"Why Should I Continue Steeming when I Don't Get Any Votes/Payouts?"

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever asked yourself this question?

I have.

I asked myself this after I saw a post which was a personal favourite of mine (https://steemit.com/photography/@joeylim/these-fragile-flower-beauties-i) having only five votes/a few cents' worth of rewards.

I asked myself this after I read a post by @slayerkm (https://steemit.com/photography/@slayerkm/wildlife-needs-no-colour) that had the most astounding wildlife pictures. These photos were honestly of a very high quality (so beautiful!), but only garnered 19 votes up til now, and roughly $3.

It's such a pity, I thought in my heart, that quality content sometimes go
unnnoticed,
unappreciated,
unrewarded.

Then the question creeps in ever so stealthily...
Should we then continue posting on Steem, or just give up?

mistake-876597_1920.jpg

But then, as soon as I asked myself this question, the answer comes.

I have simply been too focussed on the tangible - number of votes, amount of cryptocurrency payouts - and lost sight on the real reason why I post.

I have been too excited by the euphoria of seeing votes/payouts skyrocketing
and for a little while, forgotten the simple pleasure of sharing
in the hopes of brightening someone's day,
or being useful to others.

If we post
merely to earn money or to receive praise from others,
we will become discouraged once we do not receive them.
Very easily discouraged.

And we will quit, sooner or later.

I would just like to encourage all of you who may have been posting really good stuff on Steemit
to continue,
to keep Steeming.

The intrinsic worth of your posts are not determined solely by how many people upvoted them or how much you got from them.

It is much more than that.

You never know when what you shared
may make an impact on the life of someone else.

woman-591576_1920.jpg

Note: All images in this post are from Pixabay.

Sort:  

In the practical side of things.. That's why we need to have more curators. People who are expert in lurking for unassuming posts that actually has the greatest potential to go boom.

Everytime a writer goes sad due to unnoticed post, a curator somewhere had a heartache for lost opportunity.

Thank you for thinking that way. We create content for reasons greater than ourselves. It's afterall the reason why we migrate here from the larger social media. Once we are no longer net content consumer, we've won.

Please write more of your stuff. I'm so sorry I wasn't notified of your other posts because honestly I felt like I've missed out. You write really great stuff. Not to mention you're an amazing person yourself by the way you think and see this world.

@awesomianist, thank you very much for providing a practical angle to this! (: Indeed, the role of the curator is very important.

Thank you for your kind words! (:

No problems.. I just seem to write passionately when it comes to topics that hit close to my heart.

By the way, if you like to support me out. I'm running a "contest" over at

https://steemit.com/steemit/@awesomianist/asksteemit-what-s-one-thing-you-ve-realized-that-changed-how-you-think-forever-up-to-20-sbd-prize-pool

Hope you take a look and join in!

Sure @awesomianist, I will take a look and participate! (:

thank you, I was literally feeling that way for the first time today, all the friends that I have turned onto steemit are massively outperforming me, I started to feel that it's the wrong platform for me, and my work is not appreciated here, I'm glad I read this, I will give it more time

You're welcome @toonpunk! I understand how you feel, but let us continue and not give up (:

indeed. I feel more positive today x thank you

The idea of posting just to share, without worrying about rewards is great. But I don't look at low payouts as low. The $3 worth of Steem you get from a payout today will be worth $30 , $300, or maybe even $3,000 at some point in the future. Not to mention that a good post that didn't make much is out there on the net, will be read and appreciated by people not on Steemit yet, and will bring some of them into the community.

Thank you @kendewitt for reminding me of the growth potential of Steemit! (: I agree with you (:

Great post and so true. It's too easy to get caught up in the monetary aspects of posting. I came to Steemit because I had an urge to wake people up to the reality of our world not make fortunes. I got caught up after talking to friends in the earnings aspect, earned nothing, got demoralised, remembered why I came and got on with it. All in the last 2 weeks! I think it's best to chill, write your stuff and see what happens. Also take advice from the successful.

Yes I understand what you mean @tremendospercy! (: All the best to you too (:

Great to see another steemer from Singapore, @joeylim . I'm sure like compound interest, your good posts will pay off exponentially in the future.

Thank you @numpypython! (: I'm glad to meet a fellow Singaporean too (:

Your article describes me. I have been commenting more than writing until I feel more motivated. I'm learning but it's slow growing on this forum..

I love this post!

You talk some very good points and I'm thrilled you mentioned me and enjoyed my photos :). This has made my day!

Thank you @slayerkm! (:
Please post more beautiful pictures if you can, am looking forward to them! (:

Everything in life works that way. If you do it with high expectations, you miss out on the joy of doing it in the first place and that passion and joy is often the deciding factor in where or not the secondary benefit comes to you or not.

Also with so few followers, it's harder to get a lot of views and comments. I just followed you though :-D

@whatamidoing, thanks for the follow! (: Yes I agree that this principle goes beyond posting on Steemit and can be applied in other aspects of life too (:

I'm trying to build a following through interacting in the comments here. It's not just about getting more $$ although that certainly is part of it. It's about making sure people read the stuff I put energy into writing instead of it getting lost in a long list of posts and finding like-minded people to brainstorm ideas with

It's a good post but we do forget that in the crypto world the value of our wallets can be worth much more down the line without adding any more crypto to them.

Congratulations @joeylim! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48