Teetering on a farewell

in #life8 years ago (edited)

This is not a cry for help. This isn't even a note that could serve as a warning that I'm about to do any physical harm. Heck, no one might even get to read this. I'm just posting this for the purpose of catharsis.

I love writing. Speaking isn't exactly my strong suit, so writing came naturally. I love how words play off each other, and how different languages have different rules to follow. I'm not a native English speaker, but I really do try to follow the rules of proper writing in English as much as I can. Anyway, I digress. On to my point.

I wrote a post a few hours ago that dealt with my insecurities of being ignored and forgotten. Other social media have only heightened my anxiety to a whole different level. So, that post was the call for help, hoping to hear some insights from people on both sides of the equation. Sadly, as of writing, it had been largely ignored (2 votes, 0 comments).

When I first started, I had thought Steemit was a place of equal opportunity. A place where the little guy made us much of an impact as, what are now dubbed, whales. I thought this community was going to be something special, something different. Maybe it is, it just so happens that even through countless attempts, I have failed to make a dent.

I tried to write posts that promote interaction and foster inclusion, all but one didn't get many upvotes, but the whole attempt largely failed. I commented with thoughtful insights on other people's posts, but most were ignored and unappreciated. I interacted on chat, following the rules and not even spamming my promotions, but that ended quite abruptly. 

I vote on interesting entries and comments hoping to bring success to others, and I feel genuinely happy for those people who do achieve it. All I want is for everyone to be included, give everyone a feeling that we're all in this together. Maybe I'm wrong, maybe everyone else is being included. It just so happens that I'm not.

This is not a self-pity post, more of an expression of disappointment. I just have a few more posts I want to put up and then I'm powering down. Since this post would be largely ignored anyway, it wouldn't even matter.

Sort:  

Never Lose Hope


I saw and read your post. Since I am primarily looking for posts about development of steem and steemit, posts about people wanting others to post back don't usually draw my attention. But yours did. :-)

I do think that your post is well written and I like the image and the spacing/structure.

If it's any consolation, I posted earlier today that Microsoft is giving away free training material (about $1M USD of it) and provided the link. I have received 0 votes and 0 comments. But ... I posted it because I thought/think it's useful - to me. I won't be concerned if noone notices.


I may post tomorrow about a friend who is about to sail solo around the world. Here's a sneak preview if you are interested. http://sailor.life/

Thanks, man. I appreciate your comment. I'm glad that it drew your attention. I'm definitely checking out the give away post, and would be observing the solo sail of your friend. Again, I appreciate you taking the time to comment.

Hey I responded to your other post and I did find it interesting. I think it's easy to get caught up with the hoopla of high profile members coming on board and high payouts, but aside from that a good stream of genuine content does exist. I'm still trying to find a good routine for posting/voting/commenting/reading. It's hard to do everything without being consumed 24/7 .. anyways I would keep tabs on Steemit as it matures and gets better and maybe try to find a good routine with a limited number of hours to express yourself, engage a bit, read a bit and have measured expectations about what happens. At least that's what I'm trying to do myself.

I commend you for your attempts @steemrollin. I've also replied to your other comment. I really wish there were more people who have the same approach as you. As much as I can, I try to really flesh out everything I can from the comments as well.

You have a new follower.... Great content and I can see you put your heart and your time into these posts.

Thanks, man! It's nice that you noticed that I really put a lot of effort into every post and comment. It's really hard to get noticed here nowadays, so I'm really glad that the emotion I put into it shows. I appreciate you taking the time to comment. I only wish my upvote to your comment was worth more.

If you're trying to find self-worth in social media, you are doing life wrong.

Nope. I'm totally fine without social media. I'm expressing my disappointment in the Steemit community. While I'm happy that it's burgeoning, at the same time I feel a great deal of being left out of the whole thing. My self-worth takes a hit from other aspects of my life, it's just not through social media.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42