<Travelog by Jimmy> Alaska - #1. Arrival / City Tour / Korean Food in Alaska

in #life6 years ago



Alaska - #1. Arrival / City Tour / Korean Food in Alaska


I live in California where the weather is warm throughout the year. And sometimes I miss seeing some snow in winter.

Last year, I wanted to spend my Christmas vacation in a place where I can see snow, and I decided to go to Alaska for the first time.



After three days since the first day I came out with the travel idea, I flew to Anchorage, Alaska.

I knew Anchorage as the largest, most populated city in Alaska. I didn't expect to see something close to Manhattan, but it still surprised to see how quite the city was. It looked like most people in Anchorage worked for local businesses, which was interesting to me.




As soon as I arrived, I rented an AWD vehicle, Ford Escape. I felt like the interior of the car was a little behind the time, but overall it was a very very reliable car to be for the entire trip. I remember the rental being around $30 a day. Pretty good, right?



I wanted to try some popular restaurants in Anchorage, so I looked up on Yelp. Interestingly, there is literally a handful of highly rated restaurants in Anchorage. In all fairness, I've been to all of them during my trip, and none of them disappointed. However, if you are looking for a business opportunity, Anchorage might be a good place, haha. A somewhat mediocre restaurant elsewhere would form lines in Anchorage!(since the choice is lacking)
One thing that I also noticed was that meat is generally expensive and low quality in Alaska. I'm guessing that they have to transport the meat from places that are far... But the fish and seafood are absolutely delicious! And pretty cheap compared to other places that I've been before.



I saw a Korean restaurant in Alaska, and I had to try it at least once out of curiosity. The food was... a bit expensive for what it was and it tasted mediocre at best.





I stayed in Airbnb for the most of my trip. They seemed to have a lot of places where the house owner rents out the cabin in their backyard. They were very cute and interesting. A little cold, too.

I was quite exhausted by the end of last year after some massive amount of freelance work... So for the first a few days, I just drove around the city and rested.



In my next posting, I'll share more interesting photos of the activities that I've done in Alaska. Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Congratulations @jimmyokami! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @jimmyokami! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33