Why are so many insurance companies allowed to call you whenever they want be as rude as they want?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

About six months ago I was shopping for insurance and I made the mistake of giving my number out to an insurance agent.

I was told that this number would never be given out to anyone and that it was only for their internal use.

After that I have received nothing but an abundance of insurance company calls every day for the last 6 months.

It is incredibly frustrating.

Just now I had a remarkably interesting experience with an insurance agent.

My phone rang and I answered it.

"Hello" I said.


Source: Giphy.com

"Is this an insurance company trying to sell me something because if it is you might as well hang up right now."

"Well yes" they said.

"This is some random insurance company and we have something important we need to talk to you about"

"Not interested."

"You B****" they said.

"Excuse me?" I exclaimed.

"You are going to listen to my entire spiel mother f*****" the guy said.

"You're lucky I don't come to your house to smack you right in the mother****** face"

"What the heck? Let me talk to your supervisor"

Some guy gets on the phone and apologizes for a few minutes and tells me he will take me off the list.

The first guy then gets back on the phone and proceeds to insult me and curse me out for another minute or two before he slams the phone down.

I really do hope that this guy works on commission because if he does then he's going to be homeless within the next few months.


Source: Giphy.com

About a month ago I had a guy tell me I needed to switch to his company even though it would cost a great deal more than I currently pay for insurance.

I ended up talking to him for a while because I knew he was just some guy trying to get by.

I told him that I was perfectly fine with what was going on in my life right now and I didn't need any new insurance but that I hope everything went well for him.

He thanked me and we went our separate ways.

I guess I really need to stop answering the phone when it is a number that I don't recognize.

This last conversation really has me rattled though because I can't believe somebody would call me right up, start cursing me out, and then threaten me without cause.

Why are so many insurance companies allowed to call you whenever they want be as rude as they want?

Sort:  

You should complain to the FTC about the number that called you.

Report it to the Federal Trade Commission at www.complaints.donotcall.gov or 1-888-382-1222. If you're getting repeated calls from the same number, you might want to ask your service provider to block the number; for calls from different numbers, ask if they offer a service to block unwanted calls.

I think I'm just not going to answer the phone from unknown numbers for a while. I hate to take it to the next level but I really appreciate your comment.

Wow, that's unbelievable. I've been bullied over the phone, but never sworn at. Here's a creepy story. I used to have car insurance from a major company. I rarely heard from them. One day, they decided to raise my rate. I went to another major company's website and signed up for their plug-in device to see how much I could save with them. The very next day, I got a letter in the mail from my insurance company informing me that I was getting my rate lowered. Clearly they knew.

These insurance companies are so untrustworthy. In fact it seems like the whole world is headed in this dark and dangerous direction and all we can do is either huddle in the corner or stand in the daylight but either way it's the same outcome.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Oct 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.47 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 13 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

That's crazy someone would act like that to you when they are the ones bothering you. It's a good idea to not answer the phone. I put my number on the do not call list years ago but I don't think anyone ever looks at that thing. I get plenty of calls. Bad thing is these places are tricky. They can somehow show local area codes and numbers on the caller ID so you think somewhere in your town is calling so you'll answer when really the caller is in another state.

This post received a 4.15% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @jeezzle! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60478.98
ETH 2653.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45