The Waiting Room..

in #life7 years ago

She has been married for years, being a supportive wife and carrying every members of her in laws along made her husband to keep falling in love with her everyday. She is a caring wife.

textgram_1506885308.png

But one thing that has always been a source of sadness to Nike, its her inability to conceive and it's beginning to have a toe on her.
'Nini' as she is fondly called

Jide her husband of several years, has always been a good husband to her and a source of encouragement to Nike

Sobbing she answered, 'yes'

Jide, 'why are you crying again'? He queried

Nike; still crying

Jide; I have told you without numbers that everything will be fine. We have been to the hospital and the doctors said both of us are okay, let's just wait upon the lo..

Nike; please, please, she cut in, don't bring the lord into this, I mean for how long will I wait upon the so called Lord before I hold my own child? Fifty? Or maybe till I get to ninety like Sarah in the Bible?

Jide; stop it!!! You don't talk like that, common,where is your faith?

Nike; okay o, still sobbing

Jide; you know everything that happens to a man is for a reason and it will pass. We need to strong and hopeful, this is not the time to lose faith. We are fine and there is nothing wrong with the both of us, we will have our own children,' He assured.

Nike, I'm tired, she lamented your mum is on my case already, as if I'm the one that creates children.

Jide, don't worry, she's my mum and I know how to handle her', he said

Nike, 'and how do you do that'? She was here last week, calling me all sorts of names and you never did anything'

Mama Jide is a very strict woman. She has been the one raising her four children since the demise of her husband and even though she is a devoted christian, she wouldn't tolerate a barren woman in her son's house.

Mama Jide, why are you still in my sons house?

Nike, 'aah Mummy! Welcome ma'. Reaching to her travelling box

Pushing her aside, she asked again, why are you still here or do you have a child already?

Nike, 'mummy, please at least, have a sit first. How was your journey ma?' she asked

Mama Jide, fine' she answered grudgingly.

Where is my son? She asked

Nike, he is yet to be back from work. What do I offer you ma?

Mama Jide, 'that is all you know how to do. I have told you to either give me a grandchild or you leave my sons house. I can't allow your barrenness to affect my sons life. I told Jide already that he is married to a man..or ain't you a man?

Nike, already crying, she said, 'mummy, I know God will do something soon,' tears dropping from her eyes

Shut up' so you know God? After you've ate your womb, you are now planning to destroy my home with your barrenness? No way'!

She wept for the whole day till her husband came back and mama Jide never stopped provoking her with her words and actions. She never ate her food or anything offered to her by Nike until she left.

Nike became so miserable and frustrated. It wasn't the first time and She couldn't cope with the situation any longer.
Even the society is not helping matters. It is always the fault of the woman when there is no child in the home. Nobody cares to know if the fault is from the husband. It is the woman that has lived a reckless life, it is the woman that have done series of abortion and destroyed her womb in the process even though it's not always the case.

One day, she tried to send one of her neighbours daughter on an errand

Tobi, Nike called

Tobi, Yes ma', she answered

Please can you help get me a recharge card outside the gate? She pleaded

On hearing their conversation, mama Tobi came out and shouted on her daughter, 'I have told you never to speak to anyone in this compound, get inside now!. She shouted at her

Nike, 'ahh aah! Mama Tobi, I was just asking her to help me get a recharge card outside the gate'. Trying to explain

Mama Tobi, pleaseee!! When you needed a child to send on an errand, why don't you give birth to yours? Or are you not a woman?

Nike looking so confused, Frustrated and dejected ran into her flat and started crying, since then, she has decided not to send any child on an errand again.

What happened to Nike? Did she give birth or not?

To be continued....

Story written by me

Sort:  

v.nice you can be a best writer .. appreciated... and yes starting following you to read this story till end .... (Y)

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 4.2% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @jaynene
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jaynene to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63915.30
ETH 2740.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59