[#AskSteemit] What's one thing you've realized that changed how you think forever? Up to 20 SBD prize pool

in #steemit7 years ago




You know, the one realization that clicks in your mind and you go "ooooohhhh".. and things will never be the same for you. (Image by Wallpaper-Gallery.net)



Huge shoutout to @kevinwong for his interview post and @jesta for his amazing idea (and knock everyone off with a "WHY HAVENT I THOUGHT OF IT?")


I've at least read through the interview post 3 times before hitting upvote (dear @kevinwong , please do more of that, we all appreciate it alot). It's just a treasure trove of insights and ideas by a some of Steemit's Allstars (no offense to those not included, you guys are all awesome in my darling heart :P). Soon as i get home from work and unpack my stuff, here i am. LET'S GET THIS GOING!


Im thinking of doing perhaps a sort competition maybe? Whoever's comment gets the most appreciation (by me and by everyone else) gets a prize of 10 SBD from the rewards of this post, I'll also select 2 other comments I think is best for a 5 SBD reward if this really kicks off. "But how would you run a competition for something so subjective?" Great Question, let's just say "best answer" without placing any metrics, I'll decide who win(s). I hope it works lol..

So, The Question is, What's one thing you've realized or was told that changed how you think, forever?


Cute Squirrel Looking At Landscape Of Mountains.jpg

Comment down below your realizations and change the way I think forever too.

Also, lets get this #asksteemit tag going! UPVOTE and RESTEEM this post to qualify for the prize pool!


I'm @awesomianist

Stay Awesome

Sort:  

that achieving that dream does not necessarily makes you happy.

If the dream isn't something meaningful in the first place. Many people struggle in life saying "I dream to get a big car and a big house, AND THEN i will be happy".. Really?

You and me both had this realization somewhere along our lives. And for me, I've been self auditing myself so long to find what matters in my life. It's an ongoing process and I'm afraid it wont be soon before i find an answer.

Dont forget to Resteem this post to qualify for contest!!

There are a lot of people walking around with that ONE DREAM..one big goal, spending most of their lives aiming for it. Only to realise that reaching the top will not make them happy and content. Although not too late, it was an experience, A LESSON in one's life and STARTING OVER AGAIN. Re-setting priorities.

You're absolutely right!

I hope people will see this sooner, but each of us have our own level of maturity. To be understood is even difficult without people experiencing the same thing.

There are more cells in my body that aren't me, than are me. Am I even me?

Are trees blue.. What is life..

But it's true. Just looking at the mithochondria in our cells.. They have a completely different set of DNA than our own DNA. Makes us wonder if we are made up of ourselves.

My biggest is definitely questioning the nature of money, that strange moment when i question about the pieces of paper in my wallet lol.

@kevinwong something similar happened to me after I read The Great Wave: Price Revolutions and the Rhythm of History, The Ascent of Money and Origins of Wealth. Those three books really changed how I thought about value, how humans store value, and by extension, money. It made me come to an understanding the concept of value for absolutely everything is simultaneously subjective and contextual...and that brought me into the world of magic internet money.

Along these lines, for me, it was the realization that security and money and so much more, are just like every other good. Which gave rise to, "And other goods get better when not produced under monopoly. So, why do we have monopolies in these areas?" And eventually, "OMG we don't need the monopolies."

Mises U did it for me. I had no idea what to expect there. Walked out a different person.

After all. "money" is a tool for trade. It was worth something as agreed by everyone because everyone else has something valuable to trade.

It's weird how people get blinded, lost, even killed for a few pieces of "tools of trade"

When you slowly come to realisation that you are not your thoughts, but somehow you don't really seem to understand it.

you are not your thoughts. :) you are the observer of your thoughts; emphasizing the power of being present and recognizing Self from Ego. Eckhart Tolle writes about this so well I think!

He does! He has written some great books.

Money doesn't create happiness!
Live today, not yesterday and not tomorrow!

Well, but it's better to cry in a Bentley than on bicycle right? hahaha

Why is money the root of all evil? I've had some opinions of mine and experiences that should have made me realized about it.

I was at Tracker School in New Jersey learning about tracking and wilderness living. During one of the tracking lectures, Tom Brown, the founder, was talking about 'different ways to see' and 'different ways to hear.'

As a long time student of mysticism and alchemy, I asked him later if he was talking about chakras and the supernatural senses that come from developing them. He looked at me for a second and then said, "Why limit yourself to chakras? The Universe is infinite."

My head exploded, and I've never been the same since.

What other mystic senses are there?? Woah...

Life is so short, and death is more certain than life.

In the timespan of human Civilisation, our lives are a blink. And compared to the age of the Earth, human civilasation is nothing.

Are we really insignificant? or should we be happy to be at the present?

i was told by my high school physics teacher "Attitude is altitude"
that day i realized that i wasnt going too far in life :D

Do you mind expounding what you meant by "attitude is altitude" and why you think you "won't go far in life"?

by attitude he meant our daily routines, attitude towards work and people. That determines how high we climb in the ladder of success in life. Not talent or just hard work but hard work with the right attitude would find you success.
And what I realized was that I wasn't going to find success in academics or even my chosen profession was because i had a "bad" attitude towards people and life in general

Aww man! Attitude isnt concrete. With determination and a change in mindset, any bad attitude can be thrown and good attitudes learned.

There's something called the Golden Rule, which i'd quote Jesus Of Nazareth that goes:

Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

Thing about the Golden Rule is that it's not just mentioned in the Bible. it's ALL throughout ancient religion and culture. Hinduism, Buddhism, Islam, and the list goes on. Its only safe to say it's massively taught because it works.. maybe start there..

You have such a positive attitude towards life. Will try to do the same !!

16000 kids die everyday from hunger. 75% of the planet doesn't have food, water and shelter on a daily basis. I feel like a king.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61423.30
ETH 3383.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54