A few thoughts of sport motorcycles' passenger. 😅

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys!
I hope you are all good! :)

1.jpg

Sunday. I was writing a post about motorcycles when my laptop decided that it needed some artificial ventilation.

I had to clean it, uninstall and reinstall programs in order to be able to work. After first year my laptop refused to cooperate. The same happened at the end of the second year. Because I had a 2-year guarantee so I sent it once again to the professionals. They fixed one problem but didn’t neglect to create another! They reinstalled the system and made a new partition of my discs (please forgive me if I’m confusing the terms 😅). They sent me back my computer with 500 GB in disc D: and... 20 Gb in disc C:!! which is crazy! To add insult to injury I didn’t realize it at first. Those things can be really frustrating, especially to those of us who are not too into IT. 😅 I’m sure I’m not the only one who thinks that way.

But! Let me come back to what I wanted to write about today! :)

After a post about my last day in Cali, I started to think about motorcycles and my relationship with them.
Somehow some important men in my life were always riding motos. They were confident, with bigger acceptance to danger and higher need of adrenaline. On the other hand, they remained calm in stressful situations. And yes, those features were (are?) attractive to me.

I think I will never need to drive one myself. But that being said I do enjoy the speed and some kind of freedom that the motorcycle can give you. To me, it was never about the speed. The most challenging thing was entering into curves. That is constantly making my heart and stomach jumping into my throat! At the same time, it is exciting, just like in a huge rollercoaster. Nevertheless, I will never ride with someone who I do not fully trust.

2.jpg
At the airport in Cali, Colombia (with 18 kg backpack on my back)

I still think that riding motorcycles is extremely dangerous. And it’s not only because of the driver’s lack of skills, technique or experience. In my opinion, at least half of the problems are caused by car drivers who do not pay attention to what’s happening on the road! They use phones without Bluetooth so they drive using only one hand. They get too comfortable on the streets they know and get distracted easily.

I would suspect that another problem arises in those regions where the use of the moto/scooter is seasonal due to the weather conditions. In Poland, for example, the number of people using motos (scooters) is much smaller than in Span or Italy. It’s pretty natural if take into account that in some regions you can ride it only for a half of the year or even less. It leads to a situation that the car drivers are not so accustomed to the presence of their two-wheel friends.
Obviously, all this becomes irrelevant without a proper infrastructure.

I don’t want to have a motorcycle. But... I do consider scooters. 😅 “Vespa” for instance has a charming design and seems a perfect idea as an alternative to a car in a crowded city. What do you think? Any suggestions? :)
And I am curious how the situation of moto/scooter riders looks like in your countries.

3.jpg
source
maybe one day I could afford this little baby!

Thank you for being here with me. I hope until next time!
Pura Vida and enjoy your journey! 💛

Sort:  

I was biking in SEA last year and it was the most enjoyable way to travel. If I get my finances straight again, I will bike in South America too, challenging as it is. And yeah, can confirm, the car drivers are creating most problems, especially trucks (I hate those things). And other bikers, too. And pedestrians as well. Come to think of it, everybody is an asshole on the road, that's how it is...

everybody is an asshole on the road,

haha :) i keep my fingers crossed for your projects for SA :)

Great crash helmet! Hjc Rpha-10 right? Have the same one!

I wish i could tell you. But the helmet wasn't mine :) nonetheless i know it is a professional type ;) for racing if i remember well 😅

You remember well! It is a helmet that Jorge Lorenzo had while he was still riding for Yamaha in motoGP. It's nice to see that your friends care for you so much they share their best equipment with you! Keep riding with them. :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

I'm glad you enjoy your rides and I'm sure it's really 'easy rider' like, but myself am a bit scared of motorcycles. Don't know a friend of mine who has a motorcycle and it wasnt in some kind of accident.

yes, as i've written it's dangerous. :( i hope your friend is fine!

Are not you afraid to travel on a motorcycle? It is not safe. But of course it is very profitable ;)

i wouldn't call it profitable ;) but i do enjoy the excitement :)

Traveling on a motorcycle is much cheaper than a car ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79