My 6yr Old Daughters Debut Music Video and Original SongsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

A little story about how this song came to be:

So this song got started 2 years ago when Violet was 4. I had this instrumental I was making (for myself) and she came in
my office where I was playing it, and started dancing and singing. I asked her if she'd like to record some singing on the mic, and she did a few takes right there.

After about 15 minutes she was done with recording time and went back to playing. I went through the takes, looking for any catchy melodies or rhythms and found the hook & Pre-hook. "It's my favorite day"...Few hours later, with some pitch shifts, time splices, rearrangements, etc she had a catchy hook and pre-hook.

I played it for her the next day on her way to daycare, and she loved it so much, BUT we never went back and finished the song with verses :(....2 years later, I was going through my old computer where this song was, and asked her if she wanted to finish it..so about an hour later, we finished the song and then I started planning out the music video. We shot it the next day, and I edited that night.

The first edit was just her at her current age, and I felt like something was missing, so I went through my harddrive that has a vault of old home movies and playtime videos we've made that I've never released. (over 400 days worth from 2012-2018, ranging from random cell phone videos, to multi hour playtimes with princesses from age 2-6. As I was scouring the random, unorganized folder of old videos, a bit of OCD hit me wanting them to be organized by day, so I could just pick a day and see what we did. Time became irrelevant, as I clicked, typed, dragged, click typed dragged, drag, click, click type type type type...you get the point. Like I said over 400 days of footage, and each one needing its own folder. So now I have 6 folders by year, and the rest by dates with some actually have small descriptions of what happened on that day, I started doing later on in my archival habits.

After a few more days of digging through old videos, I finally found ones that fit the vibe. Here is the result - Favorite Day Album Cover.jpg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I absolutely love this! I think the old clips are perfect. I am sure she is so very proud. She will have something to share with friends and family for a while. And treasured memories forever.
Best ever idea for a kids project.

I featured you in this weeks @pifc curation. here
Maybe you will get some more visitors and make some more new friends.

she is super sweet and free spirted... loved the video
came through @headchange from his curation post for @picf

This is excellent. Found your post through @headchange. I wasn't expecting a dance video with a catchy tune. Too fun and your daughter is adorable

Hi @jrice, as you know @headchange featured you in this week's @pifc' Pay It Forward Contest. The contests is designed to give exposure to those that need that little boost. We would love for you to check us out and join in.

This was adorable. I agree adding in the old footage was a great choice. She looks like she had an amazing time!

Your daughter is adorable and your video production is great! The mix and the beat sound professional. I am sure this video is something your daughter will treasure.

I came across your post through @headchange who featured it on her post as her entry for Pay it Forward Curation contest. It is a contest to feature and boot other users with good quality articles. You are welcome to join anytime.

This is so very sweet!! Thank you for sharing it :)

I found your post because @headchange featured you in our Pay it Forward Curation contest. We'd love to have you join us with an entry of your own next week too :)

Congratulations @jrice! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jrice! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38