everything!

But even though I am on Steemit more than half my day on most days, It never feels like enough.

Actually it could be different for different people. Being an early adopter you're justified in spending a lot of time. But for more recent joinees who also say the same thing, I am not sure whether sacrificing so much time in lieu of other things that they could be doing is really worth it. A cardinal rule for me has always been spend 80% of time doing 20% of those things that are most lucrative.

But of course, there is a catch 22 with that one.

I wrote a comment about this in your previous post. The risk is indeed high especially if it is your main income - not just with Amazon but with other similar platforms as well e.g. Etsy POD. The owners of those platforms call the shots and try to minimize their own risks by closing down accounts at the slightest whiff of doubt - even if it is unfounded.

The best thing to do is to diversify across platforms and if possible, create your own site. If you have your own site, you have most things under control - almost everything actually, except traffic, and traffic can be bought. The good thing is that the same designs can be uploaded at multiple sites.

I am also still learning how to drive, Which I've been dedicating 1-2 hours to each day since I got my car.

If it is available in your area, learn on a simulator. It will cut down your learning curve and also equip you to handle emergencies with ease.

I hope to eventually find more programs and maybe some Shirt generators so I can make thousands of simple designs easily.

The easiest and fastest way to go about it is to create designs on apps like the Over app. If you're on a high tier, you will need to outsource your design creation.

One way to decide really what things I want to pursue is by reevaluating the result here

When you get down to evaluation, take into consideration the 80:20 rule. It will help you set up your priorities.

@kaylinart I wish I could be with you to help you with your driving. Since I am not there to help you with that, then I can help and support you the next best way I can by consistently showing up here everyday on STEEMIT and Up Voting what I consider some of the BEST Content on Steemit. Your whole life is going to be wonderful because you are on STEEMIT at the Beginning......

Aww thank you! I wish you could too! It's been a scary thing to learn haha.

Thank You fine Lady for being my Friend and for your interaction and kindness here on Steemit......

Wow, a very touching life story, maybe we'll be very happy if steemit goes ahead. Many ways we can do here. @kaylinart

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43