You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why "Fear" Is Not A Valid Excuse In Life.

in #life7 years ago

It could be that you boyfriend is experiencing major depression. To start with, major depression is not the same as 'my roommate kicked me out, the cat was run over, I failed a midterm and lost my left contact lens all in one day' depression. That is common depression. It usually has an identifiable cause or trigger and is self limiting in duration. Major depression is debilitating, in part, because there IS no 'cause' and the activities that are helpful with common depression, such as getting out more, exercise and setting simple goals, simply do not work. There are treatments and some even work.

The most unfortunate thing is that both major depression and common depression share the same name, depression, and exhibit some similar symptoms. Consequently almost everybody think they know what it is. Generally they do not. If major depression had a different name, say Rolstrom Syndrome or some-such, I suspect that people would tend to be less dismissive or judgmental.

So now what. If you were to investigate the subject, a recurring theme for the partner of the sufferer is to understand that you are entitled to take care of yourself first. Without doing that, you can be of little help to your partner. That may include going your separate ways. Oddly, if that is the best choice for you, it is likely that, in the long run, it may be best for him too. (That is getting into the whole co-dependency thing.)

Similarly, if he has other desirable attributes, then accepting him as he is can still provide a wonderful life. Many couples are happy despite the fact that one of them has a serious disability. It is more challenging with depression because the disease is invisible and the two of you experience the judgmental behaviors of others.

Loving somebody for what you hope that will be, rather than for what they are, is a well traveled path to being miserable – for both of you.

Sort:  

He's had problems with the depression in the past, But he told me that he passed it, Maybe not? To be honest I don't fully understand depression. I've tried to understand but it doesn't seem to stick. I always offered my support with whatever he needed. But based on this post, You can probably see I've somewhat neglected my own needs, Which is about to change.

Thank you for your insight on this, I'm okay with accepting & loving him how he is, But I want to see him contribute more. I guess only time will tell what will happen!

One of the more entertaining aspects of major depression is that it does not immunize you from getting depressed. Why? Because they are not the same animal. It is quite likely that he has been depressed and got over it. We all have but that has little to do with major depression.

I will not describe the criteria for diagnosing major depression. Many have done it much better than I could. You might want to do some googling if you have not done so already. Identify what is best for you which may be sticking or moving on.

No judgement here. With love, good luck.

Fear is not an excuse but it may be a symptom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20