The Futility of "Impressing" Anyone But Yourself

in #life6 years ago (edited)

The Futility of "Impressing" Anyone But Yourself

Source

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (Meaning: My Warped, Personal Opinions and Musings)

Source

From the Author:

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure of meeting you before, I'm delighted to make your acquaintance now.

business-handshake.jpg
Source (Base Source)

I invite you to interact with everyone, learn, and have as much fun as possible!

For my returning online friends, "It's always great to see you again!"

Just A Couple Beers

Source

The text read: "Hey buddy. Going to the bar. Stop by and shoot the shit. First round's on me."

I replied with: "Sure. Be there in 30 min."

Usually, I shy away from such invitations; mainly because I either was in the middle of something or had already made plans.

But as fate would have it, I had neither at the moment.

All of my routine tasks and extra "To Do" things were completed - and astonishingly earlier than I'd expected.

A Bit Early

Source

I am habitually early for any scheduled event that I promise to attend.

It's an ingrained habit from my military career; where if one was late, it resulted in physical or financial pain (e.g., late for morning muster or missing ship's movement).

In other words, in some cases, being late can result in Captain's Mast or a Courts Martial.

Source

And as I got older and moved up the ranks, I realized that being late was interpreted as a sign of disrespect to another human being. If the person was your superior, there was usually Hell to pay.

Just the fact that someone is late, in a way, shows me that he feels that his time is more valuable than mine.

Basically, in regards to me and my time, his actions are saying...

Source

This is why I make it a point to be early. Even if I think I might be late, I text ahead of time - NOT after I'm already late.

So, you can say that tardiness is one of my pet peeves.

But since I live in Asia - where tardiness is a cultural phenomena, I have to bite my lip and hold my tongue almost daily!

Source

Waiting for Rob

Source

Upon arriving at the bar early and not seeing my friend, I asked the bartender, "Hey Man, you seen Rob today?"

"Good to see you Jaichai. And nope. I haven't seen him - yet. But I'm sure he'll show up soon 'cause it's way past 'Beer-Thirty' in the afternoon for him!"

"OK. Thanks. And I'll have the usual..."

While waiting for my beer, I notice that another customer - a white, gray haired, mid-to-late 60'ish man, strolling over to me. He held out his hand and said, "I'm waiting for Rob too. My name is Joe. How ya doin'?"

I shook his hand.

"Nice to meet you, Joe. I am JaiChai."

Source

"JaiChai?! He blurted. "Rob talks about you all the time. He says, and I quote, 'Jaichai is brainy, benevolent, but can be bloody lethal too'!"

"Well, I haven't seen Rob in ages, and knowing Rob, whatever he said is probably exaggerated and outdated," I said.

Then it happened.

For the next 15 minutes before Rob finally shows up, I sat there and listened to Joe talk about himself.

He struck me as a braggart and most of what he said sounded more like his resume - probably fictitious - than actual conversation between two guys at a bar.

fictitious-business-name.jpg
Source

Attention Hounds

Source

Pankaj Gupta said,

‘‘It is normal as a human being to want to look good, and having a successful life; however, many indulge in these things to get approval from others be it their friends and/ or family and it can also include people that one doesn’t even know.’’

"Some reasons why people behave the way they do may be they feel insecure, less confident about themselves and always trying to prove a point of nothing in the real sense."

Impressing other people should always be a side-effect of the way you live life, not the main goal. Aside from losing integrity, putting impressiveness first has other dangers. One is that it is harder to stay motivated if the reasons are only superficial.

Source

When Rob finally arrived, we had one beer together, and both listened while Joe kept droning on and on...

After 30 minutes, I said I had to leave.

Rob, who was already caught in the "Let me tell you about myself" trap of Joe, just waived at me and gave me the "call me later" gesture.

On my way home I thought about these things:

It's futile to fuss with "impressing" anyone.

Source

Doing so wreaks of insecurity.

Source

Whatever the context, just be yourself - even if you're having a bad day at that time.

Source

Why?

Because If someone can tolerate your worst, it's just that much sweeter for them when you eventually come back to normal.

Source

And let's face it, sooner or later, any facade will eventually crumble and reveal your true self - not to mention that it's a royal pain in the ass to maintain it.

Source

In other words, "Frontin' just be a waste of time, energy, and a Hell of a lot of cheddar!"

Source

Be yourself, nothing more, nothing less.

Source

You will earn more respect with authenticity than with hollow, insincere platitudes.

Source

In Summary:

Source

• It's foolish to get trapped in an obsessive need for recognition.

• Always seeking the approval of others keeps you from seeking approval from yourself first.

• If you find yourself needing social recognition, it is time to pause and take stock of your amount of self-esteem.

• When you try to impress others, the end result is often more emptiness.

• Chasing after recognition nullifies your capacity for self-fulfillment.

Parting Shot

Source

By JaiChai

Mighty Kind of You for stopping by.

Truly hope to see you again!

Source

About the Author

Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic.

In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he performed high altitude, free-fall parachute jumps and hazardous diving ops in deep, open ocean water.

After 24 years of active duty, he retired in Asia.

Since then, he's been a full-time, single papa and actively pursuing his varied passions (Writing, Disruptive Technology, Computer Science and Cryptocurrency - plus more hobbies too boring or bizarre for most folk).

He lives on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

busy animated gif.gif
Source

(More articles by JaiChai can be found on the Busy.org website. Use this link to visit Busy.org. Better yet, come join the Busy.org community!)


CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189 [Creatives]

asapers.png
("Join the A.S.A.P.ers Discord Channel")

JC320 black line frame.jpg
Source

"My mind was a terrible thing to waste..." - JaiChai

Sort:  

You got a 100.00% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 90% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 93.42% Upvote. Send 0.5 SBD or STEEM to @steemvote

Thank you so much for using our service! You were protected from up to 20% losses!

Earn passive income in SBD/STEEM by delegating to us! 100sp, 500SP, 1000SP, ANY SP

You just received 21.11% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @steembots.info!

You got a 14.01% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @steembots.info!

Sometimes just being yourself is all that matters and we all have a Rob in our lives who takes freaking forever ... to show up to anything.

I come across many people who "know it all"....
I can tell right away that they're pumping up their life stories but I always pretend to believe them.

I am habitually early for any scheduled event that I promise to attend.

If I am not 10 minutes early I'm late. Nothing more insulting to a person then being late.
The more they drink the more they talk about themselves. LOL

That's pretty much just a lighter version of my mid life crisis I had while I was a teenager that ended up burning many bridges (it was worth it looking at where I am now) Here are few songs to go with the mood (that connected well with me)

https://steemit.com/philosophy/@vimukthi/fly-on-the-wall-some-of-the-greatest-song-lyrics-ever-written-and-a-part-of-it-analyzed-with-personal-perspective

I'll check all those things out.

Thanks for visiting.

Namaste, my friend.

JaiChai

Rockin' vids, Dude!

Cool. Very cool...

Namaste, JaiChai

True. If your first priority is impressing other people, then you'll forever be trapped in the idea that being liked and admired by other people is all that matters.

Don't invest in that horrible idea. Invest in yourself and what you are capable of becoming.

Awesome! Retired Army living in Germany... everyone here is on time being early is condisdered rude because the person waiting for you doesn’t have enough time to prepare. This is hard but I’m getting used to it! Great post nice to meet you and following!

I definitely agree. It's important to be on time if you want to show respect for the person you are meeting with.

Thank you so much for visiting and commenting.

Namaste, JaiChai

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86