GRANNY, THE CRANBERRIES, AND DEATH | Self-Improvement Challenge - Every Friday's Pause for Thought #Week 3

in #life6 years ago

Death is inevitable, constant, and something that everyone must claim when their time has come. Aren't we still get used to that idea?

The goal of all life is death. - Sigmund Freud


Source

I attended my grandma's funeral last Sunday and the scenario was common - every corner was with filled sadness and stories of how my grandma lived her life. My aunts and cousins did shed tears, some wailed and uttered some remorse and asked why.

It did touch me while watching them, however I couldn't roll tears on my cheek not because of the stereotype that men should not cry, but perhaps because I did not really spend a lot of time with my grandma when she was still alive. Or maybe I'm realist, I always think that there's nothing we can do - that's life. Death is the ultimate goal to all of us. Or maybe because I had that sensible feeling that at last she could rest after suffering from some illnesses due to old age.

Thereby, I realized one important thing and that is valuing someone when one is still living. Shower the love and care to your loved ones while they are still existing in this physical world. Appreciate them even for the simplest thing they do for you. Give them importance while you still can. Be kind to them. You never know when are they going to be out of your sight forever.

My grandma had done a lot in her life for her family and more importantly to her God. She had immeasurable faith. She served in church most of the time. That alone made her life meaningful while she was alive. And I must say she had lived her life in a most fruitful way.


Source

Meanwhile, on the next day after my granny's burial, I read a news that my favorite female rock star, Dolores O'Riordan of The Cranberries had passed away. It made me surprised knowing that I listen to their songs since I was a kid. Her band was part of my childhood. Her sudden death reminded me, all at once, on how I lived my life during my innocent years.


Source

Looking back, I listened and sang along with a transistor radio while the song Zombie or Ode to My Family played. I scanned that tattered and stained songbook to check the lyrics of the song since it seemed to me that I was in gibberish singing it.

I had that inexplicable feeling reconnecting the years when I was a little boy, bittersweet. Those were the times when everything was so ordinary. It's endearing to reminisce.

Her music contributed much on my wonderful childhood memories.

Death is not the greatest loss in life. The greatest loss is what dies inside us while we live. - Normal Cousins

Well, Norman was just so right, death is not the greatest loss. The enormous loss is when a person dies and failing to share his innate talent to others or not knowing his purpose while he's still alive. I'm pretty sure granny and Dolores served their purpose meaningfully.

So long to both of you!


Source

This is my Week 3 of my Self-Improvement Challenge - Every Friday's Pause For Thought.

To check my Week 2, click here

Week 1 click here

To check the background of this challenge, click here

Sort:  

condolence bai..

sad week, but then again:

The goal of all life is death. - Sigmund Freud

Thank you @junebride!!! See you around.

Condolence @julsmlz . Didn't even know you are fighting this battle. If you need someone to talk to #TEAMLABANG is just right here. You are indeed true that we should learn to appreciate and recognize our loved ones while they are still existing even in a the most simple way. I am so sure everything will be alright for your family. Be strong juls! :)

Thanks jann! Yup, so far so good! Kita kits early feb.

Condolence officemate :( :( Your grandma can rest now and she is in God's place. Anyway , if you want to talk to someone . I am available anytime . I am just one chat away .

Thank you officemate!!! See you one day hehehe!can’t come sa sinulog..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51