First impressions of my product design study! (Why I've got no time for Steemit)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

My plan to take you with me through my studies somehow vanished
between way to much coffee and deadlines getting closer.
Where has the time gone my dear Steemit friends?
Finally, I found a free day and the motivation to catch up with my blog and all the Information you were waiting for all the time 😉

Why Product Design?

At one point in life everyone has to figure out what he wants to do for the rest of his life.
When you are lucky you find something that doesn’t even feels like you are working.
Like Steve Jobs said: “Look for a job like you don’t have to do one”

I always wanted to do something creative and something that has an impact at the same time. I looked through various professions, like graphic design, medial arts, architecture… but luckily, I kept on looking and found what I’m doing right now, and I love it!

Product design concentrates at the future and it combines everything I love, like drawing, planning, letting my Ideas flow and creating something totally new with my own hands.

(I want to become a designer)
IMG_0368.JPG

From school to University:

All my life I was looking forward to this point.
Moving out and standing at the beginning of a new chapter.

A little anxious but much more excited I signed the contract of my own room in a small flat with two other people.
A whole new town, new people and a new school.
The first days felt like we were all simply thrown in at the deep end. Twelve hours per day for two weeks we rushed through the most important script of 500 pages, because our prof left the school for one semester. We got two substitutes and two voluntary classes for him.

Until now every week had between 50 to 60 hours, so there was not much free time to make new friends or doing other stuff, like writing something for Steemit.
At some moments I even missed school and a free afternoon, but all in all I am still as excited as I was in the beginning.

My classes:

I got 15 different classes every week! I want to give you a short overview and what we do in each of them:

  1. Free drawing: sketching, simulating textures, perspective, and different drawing technics and materials
  2. Shaping the brand: A class that combines all the steps that are leading to the finished product right from the start, with the goal of creating an own Mp3-player in the design language of a free chosen company.
  3. Design history: Here we get to know important persons and epochs of design
  4. Technical skills: different programs like InDesign, Illustrator for documentations
  5. Photoshop class
  6. Workshop classes: We have 8-10 different workshops in our school, where we can work independently
  7. Product design: Here we create an own product with the only requirement of a folding mechanism
  8. 2-dimensional form: A class where we learn about product language and important characteristics of products and some other little projects
  9. Photography: Everything about good product photography with the goal of creating an own advertisement poster
  10. Typography
  11. CAD: 3-dimensional shaping with the computer
  12. Technical drawing
    13-15. voluntary classes: technical drawing, technical sketching, script

some research for my product design class project
cww42cx9 (1).gif

End of the first semester:

The first of seven semesters is nearly over, but there is still so much work to do. I am not used to learn more then ten pages for a test, now I have to deal with 500, full of important information. Luckily, it’s very interesting!
I also found a bigger room for the next semesters, just two minutes away from my school.
I’m looking forward for the holidays, but for now I have to get back to work!

Thank you for passing by :)

banner.jpg

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: Bye bye 25+ and 50+! Welcome 20+ 40+ and 60+!

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 68%.

There are many details that can be improved. Baby steps!


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Ach Student müsste man sein...ist sicherlich eine tolle Zeit!

Welcome back bro. I was thinking you lost your password to this account. :D Good to see you back!! and that product design project looks cool man. I remember I tried rigging a similar thing in 3d for animation. :))

Haha no, I did not lost my password, but my motivation ... and 6 Kg because of the stress that comes with studying ^^ thank you for missing me on here :D
I hope I can work on my book project the next days :)

Welcome back. Thanks for sharing your life experiences as a student. I am always amazed how much the profs fill in into young student's brains. Hope you will not forget your dream.
Here on steemit we grow a lot, arguing heavily about votes and abuse, on the other hand very much we enjoy the inspiring community.

I am very motivated and will hold on to my dream, sometimes it's difficult because I have to many ideas that i can't realize yet :D I have never learnt that much as I did the last year and yes we have very good profs!

Stark! Da krieg ich gleich selber Lust auf dieses Studium!

Danke :) Hab mich etwas schwer getan mit einer kurzen Zusammenfassung aber ich werde noch näher ins Detail gehen wenn ich interessante Themen habe!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jb-design from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

WOW that's so cool! :) At least you're doing what you love so that work will just become play when you're doing something that your heart burns for...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60953.94
ETH 2920.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57