BoldspiritTravels on a budget: A little bit of scuba-diving. 😅 [Solo backpacking on a budget in Latin America]

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Good morning dear travelers!

My adventure with scuba-diving took place in Colombia, in its Caribbean part. One of the biggest advantages? It was affordable, especially when compared with some other parts of the world. So if only you want to try it I would highly recommend Colombia or Honduras, at least in terms of money involved. ;)

turtle.jpg
I just adore this photo. It's so funny! The turtle seems to be thinking "Gosh, those humans are sooo lame." 😂 source

To me and to most of the people who tried it, scuba-diving is about making the connection with the underwater world, experiencing its beauty. Enjoying the fact that you are able to breathe while being in the water, all against human nature. And most importantly, each dive brings you new opportunity to observe wildlife and its variety. I would love more people to be able to experience it, especially those who are not too environmentally conscious - chances are that they would earn more respect to Mother Nature and to the environment as a whole.

Other members of my diving team and I, we were not the luckiest ever - the water wasn’t very clear, we didn’t see rare or extraordinary species. But I was completely fine with that. It was the experience, a new skill, a new adventure that counted the most. I couldn’t be disappointed because my expectations were low. 🙂 I am far from being a hunter that travels the world in pursuit of a next“rare species”. No, that last sentence was an exaggeration. 😉

I don’t own a GoPro myself, so below you can see some of the best photos made by my instructor. And by saying “the best” I wanted to be sarcastic.;) What can I do about it? Buy GoPro, I guess. 😂 I saw some exquisite films, it is unbelievable how rapidly the technology is developing. All the details visible so clearly and effortless. Anyway, owning a GoPro is one of my dreams for quite some time now, so I hope I will make it true this year. 👍🏻 😅

2.jpg

3.jpg

I was able to scuba-dive for three consecutive days. This is how long it took to finish PADI Open Water Certificate. We were departing from the shore early in the morning, so in my hostel, I was the only person awaken, thus I was eaten my breakfast on a terrasse with sea view alone. Me and the silence. We were spending most of the day, until the late afternoon, on the boat, underwater or on a small deserted Island, where we were resting in between the dives. I remember already having fun being on the boat that was rushing through the waves. Yes, small things make me happy. 😅

4.jpg

5.jpg

Thank you for being here with me. I hope until next time!
Pura Vida and enjoy your journey! 💛

  • Some of my stories and recommendations:

🍀 Boldspirit and the death road - la ruta de la muerte - Bolivia # 1 and # 2
🍀 A source of inspiration: Gertrude Bell – a female adventurer [#1] and # 2
🍀 TED – the amazing world of "ideas worth spreading".
🍀 Would you consider adopting a dog?

Sort:  

Wow! This is awesome! Posts like this allow me to travel the world vicariously through others! :) Scuba diving is absolutely on my bucket list and I can't wait to get certified! Maybe this summer, we will see! :)

As always, amazing post! :)

greetings, k-a-s-i-a
I personally i love adventure too, much. But indeed your scuba diving was very interesting and owe some as well, i have loved the way you expressed all what you experienced and that has also given me interest to try it one time
Thanks for your post please.

Las fotos están excelentes, tomadas además en el ángulo perfecto, le felicito, saludos.

Yes it's great adventure

hello, i like this post, i voted for you, i have followed you, hihi you, i have a private blog about coffee in steemit, maybe you like, i will share your opinion You will know there are many good things about my coffee blog, follow me, and vote for me, thank you, make a funny steemit.

Is that a real turtle! And that huge jelly fish! Why everything is giant at that place :P Seriously I would freak out by seeing that jelly fish. I didnt had any bad experience yet, but I hear scary stories about it.
Lovely photos, I am sure that you had a great experience :)

a very beautiful underwater world in colombia.with a very beautiful coral reef, I loved it.have a nice day with diving under the sea. Thanks

great pics as usual ^_^ 😍

Those photos are still better than having no photos at all!

hahaha yeah he really does look like he's thinking "Gosh, those humans are sooo lame."

Or something like "scuba diving is SO 2007, I'm over it already."

What a great adventure you had! Hope you can get your GoPro this year 😄 So you can have more photos to share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63566.44
ETH 2483.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67