Does life ever get easier?

in #life5 years ago

image

Several years ago, I was a teenager living with my elder sister and her family. One afternoon I had worked tirelessly all day and it's been like that every week, for years. I looked forward to being less stressed and burdened with work to do. I longed for a day when I would just wake up and have my day less hectic and in accordance with my plans and then in soliloquy, I asked myself when will work ever get finished? My sister's husband heard and called me. He said, "Joyce, as you go on in life, responsibilities don't decrease but rather they increase. You have to brace up.

Does life ever get easier? When just like an exam, you're excited that you've finished one difficult phase and could take a break from sleepless nights, burning the night's oil, only for you to get promoted to a new level to face a more difficult one. Is life all about stress and troubles?

Adulthood seems like the older you get, the tougher it gets. I remember always wishing I was an adult , thinking life was sweeter as an adult. I couldn't wait to grow up, to become independent, to make my own decisions and live my dreams. I wish I could turn back the hand of time and be a child again with less decisions to make, fewer expectations and less anticipation.

It seems that we are all trapped in this adulthood game. There's no easy way out and there's no turning back either. Don't cut down on your expectations. Just live your life one day at a time.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67