The Deeper Meaning Behind My Painting (My Last Suicide Attempt)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Here are more photos of the painting I did for holoz0r Art contest as a tribute to @Lauralemons

It makes me sad that I didn't paint this while she was here! It's something I've thought about. I feel like she would have liked it, Especially because many of her paintings were also very dark.
12 - w7rrxfe.jpg

The Eyes are white because I went blind

Literally. After a whole bottle of Allergy medicine, I went blind. I couldn't see anything. And that's when the real horror set in, That I may not ever get my vision back if I survive this. I started frantically texting the guy I was dating at the time, But I couldn't even see the screen. He couldn't figure out what I was saying, Which scared him more.
I was sending stuff like this

ujurkck ldspepptre

dfjdjdk dl;kfd;ls eirespksmcmv dskwiyitiit mclmcsmmcds

euuerikof dstheslsv

It was pretty bad, When I could see again, and I saw the messages I was shocked. I thought I knew my keyboard well enough to send messages that were at least somewhat understandable. This is when the real panic set it, I kept wiping my eyes, And touching them. As a way to try and bring my vision back, But those efforts failed. I was blind for 4 hours.

There Is Blood Coming from My Mouth, From Puking

This is probably what saved my life, Is I started puking a ton after taking all the pills. I even had whole pills coming back up. I don't know if I was actually puking up blood, Or maybe the pills were broken down and I was just puking up a mess of pills. I have never felt sicker in my life, (For Obvious reasons)

It's amazing how mentally you can want to die so much, But in the end, your body WILL fight back just to survive.

I Tried to Sleep

Allergy medicine makes me drowsy, That's one of the reasons I picked it. I was hoping I could just take all the pills and die in my sleep. Easy.
Even though I went in and out of consciousness, I wasn't able to fall asleep, and I felt incredibly agitated. And kept twitching and moving.

6 - y5Gkgdl.jpg

The Allergy Pills

That was the only medication I "somewhat" needed at all times. I have a rare condition that makes me allergic to anything cold. If I'm out in the rain, Snow or if I just get too cold, Hives could start up. My throat swells up a bit when I eat Ice cream or any cold things.

Of all "suicide" Methods, I picked the one thing I NEED in my life. My allergy medicine has saved my life countless times when the swelling gets out of control. And yet I tried to use it to end my life. That shows how rational my thinking was.

The consequences

Now every time I have to take my allergy medicine for my hives, I immediately start to gag when I take the pills. I've gotten to the point I can handle taking them again, But for a while, my body would completely reject it, and I would throw up after taking the normal dose of 1 or 2.
That just shows how much our bodies try to protect us!
3 - LamSGlt.jpg

The Blue Background

Also, is referencing my rare allergy, I'm allergic to the cold. Blue is thought of to be a "cold" color. Also, it represents sadness.

The tree in the background

I felt like I needed to include my love for nature somewhere in the painting, and my potential future if I was successful in my attempt. Which would probably be in a cemetery somewhere? (Even though that's not what I would have wanted).
I also masked it in blue, As a way of separating myself from it. Because I was not around nature at that time.

Stuff I was going to include but didn't

My work keys:
At this time I was working my two jobs. And I loved my jobs and my supervisors. The funny thing is, I desperately didn't want anyone to know what I was doing. I was afraid if my supervisors at my job found out, They'd think less of me. That was a real fear I had before I did that. Which is odd really.

Medical Stuff :
But I was led to this point because my life had gotten so imbalanced. I was working over 12 hours a day. To pay medical bills from my appendix removal. I didn't have insurance. And the thought of being in debt every day was torture. I got in this much debt at the age of 18. This just shows how much work the U.S. Healthcare system needs. It failed me, And It failed Laura 10x more.

Also living around toxic people didn't help my situation. I always felt like crap about myself and lost my desire to live life, Because it seemed as though the hard things in my life, Would never go away.
But it eventually did. And I'm glad I'm still here.

()U5dsPutnTkgsKTGGvXZgkVLbedrFVim_1680x8400.pngU5du6Tg4LRagCMftytdJokqaJrouYou_1680x8400 (1).pngU5dszFNSZhy2tgQ1W7xAikndfzLTAFv_1680x8400.pngU5dsNpZzTkSdUzcjVGTR3RdFY1SBMmJ_1680x8400.png
Laura lemonss hehehe.png

Sort:  

Being able to share this must have been tough, but felt good to know you have the support of the Steemit community behind you!

You have captured each element of your battle well and helped us understand more about you and your life and we are here with you all the time, no matter the good and bad. <3

This must have been so difficult for you to write. The art itself speaks volumes.I am happy you shared this with us, the community that supports you. This means you are healing and have found a peace within. Promise you will reach out if you need us...

Thank you so much :) don't worry I will :)

Hi @kaylinart, This post made me sad. However, I am happy that you survived and are playing your important role for the betterment of the Steemit community. We love you and want you stay happy always. You're not alone.

Steem On!

Your loyal fan!

I'm glad too :) Thank you for all your support hehe.

It's unconditional. ;)

We're glad you're still here too :)
I probably wasn't going to win anyway. There's some real quality entries coming in.

Aww :( you might!! Hehe Thats good that there are good entries coming in! Laura deserves it <3

I should crown you the winner just for your ego's sake. Nah, I won't be doing that. :)

I would be so sad to lose you as a friend. Glad you are doing better, and pray you continue to do so!

Thank you :) I am much better! Hopefully it will help inspire others to get out of what they are struggling with.

Omg so cool and dark, I love it

This post received a 2.11% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @kaylinart! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

This is amazing with all of the context.

Taken just on it's own it is a lovely piece of art. But with all of the background you provided, it is stunning.
I'm guessing the pink pills refer to a certain over the counter allergy medication that also has a drowsing effect? I was actually told by a doctor to take these as a first step in tackling anxiety induced insomnia.

Thank you for sharing!

Thank you :) Yes!! Benedryll!
Really? Anxiety induced? I feel like they cause anxiety for me.

Well I can see why it causes you anxiety now, but did it always?

To be fair, they were primarily dealing with the effects of the insomnia and trying to avoid putting me on prescription sleep medications. In the end the benedryll did not help with the insomnia and I ended up needing those prescription meds after all. That was a tough go, and there is a post in there when I feel brave enough to write it.

Is that particular allergy relief the only thing that works for you? None of the other non-pink pills like clarritan or zyrtec do the trick? Could you switch to the liquid without the anxiety and gag setting in? That's got to be tough for something you need to get through your day!

awww :( I'm so glad you are still here too!

Thank you for sharing your story, and I'm so sorry that you went through that. At our lowest lows, it is easy to get swallowed by darkness. Sometimes we just need a little light in the tunnel to see it. Surround yourself by love, give love and be loved. Sending you some right now! :)

I love your page ❤❤

Follow me for weed and hash post 😉🍁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.53
ETH 3316.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70