Sort:  

Hey bro, good morning. I can relate here. I’ve never vaped but I can relate. I’m going to do a post in the future also about giving the cigarettes back.

I smoked for about 25 years - Started with cloves. You’re right, all of those other addictions got kicked! Those cigarettes are tough. Congratulations!

You’re as well aware as I am.. ALL those other addictions have a trail of physical withdrawals. Dude not the cigarettes. There were a couple days in the beginning where my ‘bathroom cycle’ was a little delayed (for lack of a better term) but not hindered. It’s 100%, solely, nowhere else other than in our mind! Like I said I’m going to write a post about it in the near future but the only reason we start or stop smoking is US. The voices that talk us into firing one up or never firing one up are all in our own mind. The only person you’re fighting is yourself.

The other addictions just fell away. I didn’t have to even try. I know there was a little, actually a lot of grace involved there.
It’s time for me to put in the work on this one. I can’t wait until I can wake up in the morning and no longer the first thing I do is step outside and vape.
I’m goin to be trading vape time for the Word!!

Good job @jlsplatts. Nicotine certainly is a tough one. Not sure exactly what it is about these little things but they seem to linger longer than any other addiction.

@dandays is wrong; it’s not ALL in your head. Physiologically women have a drastic reaction in terms of their hormones. I would only guess that men do too but perhaps is not as noticeable since men aren’t expecting their hormonal equilavent to expel from them every month. Either way, I broke out like a 14 year old pubescent teenager, had a very angry time of the month and suspect was pretty edgy for awhile… all of these things are normal. Our body needs time to detox from something we’ve spent more life addicted to than not. You got this dude 👍. Big middle finger to the cigarette big wigs.

No, ya, that’s what I meant!

I hear ya. Very similar here. I do have slighltly different philosophy / opinions however.

I think that vape is great. Nicotine in general is not bad. Its in tomatos, potatoes, the nightshade family. Very similar to caffeine and that is debatable. Im on the side of the many health benefits to caffeine. Problem comes when we overdue it on the body or if the mind creates issue. Anything can be either a poison or a medicine including water. Not trying to debate or anything just sharing blabbing. My father sees it your way especially the controll aspect. He quit everything except the occasional 6pack at football partys. In advaita philosophy any addiction is rooted in the sense of lack and seperation. In the Christian tradition 1 corinthians 10 23 "All things are lawful for me, but all things are not expedient: all things are lawful for me, but all things edify not." Well i could get into some tangles there.

Way i see it, is life isnt worth it if i cant enjoy what i like here and there. Also through philosophy science and meditation the idea of a controller is an odd ground. Its inner conflict which would be the main issue to resolve. Inner reconciliation.

Im going to go nicotine free just to do it. Maybe for @ least 3 months. An idea i had was to use cbd in the vape w zero nicotine.

Blessings in your endeavors.

Love my vape :)
20180527_123610.jpg

I can’t stand the feeling of it is something that I ‘have to’ have. Always having that thought in the back of my mind about wether I have my vape or not. I’m just ready to be free and not bound to anything.
Food addiction, I’m cool with that 😜😜

Good luck with your decision to quit. I have never smoked, but I supported my wife when she decided to give up. It was tough, but she got there because she wanted to. All the best with it mate.

Thank you. It’s been nagging at me for a long time. I kind of wrote this post out of frustration but also just to get it out and push myself to make it happen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64