What a Liar I Am

in #life7 years ago

steemnovelday2.png

Got up this morning. Had leftover pizza for breakfast. Watched some TV on Kodi. Had a nap. Thought about watching more TV.

What is wrong with me?

I-Am-Busy-Being-Lazy-Funny-Meme-Picture.jpg
Image source

My plan for the day involved two things. Working on my episodic novel. All I had to do was sit in my big comfy chair and plot Episode One and play bridge tonight.

I went over to @wild-forest's post, 200 Million Dollars Question, and then realized that I am blessed and lucky to live in a world where I don't have to churn butter and wash my clothes on the river's rock. My goal has always been to have time to stop and smell the roses, to use a good old cliche.

Why I Write

I write because I am a storyteller. I love the tales of the world I live in. I want to write my novel because I like the people in it and I love making twists and turns and dealing out karma. I never wanted to make it about being work. Being a job. a J-O-B.

Zenobia, my main character is a 370-year-old ghost. She's funny and free to wander the universe. And here I am keeping her earth-bound in my head. It's like the blogs I started and never finished. When it starts to look like work, I get physically tired.

When it looks like fun, I can keep on doing it all day and all night. What made writing look like work was that I decided to write Kindle stories. I got all tangled up in the notion of money and pumping out books and -- awwk -- that is work. I feel Zenobia talking to me in my head.

No deadline on episode one, just get it done. Make writing fun again.

@joannereid, over and out. Off to the big comfy chair.

Sort:  

I'm enjoying this procrastination right along with you. Though maybe someday we'll get to hear all about what Zenobia's been up to these past 370 years :)

The process of procrastination can be enjoyable. If only Zenobia could just write her own story while I watched Netflix. : )

I love Netflix but I suffer way too many instances of "wow what an awesome story! Why didn't I think of that?" Especially when I watch Black Mirror. And yeah, binging shows can be a huge time-suck! Level ten for the expert procrastinator.

Oh Gawd, yes. And I always promise myself I will get up at 5 a.m. to make up for the lost time.

I too suffer from all of this. I know just what you mean about when things seem like work it's just not fun, and who wants to do that!? Not me! I hope Zenobia comes to you and inspires your episode 1 plotting.

She did. The little brat got into my dreams last night and nagged at me.

Yes, we need to keep writing enjoyable. And writing about a 370-year-old ghost has to be very enjoyable - not being bound by what is actually possible with people. If you want her to fly, she can fly. If you want her to walk through walls, walk on through. Smart choice of character.

She's a happy soul although her life on earth was not a long one. It's so strange but after writing that confession to myself yesterday I felt like I had been set free. I am a blueprint kind of person, I think, and I love a good step by step plan for getting something done but if it starts to feel like work, my authority defiance kicks in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58447.11
ETH 2624.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45