(IJCH) Walter Cronkite, "On This Day" and A Historical Event

in #life7 years ago (edited)

images (15)-640x483.jpg

Image Source (Base Source)

(IJCH) Walter Cronkite, "On This Day" and A Historical Event

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (meaning: My warped, personal opinions and musings)

From the Author

Salutations. I am JaiChai. And if I haven't had the pleasure to make your acquaintance, it's always nice to meet a fellow Steemian.

Walter Cronkite and "On This Day"

imagwas.jpeg

Image Source

For some odd reason, after logging into Steemit and replying to all comments on my posts, I thought of Walter Cronkite.

(For the benefit of our young Steemians, Walter Cronkite anchored the desk of the "CBS Evening News" from April 16, 1962 until March 6, 1982.)

I can remember hearing his famous sign-off: "And that's the way it is."

I particularly enjoyed watching a segment of his broadcast that was called "On this Day". During this segment, Mr. Cronkite would describe a significant historical event that happened on that same day.

Technically, it should have been called "On This Date" because a date can fall on different days of the week in different years.

Furthermore - technically speaking again - the "Day" could not refer to the sequential numerical designation of the day in the year (day number) either. That's because the day number depends on whether it's a leap year or not.

For example, instead of December 27 representing the 361st day of the year, it is the 362nd day in the future 2020 calendar - a leap year.

(Okay, leaving tangent and returning to main topic now.)

The facts surrounding the historical event - including their antecedents and subsequent effects - of the day featured in Walter Cronkite's "On This Day" always fascinated me.

Needless to say, I learned a lot.

"On This Day - Édition De JaiChai"

frc.jpg

Image Source

During and after Mr. Cronkite's life, many other versions of "On this day" were adopted by other shows, newspapers and magazines.

Nowadays, there are many "On This Day" websites.

Some are general, while others are highly specialized; catering to populations in a certain geographical area, religion, ethnic group, industry, category of hobbyist, etc.

Capitalizing on the "flow phase" - the manic half of "the ebb and flow of my mood and motivation cycles", I shot over to the "On This Day" Wikipedia page (my very first time visiting this page) and started to scan the items on the long list of historical events.

I chose the first thing that stood out as being significant - at least to me - to serve as my "On This Day" featured historical event.

So, without further ado, for all the Steemians out there, here's my version of "On This Day" (JaiChai Edition) for Wednesday, December 27, the 361st day of 2017.

Darwin, God and The Annunaki

pixlr_20171227171114746.jpg

Image Source (Base Source #1) (Base Source #2)

On this day, December 27, 1831, Charles Darwin boarded the HMS Beagle and went on a sea voyage that took him to the Galapagos islands.

Shortly thereafter, he began to hash out his theory of evolution.

Of course, immediately after Darwin published his theory, the religious sector - who staunchly believed in Creationism by God, voiced their "righteous" protests and mounted their Anti-Evolution Campaign.

The war against "such blasphemy" is still going on today.

Adding to the mix (and taking the debate one step further) is the growing belief that Humans were genetically engineered by an ancient Alien race called the Annunaki.

imannu.jpeg

Image Source

Whatever your beliefs are, you have to give credit to Charles Darwin for courageously submitting his theory knowing full well what kind of response he would get.

And let's face it.

The bickering, posturing and volleying of accusations done by outspoken members from the Creationist's and the Evolutionist's camps have been putting on quite an entertaining, perpetual show no?

imrewq.jpeg

Image Source

My father was an ordained minister and I was raised as a Methodist.

Every Sunday, the congregation could see by my actions that I vehemently agreed with the key points of my father's sermons.

But appearances are deceiving and effectively camouflage what's really going on.

The truth is that whenever I sat still and listened to my father's sermon for the umpteenth time (courtesy of all his rehearsals at home in the prior week), I would routinely battle a strong urge to fall asleep; failing miserably every time.

Inevitably, my head would grow heavy and I would soon start nodding off.

But thanks to my sister and mother, I didn't sleep long enough to begin snoring and drooling all over my Sunday clothes.

The Method is The Message

unouch.jpg

Image Source (Base Source)

My only bone of contention with my sister and mother's most gracious and caring assistance was the methods they chose to discretely wake me up (in the midst of the whole, seated congregation).

Additionally, their mode of communicating their deep concern for my personal well-being was painfully obvious.

If you can imagine the following scenario - played out every Sunday of my childhood, you'll understand why I rarely attend church services now:

Upon seeing my drowsy state, my mother or sister would give me a vicious kick to my shin, or a sadistic pinch to the top of my hand, or a sharp jab to my ribs.

Medical people would describe the aftermath of those actions as "Exquisite Tenderness".

The pain stimulus would instantly jar me awake, snapping my head to attention; hence, the appearance of me dramatically concurring with the scriptures and "showing how the spirit moved me".

Over the years, I guess through osmosis, I learned more about the Bible than most people of the Christian faith.

The result of all that religious education?

I've been a Buddhist for decades now.

My take on the "Origin of Man"

imvcxz.jpeg

Image Source

If the above image doesn't clue you in on my "Origin" beliefs, here's a little something more...

Let's just say that I like watching "Prometheus", reading Arthur C. Clarke and Isaac Asimov, and learning about the technology of the ancient Sumerians a Hell of a lot more than the stories I was told in my youth about "Adam and Eve" and the "Garden of Eden".

What happened on this day in history that is significant to you?

By JaiChai

Thanks for stopping by.

450.jpg

Source

About the Author

He is a retired U.S. Military veteran. Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic.

In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he freefall parachuted out of airplanes and performed diving ops in very deep, open ocean water.

He spends his days on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

400.jpg

Source

If you enjoyed my post, kindly: Upvote, Follow, Comment and Resteem.


APP.png

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189 [Creatives]

"I appreciate all your support."

Sort:  

Hello @jaichai
We have given you our still tinnie-winnie upvote!
You have been spotted by @jaichai to possess rare gem!

So what can we do than to seal the deal, give you our tiny upvote and celebrate you, for everyone has something to offer.

We welcome you to the #untalented family. Feel free to come around for its a home with us. Flaws allowed, so relegate reservations and play with that beautiful mind of yours, let's tap into more hidden aspects of you. No average, no bum, just awesome you and the best version of YOU is a gift to humanity everytime. Stay awesome!

Join the steemgigs community on discord

https://discord.gg/CGuPyyT

#untalented is a branch of @steemgigs. If you would like to offer your service in building the dreams of other steemians, you can do so under #steemgigs.

However, if you want to experience full blown freedom and grow in confidence about your gifts and talents, share under #untalented.

We aim to create historical moments in the genre of touching lives and you can support us if you desire, by voting on steemgigs for witness. Simply click here

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

and type steemgigs in the first search box.

Just incase you find any level or form of gifts, talents, attempts at out-of-the-boxness, or any steemian low in confidence about their abilities, worth, etc; please don't let it slip emptily by.
Kindly call on me! Simply reply to any such post and add @steem-untalented or #untalented to your reply and i will be there to upvote, acknowledge, strengthen and encourage them.

😍😍😍😍😍😍

@macroroom,

Thanks for visiting.

Namaste,

JaiChai

Felicidades por tu bebe, es momento de alegria y felicidad, por tus palabras y con la ansiedad con la que escribes seguro seras una madre ejemplar! Bendiciones.

Funny! It reminds me on my own Christian upbringing. My parents always dragged me to gatherings and church and I had the same issues with falling asleep. Actually, if they wouldn't have done that, I might have been more interested in the fascinating stories & wisdom of the Old and New Testament.

Now, as you say, Buddhism has brought me knowledge and curiosity for also other forms of philosophies and notions and I calmed down and think it doesn't matter how you call IT. They all meant the same and those who didn't preach but gave information and narratives I gained the most from. So I finally got back to also my christian background and am kind of in peace with it. You cannot beat inheritance, therefore accept it.

Here is a book I can highly recommend for you to read. It is hilarious!

@erh.grmany

I really enjoy your thoughtful comments.

Buddhism resonates with how I'd been feeling all my life.

And although I am not devout in the least, I try my best to be as kind as I can be (especially considering some of the things my military career required of me).

Thank you for the link.

Namaste,

JaiChai

Thank you,

May I ask what you have learned the most out of your military career?

I only gave you the picture of the cover I liked the most. But here is an amazon link:

https://www.amazon.de/Private-Life-Adam-Eve-English-ebook/dp/B075BG45H6/ref=sr_1_1?s=books-intl-de&ie=UTF8&qid=1514382447&sr=1-1&keywords=the+private+life+of+adam+and+eve+mark+twain

@erh.germany,

Wow. That question could be as complicated - or as simple - as I wish to make it, no?

Hoping that in this context, "most" is synonymous with "personally invaluable", I opt for the simplest route.

My answer is: "I learned how to forgive."

Namaste, my friend.

JaiChai

BTW, I am listening to the full diaries a little at a time. It had me laughing in the first five minutes!

One could learn a lot less:))))

Yes, isn't it just wonderful? I was laughing my butt off, when I read it the first time!! I am happy you like it! How Twain changed the perspectives, and the best is the names they give!

@erh.germany,

I totally agree.

Twain is a genius at expressing his characters' introspection.

I love the way Twain describes Adam's passive-aggressive mindset and how it's juxtaposed beautifully with Eve's naive, benevolent "motivation to please" that chronically manifests as (in Adam's eyes) antagonistic, stupid behavior.

And just like Disney and Pixar appeal to both children and adults, Twain's writing immediately has both men and women readers easily identifying and empathizing with both Adam and Eve - universal appeal, non-gender specific.

Purely brilliant.

And like you said earlier, it's hilarious!

Again, Twain is a writer's writer.

Many thanks for introducing me to Twain's Adam & Eve stuff.

Namaste, my friend.

JaiChai

It's a pleasure that you liked it so much. I am always happy when I can make a recommendation which falls on fruity ground.

How Twain created the characters: you said it just in the best possible way.

I'm sorry to say, that I have nominated you for the B&W challenge:)) - here you go:

https://steemit.com/sevendaybnwchallenge/@erh.germany/seven-day-b-and-w-challenge-day-4

Have you gotten into Ramayana or Mahabharata?
As a Buddhist I personally try to recommend reading Lao Tzu and OSHO for anyone who's new to Buddhism to make things easier and soften the blow.

Also I nominated you to a challenge @erh.germany so gracefully dragged me into. Curious to see what you'd come up with.

@vimukthi,

Not kidding here, what's a challenge?

Also, thanks for rec' reading.

Namaste,

JaiChai

@vimukthi,

Roger that.

B & W image daily (no people) x 7 days inbound.

Mark time: NLT 2330 Hours, 28 DEC 2017 (GMT + 8).

Namaste, my friend.

JaiChai

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jaichai to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JaiChai from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42