Finding Purpose in Wushu

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Allow me to re-introduce to you my martial arts —Wushu.

A great part of my life has been dedicated to the sports since I was seven years old. I can still vividly recall that a demonstration by the Philippine Wushu Team took place in my school when I was in Elementary. I was amazed by the movements of the martial artists in their colorful uniforms and weapons! The moment was like a realization for me that I could also be like them when I grew up. At that very young age, it was love at first sight! I love the sport since then and decided to pursue it no matter what.

PHILIPPINE WUSHU TEAM.jpg
Philippine Wushu Team

Wushu is a martial arts that originated in China. Most of us are not familiar with Wushu but we often see it in action films and popularized movies by Jet Li, Chow Yun Fat, and Donnie Yen among other martial artists and actors in Hollywood.

jetli.jpg
Image source: Jetli.com

It could be practiced with or without weapons. By weapons I mean swords, spears, staff, cudgels, and a lot more. I happen to own some of these weapons. I have used them when I was still active in competitions. That’s why they have high sentimental values. I would gladly describe and demo each weapon in a separate blog.

JH WUSHU SWORD .jpg
My personal Weapons.

Personally, I seldom watch movies in theaters but the ones I did watch involve Wushu and action scenes. Personally, my favorites include a lot of Jet Li's movies. He is also a Wushu champion.

jetli.gif
Source: Fist of Legend Movie

Kungfu Panda used Wushu in this film.

Source: KungFu Panda Movie

I like also “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon.”

miceeleyeow.gif
Source:Crouching Tiger Movie

The wushu stunts here are amazing! Back then I wished I could also fly over trees in the forest. Guess what? It happened in one of my commercials.

for  jan1 (3).gif
My Nescafe Commercial

Oh. With Donnie Yen, a world Wushu champion, I love how he portrayed the teacher of Bruce Lee in “Ip Man.” By the way, the real Ip Man was the grandmaster of Wing Chun.

ipman.gif
Source: IPMAN MOVIE

Jet Li and Donnie Yen are martial arts champion par excellence. What I notice though is that they have spectacular careers after retirement. I must admit that I had a dilemma as to what would happen to me after I left the Philippine team. Like anybody else I have thought if there was life after sports. What would I do? Where would I go? or Where will I be? Would I become a coach? What careers would be open for me? It’s a nerve wracking moment! But I knew at the back of my head, deep down my heart that I have a higher calling.

To continue, I am proud to claim that Wushu changed my life and made my dreams come true. But it was not all that easy. There were lots of challenges but I was able to overcome them all, one by one. Although most of my early involvements in Wushu were competitions and after-school trainings, honestly I never thought how it could help me fulfill my dreams.

Where I am now, I owe it to my Wushu trainings. It’s fun and I appreciate the support that I’m getting whenever opportunities come. I could be an actor, commercial model, and host! Most Importantly I was able to bring Wushu in a different level performing it to diverse communities and various platforms.

ether1.gif
Source: GMA 7 Encantadia TV Series

for  jan1 (4).gif
Creamsilk TV Commercial

for  jan1 (2).gif
Nescafe TV Commercial

()
ABS-CBN Rounin TV Series

But outside the glitz and glamor, I find satisfaction in paying it forward.

Years ago, I started a foundation that would serve as my vehicle for social advocacies. With the help of some friends, I was able to reach out with my community through programs that involve Wushu. Voila! With "Wushu Kids,” I was able to teach Wushu and help kids learn the value of a healthy lifestyle and sports.

My Wushu Scholars
DSC_0126.JPG

DSC_0613.JPG

DSC_0168.JPG

My other grander advocacy is UDEFEND Project where I started to teach self defense to more kids and women to different public schools and communities.

UDEFENDPROJECTPOSTER.jpg

UDEFEND Project is a a self-defense training program that aims to educate and empower women and children.
Our goal is to improve the quality and safety of our communities by providing practical and accessible self-defense training with martial arts values to the venerable sectors of society. According to a United Nations report in 2006, “women and girls continue to suffer discrimination and violence in every part of the world.”

UDEFEND was launched last September 29, 2017 at Payatas Elementary School.
UDEFEND 4.jpg
More than 400 beneficiaries.

UDEFEND 2.jpg
They learned the A,B,C's of Self Defense.

UDEFEND 5.jpg
It's great to see that these kids learn so fast.

UDEFEND 6.jpg
Actual Self Defense Training.

UDEFEND is so extensive that it deserves a separate blog. I hope I was able to inspire you how I find my purpose in Wushu.

Connect with me:

Steemit: @janicehung
Instagram: @janicehungwushu
Youtube: Janice Hung
Twitter: @janicehung
Facebook: JaniceHungTV

steemitgif.gif

Sort:  

Quite the career you've had, and just like the masters before you, seems you are really kicking it up a notch after retirement. I can't think of a better way to "retire" than be of service to our people.

UDEFEND is an amazing initiative, one I would happily support.

Welcome to Steemit and to the #SteemPh Family Janice! I'm expecting phenomenal things from you 💗

Thanks for the warm welcome. I look forward to be doing more social work with you guys. All kinds of support for UDEFEND Project is welcome. Giving Back is indeed fulfilling 😊

Welcome to #SteemPh Family! Can't wait to help out on UDEFEND Project :)
I remember liking that Cream Silk commercial, you've done great stuff! The kids will be inspired and learn so much from you!

If what you say is true The Shaolin fist and the Wu-Tang Sword could be dangerous...

You had a amazing and record setting competitive career in Wushu!!
And now your star continues to rise and shine!!
And you desire to help others!! Praise the Lord!!
God bless you Janice!!

Thank you Papa Bear> You are one of the first people to believe in me. Looking forward to do all our charity projects :)

Wow LODI ka talaga Ms. Janice. Pinoy pride and real life superhero. What you are doing is inspiring. I want to join you in your advocacy specially Udefend Project. How can I help?

Thank you. You can send me a message to discuss how you can help. We are doing fund raising as well for UDEFEND Project😊 Thanks for having the heart to help this project. It will really benefiit a lot of kids😊

This is cool! I like how you manage to give back in a unique way. Udefend is really helpful to kids and the ladies, especially when there are kidnapping news everywhere, and other crimes.

Rounin, I like that show! Guess I really need an autograph and you to teach me wushu too. Haha.

Yes will teach you some Wushu 😊😀

Would love that. Gotta need time for that though. And strength, lots of it. Haha.

i was waiting a post like that for quite sometime! bring in steemit the world of martial arts!!

Will be doing more posts about martial arts :)

you know i am waiting for these posts! :P

Hi Janice Im still new in steemit , Thank you very much for introducing me to Steemit community and Steemit Manila Philippines,I finally i manage my schedule learning steemit , Im looking forward growing and learning more,meeting new people, gain more experience about blogging .Its my first time here still trying to finish up my post I know its been weeks now i just got back inland and got recover from traveling now i have fresh new start to work on my blog, The hardest part here is introducing my self .I appreciate you for helping me ,motivating, Teaching new thing about blogging and steemit, Also thank you for the kindly support and patient . I'll follow your journey here and ill share my life story here in steemit. Again thank you Janice Hung for everything .

Welcome to Steemit! I know you're gonna have fun here. We have huge communities here.:)

Nice write-up. I particularly like your UDefend project. I really think its important for women and children to feel empowered and confident. All too often these are the two groups in society who are marginalized.
Keep up the awesome work and you have my support!

Thanks for supporting it😊😀 We will do more projects like this 😊

i really appreciate your interest in wushu and good luck for futher more success in near coming days. your udefend project is the best part of this post so once again i really appreciate from the bottom of my heart .

One thing I know about martial arts, whatever field may it be, is that it teaches discipline. Your engagement,support and help to the community is bold. It just signifies your true Filipine spirit.

I believe the best legacy is passing in your knowledge. It is after all what human race is about,trait after trait after trait. I'm not just specific about the techniques in the martial arts but the principles behind them and the application afterwards like being humane and a benefit to the majority.

I salute your advocacy and your influence is od utmost importance to the next generation. My sincere gratitude and oh, just like Dev,I would love to learn Wu Shu; for fitness.

Hi Janicehung, great post! I used to train Wu Shu & Chang chuan in my younger years. Love the discpline and hard training. Thanks for your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51