The BIG BANG!

in #life6 years ago

This is my dad's story of when he was 7 and a half years old as promised yesterday.

My name is Charlie and my best mate is Archibald called Archie. When I was a school boy way back in the early 1900's we wore grey shorts with a blazer no matter how hot the weather and we wore caps with tiny peaks that had to be raised to show respect.....up and down....up and down, smiling each time. 

Discipline was very strict and society expected and usually got good behaviour from children who were expected to be seen and NOT heard.

There was a retired major from the army in India who spoke in a "pompass" voice and shouted commands even though he was really old and his days in the army were long over.  He lived in our neighbourhood. We longed to really pay him back for all the times he got us into trouble at school, with our parents..........He was a thoroughly horrible person. Even his wife was scared of him.

We collected gun powder.

Fireworks in those days, over 100 years ago, were made by the Chinese and they had no rules or regulations. They sold big, I mean absolutely enormous squibs that we loved! The BANG that they gave delighted Archie and me and we decided to collect the gunpowder from inside them and make our own even bigger BANG.

So we did. Every time we exploded one we kept one. At the end of celebrating Guy Fawkes day ..... he was a cool British guy who on the 5th of November  was arrested while planning to blow up the government..............but it didn't happen and somehow it turned into a day when everyone has fun letting off squibs and rockets in memory of him. A confusing thing altogether but fun anyway. My gran says it's a 'crying shame' and the money should be used 'more fruitfully'. Don't know about that 'cos we get lots of fruit anyway from our own trees!

So Arch and me, or should it be me and Arch? Who cares? So anyway.........we collected 37 Big bangs and often looked at them in wonder, wondering what we should do with them. We just knew that we wanted to give mean old Major Worthington Smythe the biggest Big bang fright of his life. The 5th of November that particular year passed and we almost forgot the 37 squibs in the red cardboard box underneath Archie's bed. 

[squibs.png](https://postimg.cc/XBLVM2VT)

Image Source

Christmas came and I got a rolled up map that had been posted to me from my uncle in England. It came in a thick hard cardboard tube to protect it on its long journey on the ship to my house. As soon as I saw it I was reminded of the super squib Archie and I wanted to make so I kept it under my bed in my Nan's old leather suitcase with all the labels on it.

As birthdays came and went November rolled round again and the Chinese shop advertised new improved rockets and a million little squibs all joined together. They looked almost like knitting. .....fire crackers they were called and popped and crackled continuously for about 2 minutes....anyhow I was reminded of our plan to make our big bomb and I hauled my cardboard tube over to Archie's house. 

With a saw in his dad's garage we managed bit by bit to cut it to about a foot in height. any longer and it wobbled. Then in secrecy behind the hen hock with them chickens gently murmuring as they scratched in the dust, we made our secret weapon. We emptied all the grey gunpowder from the 37 Big Bang squibs into this cylinder and with our pocket money bought 12 more to fill it up. We stuffed brown paper in the top space and twisted it into a big wick. We bought our own box of Lion matches for a penny and kept it all hidden under Archie's bed.

The day arrived.

It was that death period on a Sunday afternoon when everyone had an afternoon nap. It was a deeply depressing, most boring time of the week. In the heat we escaped from our beds where we were expected to read a book for an hour. With the stealth of trained burglars we carried our weapon in its brown paper packet from tree to tree up the road, round two corners to the Major's house. We hid in his big garden wild with huge bushes and trees everywhere. We 'cased' the joint!

Originally we were going to put it on the veranda steps but when we crept onto it, a side door was open a fraction and as the house was dead quiet, we pushed it open and with hearts hammering away a million beats per minute we , can you believe this, put it in the middle of a table. We looked at each other with horror and delight...........our plan for over a year was going to happen........we lit the fuse and RAN.

We were somehow wise enough to scramble through the hedge and lie in the deep ditch for storm water on the far side of the house but close enough to observe. After a minute with our breath getting back to almost normal we thought for a moment that we had failed but then........

KAPOW KABOOM!

Image Source

The whole world seemed to explode! The room where we had placed our 'squib' lit up like one enormous fire rocket and we were terrified beyond all imagination. We saw shards of pretty glass from the top part of the door shoot outwards onto the veranda. 

Our overwhelmed bodies were drained of all feeling and we melted helplessly into the long grass of the ditch. Fortunately for us we simply could not move and as two small boys we were well hidden. 

The front door burst open with a huge bang and Major Worthington Smythe shot out onto his front lawn with his sword from his army parade days drawn, its cruel, shining tip glinting in the late afternoon sunshine. He brandished it furiously, red faced and sweating like an athlete. He was puffed up with ANGER like a mad dog and our eyes rolled in our heads with terror and guilt as he plunged the sword into all the bushes screeching "come out you varmints.......I'll get you you monstrous conniptions!"

As the gardener organised the hosepipe and the HooHah was at its peak we began to slither like the reptiles we were, down the ditch until we were out of sight round the corner. We got up and ran, tears and snot streaming, terror and the ghastly thrill of what we had done, threatening to burst our bony young chests.

Somehow we were back on our beds in Archie's house when the phone rang and we heard the serious conversation and exclamations of indignation coming from his dad's study. The news of the disaster swept around the town. Everyone was amazed that no one was arrested for the ghastly crime. 'Bully boys', a gang from the poor side of town were mentioned ...... We held our terrified breaths.......

 We had had the sense to wash our faces and change our shirts so when Archie's mother came into Archie's bedroom, she assumed, dear sweet unsuspecting lady, that some other 'varmints' had perpetrated this vile deed and not her own dear little boy and his evil friend.

Later that week we were dressed in our grey shorts, blazers and caps quietly doing some shopping with Archie's mother when we were confronted by the Major. He should have been able to hear our hearts thundering but he gave us a brief glance, curtly said 'boys,' and turned his oily charm and unwelcome attention on Archie's mother so that she squirmed in embarrassment. She hurried us home. We had obediently raised our little caps like the polite, well brought up boys we weren't and murmured 'good afternoon Major,' our eyes glued on our shoes.

We kept that secret for years, too terrified of the very real consequences if we were ever found out. We were quite sure it would have included jail time. As we grew into responsible men of the town we were so ashamed that the guilt kept us silent even between ourselves.  It was almost as though it had never happened.

When my dad finished telling me this incredible story he hugged me so tightly I could feel his sorrow and remorse over what he and his friend had done. I patted his back to tell him it was okay.

All my life I have kept his advice in mind.........

"Consider carefully the danger you might be inflicting on others and especially the serious consequences of one's actions." I somehow felt that being on MY best behaviour could help make up for the terrible deed he and Charlie perpetrated that long ago day.

Somehow I've never enjoyed anything involving BIG BANG noises, even the starter gun at the beginning of a race.

I took up tennis instead.


Sort:  

Great story. I found these lines hillarious

the money should be used 'more fruitfully'. Don't know about that 'cos we get lots of fruit anyway from our own trees!

You have depicted a believable child voice and the golf that separate children and adult's vision of the world.

I learned a new word: conniption! Had not seen it before :)
I hate most crackers, rockets, whatever they call them. If they are smooth (quiet) and colorful I may tolerate them, but I go crazy with noise. Have never seen the point of it and with so many freak accidents happening every year it is beyond me that people keep falling for them.
But again, it goes back to the childish idea of fun and the obliviousness of danger and consequences.
Great job.

Your grasp of exactly what I was trying to portray makes my heart sing. I'm going to 'check you out' Hlezama.
A man to watch I'm sure.
Yes, fireworks are actually banned on the south coast of KZN in South Africa but on high days and holidays people simply ignore the edict and frighten people and especially birds and animals in a shameful way.
Thank you so much for your in depth comment. I've not had too many in the three months that I've been busy on steemit.
Do you have any advice for me as a writer who is committed to this writing platform?

Well, I don't know if I am the best person to provide advice here, given the fact that I have not been able to follow most of what has been given to me, but I can forward it to you.

First of all, I checked your blog and I found it delightful. It is a real pity it has not received more interaction in the comment section (the sad thing about the trails, we get lots of votes but noone is actually reading or interacting). You seem to have a solid support, votewise, that's a plus. Some of us had to struggle for over 6 months to get 10 votes or more, worth 0.005 :)

I think that the main source of interaction comes from the comments section, although most people in the platform favors the Discord. I do almost no Discord interaction (my thing with noise comes back to me, I guess; i find it overwhelming). In any case, in the writing communities on the Discord people usually find their faithful followers who will comment, challenge, invite, and do all kinds of referrals to mutually support their projects.

Some Discord channels allow us to just drop a post and offer it for that community to look at it and see if they want to stop by and comment. Others are more picky and demand certain interaction first before the system allows you to drop a post.

Contests and challenges are another surce of close interaction. In those forums, people usually actually read and analyze each other's work.

You can also try organizing your own contests or challenges, offering some prizes or some kind of incentive that may call some followers to more actively interact with you.

But regardless of the result in those forums, I think you have a great blog, one that deserves all our attention and a wonderful writing style. Your stories are compelling, heartwarming, and thougtht-provoking. You report from a part of the world that still bears mystery and exoticism for most of us and your view is quite evocative, sensitive, and friendly.

I'm blown away by your thoughtful, kind and motivating advice. I love that you are also sometimes baffled by what comes your way! So, I'm not alone.
I am impressed by the number of votes that I quite often get but still wonder 'what happened'? by the few that had low scores.
My one daughter is fond of saying 'it is what it is,' and I have to agree.
Best of all I have made a contact with you and a couple of others who are encouraging me. With a lifetime of teaching behind me I'm not going anywhere except on to the next post.
Thanks a million for being so friendly and making me feel that it is not just a big black hole out there!
Please keep in touch.

Thank YOU. My pleasure

A great and entertaining story with a nice life lesson included. Nice to see it had a good effect on your own values.

The awfulness of that story has never dimmed with time.
Kids will experiment and take chances and sadly the thrill of the escapade often takes them into places they deeply regret when their records are blemished forever. As a grandparent I find myself praying for their safety and common sense to prevail. I know my grandparents did the same for me!
Thank you for your encouraging support.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I am honoured...........thank you.

Hi justjoy,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you. I am DELIGHTED.

Congratulations @justjoy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you. You help keep me motivated.

Brilliant and nostalgic story of a time of innocence that seems lost.
Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for 'getting' what those two boys were actually up to. They were innocent with DIRE results. My dad was a great guy who could enter into the fun of a thing with great gusto..........and yet as a kid he blew up a part of someone's house!
I love talking to kids and hearing their life hopes and especially their dreams. Many of them would secretly like to blow something up!
Thank you for your great comment.

What a fabulous story @justjoy, you told it brilliantly! Your closing line was the cherry on the cake ;);)
Congratulations on the @curie upvote, well deserved!

Would you mind explaining the Curie upvote Lizelle?
I doubt that all those people actually read my post! I did appreciate it.

Was just looking back at some of the people who I helped with delegations to see how they were doing and noticed your question about Curie. All those votes come from a "vote trail". That is people who make sure to vote on everything that Curie votes on. So more then likely most didn't ever even look at your post, but they know if the Curie curators selected your work it's quality and they want to support it.

Keep up the good work!

Great to hear from you again darkhorse.
If I'm not mistaken you gave me advice re my wallet some time back and I wonder if I could ask you to advise me again. (I son't actually know how to find that comment again!)
I was rather mystified by the SP story but feel that I'm ready to try to take some positive action now.
I really do appreciate your connection as I'm gaining a little confidence on this Steemit journey. I look forward to hearing from you again.
Thanks in advance!

Yes I was the one that helped you out. You can look on this post at the comments. If there is something else you need help with just ask and I'll be happy to help.

Howdy from Texas justjoy! haha, what a great story and wonderfully told, I was reliving it, those boys were brave! lol. Thanks for a very entertaining post.

Love the 'Howdy'.
In my local African language I would say 'Sawubona' which means 'I see you.'
You sound so cheerful and enthusiastic. Thank you for visiting.

Sawubona justjoy! lol.. it's good to hear back from you and thank you for the kind words, yes I tend to be full of joy, someone nicknamed me "janton the joyous!" lol.

Hey oh joy full one! You have a delightful light touch in a world that is often depressing!
Janton the joyous..........LOVE THAT!
I'm following you so will 'see you' in the future.
Keep writing.

Howdy justjoy! talk about great usernames! You can't beat yours! I will keep writing but now I'm self conscious because I think I saw that you were an English teacher. Great...I don't much like using proper grammer, it's more like the way I talk in my country redneck way! lol.
Nevertheless, thank you so much for the encouragement and kind words. I don't know if you know him but the great davemmcoy is the one who gave me that nickname.

I see that you are in South Africa? So many serious problems there, I've been reading about them through the posting of South African steemians. I hope you are in a stable area.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82