If you don't shop at the thrift store you are missing out on some incredible deals.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Today I decided on a whim that I would like to go to the thrift store to shop for a "new" used couch.

My roommate decided to tag along and together we visited several different places.

We ended up with quite an assortment of couches to choose from.

There are three or four that I'm still choosing from, as a matter of fact. I just can't make up my mind.


Source: Pixabay.com

There are so many different options when you go to a thrift store that it amazes me that anyone would buy a new couch from some place like Haverty's or The Room Store.

My roommate actually decided to buy one which surprised me quite a bit.

He was really just tagging along and had no intention of buying anything but he walked out with a couch. Well, I say walked out but he had to go back with a few other people to pick it up with a giant truck.

He found a perfect condition $600 couch for only $30. It's super long and has all kinds of fold out pieces. It's an incredible deal for the price.

He is on the way home with it as I type this. I'm not sure how we're going to get it in this house much less in his room.

I'm choosing between a regular looking black three piece fabric couch for $50 or a dark green love seat which is also $50.

Additionally there appears to be a brand new Sealy sleeper sofa for only $25. I'm not sure why they would sell it for that price because I am looking at a similar one online right now for about $600.

The thrift store is amazing.

If you don't shop at the thrift store you are totally missing out.

Sort:  

I never actually bought furniture in a thrift store, but I enjoy the variety of second hand cloths and books offered.
There is a wonderful one a few steps from my parents home which is really cheap and has a nice variety of sometimes really old books and other interesting things.

They do have a lot of books in there. However the furniture is just incredible for the most part.

The thrift stores here used to know me by name. Not anymore though, I don't go as much as I used to. But I agree, there is no reason to go anywhere else. From office supplies to everything else. Only problem I've had, is finding things I wouldn't have bought yesterday, because it's a great deal. Do you have that problem when you go?

Well that's true. It's the same problem if you go to Walmart though. You see something in the checkout and say hey I've never seen that brand of cookies I need to buy them. The difference is at the thrift store you say I didn't know I wanted that 10 speed bike that's $40 but you end up with a car full of stereo equipment when you don't even listen to music that often.

I am just an idiot, I shall stop to shop online and just go to thrift stores. What a shame that these types of shops are more expensive than local businesses here in Cambodia!

Thrift stores are awesome. You can find so many things at thrift store that are practically brand-new that it's just like saving not 10% but a thousand percent every time you go in.

I love going to thrift stores, or 'op (opportunity) shops' as they are called in New Zealand where I currently am. My favourite thing is to go and browse through the books, I read a lot so finding some great reads for a few dollars is great!

Wow that is a really cool name for them. I noticed a lot of books at this one too but I didn't get a chance to check those out yet.

Very good post @jeezzle,continued success my freind

My husband's couch came from Goodwill. Paid less that $50 for it. It was a really great couch. We replaced it after 8 years with a new one but we still keep it on the front porch. I love thrift stores for the good deals. I always check thrift stores when I need something like furniture.

Chances are awesome. Thrift stores have so much stuff that is amazing.

You friend really made a nice choice in selecting the deal of 30 bucks, maybe you should allow him to to get it .what are friends for, making good decisions buddy

Yes its reallity when visit some of big store a person is confused

Thank you for your comment.

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66303.73
ETH 3592.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61